We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel D'Angleterre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel D'Angleterre to your Saves list
Hotel D'Angleterre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kongens Nytorv 34, Copenhagen 1050, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just a perfect experience, from the minute we walked in to our departure. We celebrated my birthday here, had dinner , used the spa, great night sleep.

Need anything else?!

This is the best 5* hotel in town and has all the facilities in the heart of the center!
When returning to Copenhagen there's no question we'll stay at D'anglerre.
(stayed at Nimb before but that is a disappointment)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    39
    8
    10
    3
See reviews for
38
136
5
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
greenwich
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We spent 4 days here visiting our son in school abroad. The hotel is perfectly located and a perfect mix of old world with modern amenities. Beautiful spa/pool. Nice breakfast and bar. Great staff, and concierges. Loved it

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I travel quite a bit for work, and am used to very nice hotels. However I was blown away by this hotel!!! It was recently renovated and is completely beautiful. The lobby, breakfast area/restaurant, and the rooms are all wonderful. The toiletries - which I normally don't pay too much attention to - were perfect. I think what surprised me the most and will make me a repeat guest, is the attention to detail. It's simply fantastic. Not to mention that everyone working there is incredibly helpful and willing to do whatever it takes so you feel comfortable and at home. This place beats most of the Ritz Carlton's and Four Seasons in my book!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I was blown away at how nice
This hotel was . We did have a suite but the decor was great
Modern room beautiful spa with a good sized pool and a Michelin star restaurant
Try the Sunday brunch
Great service from the staff
Location is in the center of the city across from canals and opera house and shopping
Best hotel in copenhagen

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Had a wonderful stay here this weekend. Everything was top notch. I liked the decor, the oh so quiet rooms, all the pillows, the Bang Olufsen tv and the gigantic shower. A superb stay for tired parents and the fantastic breakfast at Marchal's was an added bonus.
Everyone deserves a glass of champagne for breakfast!

We also tried the champagne bar and were impressed with all they had to offer. I will be having cravings for the salted almonds for months to come.We were not able to access the bar from the hallway by the spa, but no issues having to take the short walk outdoor to enter the champagne bar.

Being a LHW Leader's club member we were upgarded to a very spacious room facing the inner courtyard. We chose this hotel for our free bonus night, and it proved to be an excellent choice. We had two balconies and both of them had furniture if you wanted to sip some fresh air.

We tried the spa as well. The pool was a bit too cold for my likings, but not a problem as long as I took some time in the sauna og steam room. I guess I should be thanking everyone at the D'angleterre for ten hours sleep, fantastic food and drinks and for the best energy boost this year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a stunningly restored iconic hotel situated in one of the main squares of the capital opposite the Royal Theatre and within easy walking distance of everything you would wish to visit over a long weekend in the Danish capital. It certainly afforded us a memorable stay. We had a beautiful room with high ceilings and big windows, perfectly soundproofed, overlooking the square. The room came equipped with all the luxuries expected from a five-star hotel and a little bit more: free wifi, Bang & Olufson TV with free films on tap, Nespresso machine and kettle and Japanese toilet (with various cleaning mechanisms!) The shower was wonderful.

The staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly, even to the extent that one of them accompanied us to the metro on our departure and helped us buy our tickets to the airport (that is one of the best things about this hotel: it is literally a stone's throw from the metro so we had a completely hassle-free 15 minute trip there and back).

The pool and spa were lovely though I agree with other reviewers that the pool was way too cold for me to stay in any length of time! The champagne bar was also great fun but very crowded on the Friday we were there. We would have stayed longer if we could have sat down though we enjoyed being led underneath the hotel to access the bar from the hotel's own private entrance. We didn't eat in the restaurant though it was obviously THE place to be.

Nothing negative to say except they should include breakfast with rates as high as these. The manager told us they were working on this. Also, there is building work currently going on in the square (not noisy when we were there) which detracts slightly from the view.

Room Tip: Probably a room with a view... we didn't have a suite and it was still gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel in February. Some of the lukewarm TA reviews were a concern but I went for it anyway. Could not be more happy to have stayed there.
The location is perfect - close to the metro and many popular tourist spots, such as the pedestrian shopping on Stroget. The room was fantastic and the bathroom gorgeous.
I ate breakfast at Marchal and loved it. It is expensive (like most things in Copenhagen) but was excellent and with terrific service. We had drinks at the main bar once and that was amazing - the bartender did an excellent job with our drinks.
Only negative is that the fitness centre is fairly small and does not have a large range of equipment. Even so, it was clean and I enjoyed using it. The spa looked terrific, though I did not use it.
I had no problems with the service overall. Everyone was friendly and helpful without being over bearing.
I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel D'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Angleterre

Address: Kongens Nytorv 34, Copenhagen 1050, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel D'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denmark's leading five-star hotel is located in a landmark building overlooking the lovely King’s Square in the heart of Copenhagen. Hotel d’Angleterre is renowned for our luxurious accommodations, fully personalized services and outstanding hospitality. With more than 250 years of history, Copenhagen's finest hotel can also pride itself on being one of the oldest hotels in the world. We have welcomed many prominent guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel D'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel D'Angleterre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.