We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CopenHagen Strand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added CopenHagen Strand to your Saves list
CopenHagen Strand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   HavneGade 37, Copenhagen 1058, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Quiet in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Copenhagen is a great city for walking. Flat, picturesque, compact, lots of public art and facilities. And located well to access these easily is the Stand. It's on a quiet part of the city, on edge of a canal, yet within minutes walk of many sites.

The rooms are small, but adequate. Clean and comfortable surrounding, and all rooms appear to have a small balcony. Pity they are along the sides of the building, but there are still good views. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. Breakfasts are good too, but no other meal facilities on-site.

The lobby area has lots of original paintings depicting maritime scenes of old Copenhagen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    423
    211
    51
    15
See reviews for
123
337
48
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. The location was excellent and the staff helpful.
The room we had booked was so small that the double bed was only accessible on one side. The bathroom was spacious - but the bedroom was far too small - even for 2 smallish people like us!
We asked for an upgrade (not too expensive) and were shown to a larger room with a view over the canal. (Unfortunately, we later discovered that the hot water didn't work well in that room! The staff were unable to fix it so took the price of the upgrade off.)
The hotel is well situated for Nyhavn just round the corner, which is also where the canal trips go from - well worth it to get an overview of the city.
The hotel stored our luggage on the last day prior to us catching the overnight ferry to Oslo.
We loved sitting at the cafes/restaurants in the evening at Nyhavn, snug in our blankets!
We loved Copenhagen and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The standard double room is extremely small. Upgrade if possible. Ask for a view - otherwise you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a second stay at this hotel, this time with my mother enroute to join a
cruise to the Norwegian Fjords. I love the location close to Nyhavn so plenty of options for a coffee,beer or meal in easy reach. Also great to walk out along the boardwalk to see the Opera House, Palace and sights heading out towards the Little Mermaid. Magasin and one end of Stroget is also in easy reach the other direction.
One criticism - it was the Opening Ceremony of the Olympics in London and we really wanted to see what was happening but could only get it on German TV!
The hotel is typically clean and tidy and buffet breakfast is excellent with lots of choice. We will definitely return on another visit to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

By the waterfront in the middle of the rather touristy Nyhavn with all its cafés and restaurants and the central square Kongens Nytorv with all its shops, bus stops and a metro station you’ll find The Strand.

This review is made after staying in a first floor standard double room, which are tiny rooms fitting a small closet, a desk with a small mini bar, a wall fitted TV and a chair, as well as the bed itself. The duvets are not very comfy, and it wouldn’t be too bad at all if the bed linen actually covered all of the mattresses. The room has not got much floor space left for luggage after fitting the furniture, so the closet comes in handy. Wifi is missing (although a cable alternative, and free wifi in the lobby is present) as well as AC or temperature regulation, which is particularly negative given the room is in the first floor and an open window is not a very good option either. The rooms therefore tend to get a bit cramped. The bathroom is quite nice and pleasing, and it’s even decently sized (although the plumbing is quite noisy, which can be annoying at night when getting to sleep).

Breakfast, served in the restaurant besides the lobby at the ground floor, should please most tastes. There’s a quite wide variety of bread, cereal, hot foods and pastries, as well as fruit juices, milk and coffee/ tea.

Despite its location The Strand is in a quiet area, and from early evening the streets close to the hotel are relatively empty. Still it’s not more than a ten minutes stroll to get to the cafés of Nyhavn, the shopping area around Kongens Nytorv and all through Strøget, Slotsholmen with the National Assembly or the island of Christianshavn where they make their own rules down in the freetown of Christiania. Also, accidentally, one of the best Indian/ Pakistani restaurants in town, at least when it comes to value, is on the street corner next to The Strand. If you like Indian food, a visit to The Sahil should almost be obligatory. From Kongens Nytorv it’s also easy to get around by public transport.

With better duvets, wifi in the rooms and an AC-system of sorts (and maybe a bit quieter plumbing) The Strand would be a splendid option. Even without these options it’s quite ok, and a nice alternative if you want a quiet nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Copenhagen Strand prior to returning home from a cruise on the Seabourne. The location of the hotel is great. Walking distance to shopping/restaurants and cafes along the canal. We struggled with our suitcases upon checkin. A lovely young lady (guest)came to help taking the suitcases down the steps. It was only upon leaving that the desk clerk "mentioned" the lift to use the goes to street level. Better late than never. The room was cozy...but adequate for Europe. Bathroom ok. The breakfast was huge with many selections....so that was nice. We happened to be in Copenhagen on a very hot day/night and realized it was not air conditioned. The staff did accommodate us with a fan which was our saving factor. We did have to leave the windows opened for air....the office building next door was a stones throw away and looked into our room. Due to the heat....it was imperative the windows stayed open...so much for privacy! That was the only downside. Internet was only available in the lobby area....not in the room. Desk staff was courteous but would have liked a little more info upon check in about area and amenities of the hotel. SO we asked lots of questions. Great canal tour of the sites hop-on/hop-off we discovered from other cruise passengers we chatted with at a restaurant.

Room Tip: The room we had faced an office building....I am sure there MUST be rooms with a better view. No A/C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I recently stayed in the Copenhagen Strand Hotel with a delegation of exporters.

On the morning of the second day I was awoken at 06.15 by the hotel's laundry supplier who walks back and forth through an alleyway on the side of the hotel with noisy trolleys without any consideration for hotel guests.
Other colleagues were woken by the same noise, so I mentioned this to the reception who stated that they had requested him to not to collect / deliver so early.
The following morning (Wed) I was again rudely awakened at 5.55 by the laundryman who proceeded to move trolleys under my bedroom window for fifteen minutes. The inconsiderate supplier wears headphones so is oblivious to the guests who complain out of their windows.

When booking a hotel a prerequisite should be the guarantee of a night's sleep, without rude awakenings. A guest should not expect to be hit by sleep deprivation during a busy business week, involved in multiple business meetings and driving 600-700 kms per day

I immediately emailed the hotel's manager and also complained at checkout, showing the email sent, but as yet a number of days later have not received a reply to my complaint.

These unfortunate incidents and lack of a reply to the complaint from the manager have spoiled my experience of this hotel and it's friendly reception staff.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the side of the hotel where the rental bicycles are parked !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Standard Room was pretty small. I know that many hotel rooms in Europe are small but this seemed a little smaller than expected. Didn't spend much time in room so it was OK. Service, location, breakfast were all very good. About 45 minute walk to Tivoli, 20-30 minute walk to restaurants/cafes along the canal.

Room Tip: See what is available other than Standard (Hotel was fully booked when we were there)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to CopenHagen Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CopenHagen Strand

Address: HavneGade 37, Copenhagen 1058, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CopenHagen Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your CopenHagen Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen
Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CopenHagen Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.