We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel D'Angleterre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel D'Angleterre to your Saves list
Hotel D'Angleterre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kongens Nytorv 34, Copenhagen 1050, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“All Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed four nights in July on our first visit to Denmark. Location is excellent with most points of interest in Copenhagen within a reasonable walk. The hotel is a magnificent old building and inside is in impeccable condition with all the latest technology. We had a Junior suite and found it a good size and beautifully appointed. There are some excellent restaurants in Copenhagen and the D'angleterre restaurant is certainly one of them. It was all quite expensive but my sense is that is just what you have to expect in this part of the world.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    39
    8
    10
    3
See reviews for
38
136
5
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

All together our stay in suite 222 was pleasant. Staff was helpfull and friendly, all surprisingly very young. The suite was large and the dressing was good. The distance between the bedroom and the living room was perfect (for the one who want to listen to Tv and the one who want to read quietly!)
Breakfast room could be better organized. So many little jars every where, with shrimps, for example are useless and the choice of viennoiserie is poor. Butter - again a little piece of it on a little plate - is frequently missing.
Furthermore Hotel guests should be invited to dress properly to access this room. The wearing of shorts and flipflops is not really in adequation with the category of the hotel.

Room Tip: Because of the constructions works of the new metro station just in front of the hotel, you may book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Just returned home after a fabulous 2 night stay at the Hotel D'Angleterre with family and friends to mark my birthday. It is, without a doubt, the best hotel I have ever stayed at. The hotel's accommodation and facilities surpassed all expectations. The hotel was faultless and has one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in !!! The service was first class and made my birthday even more memorable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Just back from an amazing 4 night break in Copenhagen staying at the Hotel D'Angleterre. Standard of accommodation was outstanding, and the service was excellent. Enjoyed the wonderful swimming pool and relaxing spa. Incredibly comfortable beds. Great location so central to the Harbour and the main shopping area. Copenhagen is such a cool friendly lay back city. I love it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This hotel sets the standard for service, comfort and overall charm. The extra cost is well worth the experience in staying in a historical treasure that has been named one of the 1,000 places to visit before you die. We simply cannot say enough nice things about it. Make sure to enjoy a dinner at the restaurant Marchal, which has just be given a Michelin star rating.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel D'Angleterre at the end of a 10-day trip to Sweden, Norway and Denmark. Everything prior to Copenhagen was "Scandinavian Modern" in style (including fine hotels like the Rival and Thief) but we have to confess that we were very happy to end up at a deluxe, traditional hotel like this one.

I had notified the hotel that we were celebrating a couple of special occasions, and they very graciously upgraded us from "superior" to "deluxe" accommodations. They were also nice enough to deliver some treats and a bottle of wine to our room. The room itself was spacious, recently redecorated, comfortable, well-equipped with plenty of closet space, and featuring a large marble bathroom. We found the staff to be uniformly curteous and helpful when needed.

The D'Angleterre was our "splurge" at the end of the trip, and worth every penny. It's also ideally located for anything you might want to see in this wonderful city, with Stroget right around the corner. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the interior courtyard (like ours) might sacrifice some view but will save you from any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We just stayed at the d"Angleterre in August and had a wonderful time. The property has been completely transformed and is hands down the best that Copenhagen has to offer. Look this place is going to be more expensive but it is well worth the extra price paid. This is the ideal property for anyone looking for a five star property in one of the best locations in the city. It is located a block away from the metro stop and right on the main walking street. Everything you need to see is near by this location or just a quick ride on the metro. One of the most impressive aspects of this hotel is the service. The staff was spectacular! Not like anything I have seen in Scandinavia before. Someone has taken the care and given the attention to detail to put together a talent team of enthusiastic individuals. I would rarely take the time to write a review but this time it is really worth noting such a spectacular hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor are going to keep you on the highest floor and are all great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel D'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Angleterre

Address: Kongens Nytorv 34, Copenhagen 1050, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel D'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denmark's leading five-star hotel is located in a landmark building overlooking the lovely King’s Square in the heart of Copenhagen. Hotel d’Angleterre is renowned for our luxurious accommodations, fully personalized services and outstanding hospitality. With more than 250 years of history, Copenhagen's finest hotel can also pride itself on being one of the oldest hotels in the world. We have welcomed many prominent guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel D'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel D'Angleterre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.