We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly depressing....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DGI-byens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DGI-byens Hotel to your Saves list
DGI-byens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   TietgensGade 65, Copenhagen 1704, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Utterly depressing....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I staid here for a couple of nights for a work trip to Copenhagen and I honestly could not bring myself to like the place.
The overall look and feel of the place (no room service, no in room wifi, no mini bar) is that of one of those hostels where you can get private rooms as well as dorms.
I didn't find it modern I found it squalid and shabby. Both room and bathroom are spacious but everything is absolutely plain, white, with nothing to cheer up the environment. The bathroom (specially the sink) could do with a bit of refurbishing as some items (specially the sink) are very old.
It was although clean and sleep quality good (it is by the train station but from the 3rd floor you could barely hear the trains in the distance).
Good points about it:
- breakfast was tasty
- the hotel is located within a sports center with gym and swimming pool that you can access for a decent fee (30 DKK for hotel guests)
- walking distance from both Tivoli and downtown
- right beside the train station

Beside this I found it sad. even for an average business hotel and incredibly overpriced (238€ for a room which is not worth it: ok we're in Denmark and everything is expensive but it felt like a rip off!). Maybe I don't fully understand Danish minimalism....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    76
    80
    43
    15
See reviews for
53
57
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Because it was hot in te room and no air conditioning, we wanted to keep the windows open but we soon had to close them due to the fact it was too noisy because of the noises of the trains which is competetive all night! Although there was no air conditioning, we had a fan whick had to stay on all night as it was so hot! The fan made a horrible sound which was annoying and went on all night long reapeting over and over again! I enjoyed how near the hotel was to everything apart from the train station! Overall i liked my stay at DGI byen as they also have free wifi!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

everything is and looks dated. Great swimming pool (sizewise) but is in fact a swimming pool next door and there is an extra charge.
Most disappointing of all: there is no air-conditioning in the rooms and when it's warm you still don't want to sleep with the window open because of the noise from the train station on the other side of the street.

Room Tip: Take another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Nothing actually wrong with this place and it's in a good location - but don't whatever you do assume it's an 'occasion' place. Rooms are basic, there's no WiFi except in the public places and I've never been to a hotel that asked me to pay extra for the tea and coffee in my room before (you are given a kettle but have to go and buy the tea/coffee from reception). Frankly when I arrived tired it wasn't the money, it was having to drag myself back to reception again before I could have a hot drink that rankled.

Breakfast buffet is fine as long as you didn't want anything hot - so, basic but workable and within easy walk of a lot of the sights and excellent eateries, Tivoli etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Avoid rooms facing the train tracks, especially during summer when you're forced to open windows as there's no airconditioning. The trains screech past constantly all night long. We finally opted for closing the windows to minimise the noise, but without ventilation the room got so hot and stuffy, we could hardly breathe.
Never going back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is pretty cheap and fairly central. The standard is very good, and you get great discounts to the hotels spa- and pool-division, and Tivoli.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Room was clean and simple with adequate space. Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Buffet breakfast was good quality and reasonably priced when prepaid (Copenhagen food is very expensive). Close to central train station so it was easy to get around town and to the airport. Do not expect a beautiful view as this area consists of train tracks and buildings. There is an additional charge to use the spa and pool unlike other hotels I have stayed at. Overall, this is a good place to stay for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DGI-byens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DGI-byens Hotel

Address: TietgensGade 65, Copenhagen 1704, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DGI-byens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DGI-byens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dgi Byen Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DGI-byens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.