We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CopenHagen Strand

Save Saved
You added CopenHagen Strand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CopenHagen Strand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   HavneGade 37, Copenhagen 1058, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Kyiv, Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

As Copenhagen is an expensive city, all hotels in city center is rether expensive. My opinion - that's the best value for the money we spent. We stayed there for 4 nights (Mon-Fri) and were very pleased by service and the hotel itself. It's very comfy, homely. Nice design and very clean.

Location. Hotel is not far from metro station, bus stations. It's near to all you need to see in Copenhagen.

Harbour view. Superior rooms with harbour view.. You should understand it like "a room with a window with a harbour view". So, from your room you can see only a backyard, even a wall of some other building. But there are special windows! If you come close to the window, you can see some harbour. But that's ok in general.

Rooms are not big, but not too small. Exactly what you need, when you are traveller. We had enough space.

Bathroom. Good enough. Clean, rather big and comfortable.

Service. We had a problem. We booked a superior double room, but all rooms of this type were occupied. We had to sleep the first night in an ordinary double room wich is the same, but you can't see the harbour (tea facilities we provided separately). For this inconvenience we had a bottle of red wine. So we had some troubles with checking in, but hotel stuff provided a good decision with "winy" excuses.

Breakfast. All you need for breakfast is here. It's not a restaurant - there are no special dishes. But there are many ways to have a good, quality, fresh and tasty breakfast.

Conclusion. We were walking around and have seen a lot of hotels. If I come to Copenhagen again, I will stay in Copenhagen Strand for sure!

Room Tip: ask for "bay" view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    366
    177
    46
    14
See reviews for
107
295
42
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mo i Rana, Norway
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed here a couple of nights for business purposes. The hotel lies on the waterfront and has a very convenient location. It is close to the bars and restaurants in Nyhavn and easily accessible by Metro from Kongens Nytorv. The room was rather small and the bathroom a bit dated, but clean. The breakfast was a letdown. For that price (Well over 100 DKK) I expected more than what I would describe as a basic continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan, usa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A good hotel located on the waterfront close to Nyhaven. We stayed in one of their better rooms overlooking the water. It was not large but adequate. The view was great and I enjoyed having the waterfront room. The bed had a layer of foam padding on the top of a mattress and I am not used to that type of bedding. It was not bad, just a different feel.

The breakfast that was included in my rate was very good selection of cold items such as fruits, cheeses, breads, pastries, etc. There not hot items such as eggs or meat. It was a good selection for my taste, just be aware of a lack of the hot items.

The next comments are not a hotel issue but a warning to tourists in Copenhagen. I was the victim of a pick pocket robbery as I walked back to the hotel from the Hop On Hop Off tourist bus. I was followed by a group from the bus stop (about 3 blocks away) and as I went into the hotel doorway, they grabbed my wallet from my pocket. I am not blaming the hotel but just letting everyone know there are active pickpockets in Copenhagen and I was obviously targeted as a tourist getting off the Hop On Hop Off bus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elverum, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay. The room was nice - a little small - but it was clean. The bathroom had a good size. It is very close to Nyhavn and the most interesting places in Copenhagen. The hotel have a very good breakfast, sometimes difficulr to find a table. Very easy to walk to the center of the town. You have the opera house on the other side of the cana.l

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavík
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of June.
The room was nice (little small), it was clean, the mini-bar was a plus and the bathroom was large and comfortable. The linen and the blanket was extremely comfy and kept me warm as it was really cold in Copenhagen those 2 days. Over all it was just a very typical hotel room, just like any other :). But what was very good is the fact that I did hear very little noises from other rooms or the corridor or from the outside, which made me able to sleep really well, the breakfast was really, really good with various of all kinds of things and the staff at the reception were all great. They were always happy and able to help with what ever I needed to ask about. Location very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This location is about a 3 minute walk to the Nyhavn harbor, about a 20 minute walk to Tivoli Gardens. Shopping and restaraunts in between. We traveled with our 3 and 6 year old boys. This hotel sits right on the harbor, but only a small percentage of the rooms face the harbor. Make sure you upgrade to one of them. We got a Junior Suite. It was definatly worth the upgrade to face the harbor. A junior suite by the way is about the same size (maybe still smaller) as a typical American hotel room.
The Strand had a free breakfast everymorning with pastries and cerial, cheese, etc. It was good enough. There is also a "bar" behind the reception desk where you can buy some Carlsbad beer or get a mixed drink or wine. It isn't really a "bar" though. But a few times I did walk down to grab a beer, so that is nice. Checkin was easy, we arrived around noon and our room was not yet ready, but they did hold our luggage for us. Staff was VERY friendly, helpfull. This street, there is not too many cabs on there, so the front desk can always arange a ride for you. Hotel was very cozy and clean. It is probably a 3 star hotel by American standards. I would definatly stay here again.

Room Tip: You MUST pay extra for a harbor view.... it will really make your trip. Who wants to look at a bric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a 3 night stay at the hotel for my first time visit to Copenhagen. Originally had a standard room and was told it's quite small for 2 adults. So agreed to upgrade to an Executive room for 30 kroner more per night. The room was adequately spacious, with a good size bathroom with a bath tub shower. The only weird thing is that the shower sprays onto the floor, reason being that there's only a narrow glass partition(3 feet?) that extends from the shower wall.
The front desk personnel were very helpful, especially BJORN who gave us quite a bit of good advise - kudos. The breakfast which was included and quite filling. It has a number of danishes, variety of bread (1 gluten free option that you have to request) with butter/jellies, juices, some cold meats and pate, hard/soft boiled eggs, fruits, yogurt, cereal, nuts and dried fuits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CopenHagen Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CopenHagen Strand

Address: HavneGade 37, Copenhagen 1058, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CopenHagen Strand 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your CopenHagen Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen
Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CopenHagen Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.