We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Vesterbro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel Vesterbro to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel Vesterbro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vesterbrogade 23-29, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly First Hotel Vesterbro) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Fantastic location near the railway station, and friendly /efficient Reception staff were the highlights, but the tatty and grubby furniture in the Lounge Bar that greets you on arrival looked like it was bought in a junk shop. There was some evidence at attempts at re-decoration in the Lounge, but painting should be completed in 1 day, not left half finished to be completed at some time in the future. My room was OK but my colleagues were not so happy with the standard of cleanliness. The corridors to the rooms were in fairly good condition. I would class the standard of this hotel as budget accommodation in it's current condition. It could be so much better with a bit more effort in the public areas. Breakfast was good, so at least the Chef knows what he is doing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    294
    258
    127
    59
See reviews for
97
278
55
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Having read some rather disheartening reviews here, but also in the need of a night away from home as the upstairs neighbours prepared for yet another one of their lengthy'n'noisy parties, we opted for a room here. We were surprised by the large size of the room (539), as Copenhagen hotel rooms tend to be rather small, and the presence of a bathtub. No ordinary feature in this price range – and quite welcome on a very cold and snowy December night. Huge bed, made up by two twin beds that supposedly could be pulled apart. Hard to see it carried out successfully, though, since the nightstands were attached to the wall and would be in the way. There was a tea tray, no coffee, but no kettle. It was later supplied by room service when I asked reception where they hid it; “It is on the desk…Oh?...We’ll be right up. Sorry”. The hotel is located very centrally, but the top floor room – that faced the back as per request – was quiet. Tivoli and the Central Station are a 5 min. walk away, so I suppose there is a good reason for the masses of tourists always staying there. I would recommend it, especially if you can get a quiet room on the court yard or the backside as the street is rather busy. I have not seen the street facing rooms, so they could be quiet too. The beds and pillows were comfy. On the down side the room had a tired look and there was a draft from the window, so it was slightly chilly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Wifi on the 2nd floor was unreliable & slow at times. We were often unable to connect. Breakfast ends promptly at the time stipulated, with staff clearing at exactly 10 or 11.

We would recommend this hotel, although we have stayed at better. Good location in relation to central CPH.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is easily one of the worst hotels I've stayed, especially when taking price into consideration. I don't know where to start, so let's begin with the 2 positive notes. The location is pretty good, in a lively area of town close to the center and the station. Also the staff is really friendly.

Now let's take a look at the experience in chronological order.

When entering the hotel, there was a line of 20 people in front of the desk. Only 2 desks were occupied. After a while, the line grew to about 35 people. I'm not kidding, the line was forming around the corner. Never seen this before, and amazingly, they never opened the 3rd desk.

I've booked a "Deluxe" room, which is their 3rd option. It makes you wonder how a normal room is like, because the word Deluxe is not really appropriate. The room is of average size. The wooden floor makes a lot of noise when you walk on it. Also the website states that the room has "sound proof windows". I can tell you that staying on the 1ste floor facing the street, it sounds like the road is crossing right through your room. The "sound proof windows" is nothing more than a big lie.

The TV looked like it was coming out of 1987, and the bathroom is really small, although it features a nice size bath. It's not really clean anymore, the room and especially the bathroom should get a big overhaul.

The Wifi is free, but was installed together with the 1987 tv, it's that slow. Also, the signal in the room is really bad. My laptop could barely keep a signal, my Ipad or HTC phone couldn't see the network at all.

Lastly there is the hotel bar. Staying here for business, I like a hotel bar where I can get a beer, work a bit and have a lively atmosphere. Not at this hotel. There are gas stations that have a nicer place to get a drink than this junk. I've come across these types of bars at really cheap roadside hotels in Germany, but never in a city.

If the Deluxe rooms were €80,- euro's, the experience would fit. However, at a €140,- a night, don't ever go here. There is so much better in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the street side, it's really noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Friendly staff, but some little information about the hotel when we checked in. Nothing about breakfast times, where breakfast was served and so on. You do not need to ask about it. The room was ok, but the airconditioning yelled when it started. It woke us up several times at night. Good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is very convenient. Modern decoration and good location; it is located a short walk from Copenhagen's main tourist attractions and especially from the central train station (5mn). The staff was helpful and smily. The breakfast was quite good. The room was convenient as well. I have to mention that the street is a busy street and you can find plenty of coffee shops, restaurant and stores. In general our stay for 1 week during last new year was plaisant in this nice city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed 7 nights at this hotel on our first trip to Copenhagen in September and were very satisfied. This modern hotel is located a short walk from Copenhagen's main rail station and so you don't need to pay for a taxi to get there. Check-in was reasonably quick for a busy hotel. We booked a superior room and were happy with the space and facilities. The room overlooked the atrium and was very quiet. The bathroom was a wet room and a reasonable size. There was good wardrobe space and a comfortable bed. The only minor issue was the replenishment of the tea and coffee supplies, which was a bit hit and miss. Breakfast was an efficient operation considering how big and busy the hotel is. Only one morning did we have to queue, and that was not for more than 10 minutes. The breakfast choice is perfectly adequate, including fresh fruit, fresh croissants, cheese, ham and some hot items. VesterbroGade is a busy main street with plenty of cafes and restaurants. There is a supermarket close to the hotel. The hotel is well-located for exploring Copenhagen on foot or by bus or local train. The long pedestrian shopping street starts opposite the rail station. The wonderful Tivoli entertainment complex is a short walk away. Copenhagen is a friendly, laid back city and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking the main road if you want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Hotel Vesterbro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Vesterbro

Address: Vesterbrogade 23-29, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly First Hotel Vesterbro)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Vesterbro 3*
Number of rooms: 403
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Hotel Vesterbro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Vesterbro
First Hotel Copenhagen
First Hotel Vesterbro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Vesterbro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.