We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Copenhagen Admiral Hotel to your Saves list
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed for three very comfortable nights in February and really enjoyed our time at the hotel. A converted riverside warehouse, it has bags of atmosphere and the historic building has been tastefully renovated. The hotel is also superbly located for all the main tourist attractions; all of which are in easy walking distance. It is positioned very close to the picturesque Nyhaven quayside area where we found plenty of choice in terms of cafes, bars and restaurants. The breakfast at the hotel (included in our deal) was also terrific value with masses of options and really excellent quality. We're thinking of returning to Copenhagen (absolutely fabulous by the way...) and when we do, the Copenhagen Admiral will certainly be worth a return visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    1,019
    378
    125
    58
See reviews for
273
985
95
519
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on business. The building is beautiful and the stone arches in the corridors are a great feature (though shame they seem to be used for storage!), as are the beams in the rooms. Room wasn't too big but was well laid out. In general the decor seemed a little bit tired in both the bedroom and bathroom but was of decent quality. The main issue I had was that I was on the first floor and directly below me was where the taxi drivers congregated for a chat when I was there early evening, which sounded like they were in the room with me! Another colleague commented that he must have been right over the restaurant as he could smell cooking in his room all the time - the walls and floors are pretty thin, though it is a really old building.

I would have given this rating one dot less were it not for the breakfast which was truly excellent - a huge variety of hot and cold dishes, everything extremely fresh and the room kept spotless even though it was pretty busy. Definitely one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had in a while.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a converted river side warehouse but has been converted so well and imaginatively. The location is excellent, the rooms interesting as they have to fit in with the old building, and the staff were great. We did not eat in the restaurant but it is of high quality from everything we learned. It was just so good and different.

Room Tip: Just be nice to the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was recommended by a local so I expected it to be good. However, I dropped my earring down the back of the fridge and the staff were so very lovely - they pulled the fridge apart while I was eating breakfast and delivered it to me at the table. They were polite, helpful, lovely, courteous and I would recommend anyone going to Copenhagen stays at this delightful hotel. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Great value for money - go there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My partner and I arrived on a Friday evening for a long weekend away. We arrived to a very cold, snowy Copenhagen, but found the people very friendly and warm.
Transfer from the airport to the hotel was easy. We hopped on the metro and took a short walk to our amazing hotel!
Fabulous position, fabulous entrance lobby, nautical theme from the start, lots of staff on hand to assist. Our receptionist was very nice and informed us that we had been given a free upgrade from a double room to a junior suite! We were VERY happy with the accommodation.
Lovely room, lots of space, well stocked mini bar, plenty of towels and extra bedding available. Modern with original wooden beams. It used to be a corn warehouse and still shows signs of war damage! Lots of history.
Breakfast was a feast! All very appealing to the eye and the palate.
Step out of the hotel onto the waterfront, with the opera house in sight and take a short walk to the Amalienborg, the Little Mermaid and just wander. Which ever way you walk you will come across a lovely old building, a place to eat and somewhere to warm up with an Irish coffee! Very much needed and appreciated on a cold snowy day.
All in all, just fabulous! Brilliant hotel, amazing city :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Pros: Good waterfront location, close to station on airport line, attractive lobby, historic building with beams in rooms.

Cons: Walls much too thin, could hear neighbours talking, housekeeping trolleys stored in corridors which detracts from old archways, housekeeping haphazard (leave a maid sign on the door and nobody comes, take an afternoon nap and they enter without knocking)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Location... Perfect, just a few minutes from city center.

Atmospher... The hotel lobby is really quite and greatly designed, the rooms hall was quite tight that I thought I'm on a cruising ship but still it was great! I liked the spa section on each level of the hotel with free water service, the room was very clean, furniture was chosen carefully, bathroom was OK and the bed was really comfy!!!

Breakfast... Mhmm I hardly hold my self that day!! Hehe really delicious.

Car parking... Available with really good fares.

Hotel stuff.... Friendly, lovely, helpful.

Hotel fares... Comparing to the services provided => FAIR

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copenhagen Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Address: Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#17 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next door to royal residence Amalienborg Palace and just a short walk from Nyhavn, this imposing 200-year-old former granary warehouse is one of the largest hotels in the city, with 366 rooms - but don't let that put you off. It may not be boutique but big can definitely be beautiful. Beyond the two cast iron canons at the entrance is a neon-pink bar (great for a pre-dinner tipple), while guests retire to rooms showing off classic Danish touches such as teak furniture, low ceilings and original wooden beams. Best of all are the panoramas across the water towards the city's shiny Opera House and Christiania: a view fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Copenhagen Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Admiral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.