We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service when it was needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Save Saved
You added Copenhagen Admiral Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
free WIFI
Ranked #15 of 118 hotels in Copenhagen
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good service when it was needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had picked the hotel from the internet and stayed for four nights. We were allocated a room overlooking the harbour which was great until we realised there was a bar on the ground floor; lots of noise until late, and a construction site on the harbour, with noise starting at 0700. As a result we asked for a move to a quieter room which was organised the next morning. They also gave me emergency cash as I had had my wallet stolen the previous evening. We avoided the Salt restaurant after the first morning as it was too small for the number of guests as it has conferences and large tour groups staying there. Also, it only offers the full buffet breakfast at a relatively high cost. so we used a nearby hotel for breakfast after that at a cost almost half the price of one person, but which covered us both.

We finally decided to try the restaurant, although we had some misgivings. to our delight the food and the wine list were both good and the service was exemplary. Even the overall cost was comparable with good restaurants in Melbourne and was good value overall.

Room Tip: The harbour view is great and if the harbour works have been finished the noise will be less. We ori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,847 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    531
    860
    310
    97
    49
See reviews for
215
736
76
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

It seems that this hotel belonged to the Danish Naval force and has been built around 200 years ago. They did a really good effort to keep the historical shape of the building, despite making it compatible with modern standards. The view was really good, and the decoration of the rooms and the lobby and everything else seemed perfect. The fact is that this hotel looked extremely clean, and hotel staff was very helpful whenever wanted. The only problem is that it was a little bit expensive for one night stay, and I think the reason was that the location of the hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the city station and the famous Stroget street.

Room Tip: We tried the street view which was not bad at all, but I preferred sea view which was not available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 3 nights at the Admiral hotel and we enjoyed it. The building itself is beautiful and full of character, as was our room. Our room faced the harbour with the big chunky beams, it's very Scandinavian in design and very comfortable. The only gripe we had was that this was reflected in the bathroom. The bathroom was a bit dated.

The staff were very friendly as well at check in and at check out.

The hotel is very conveniently located too, we walked everywhere. we walked to Tivoli, the palaces, harbour, Kastelet, Cristiania etc etc. It's less than 5 minutes to Nyhavn where the restaurants and lovely views are. It's about a 10 minute walk to the top of the shopping street Stroget and about the same to the Mermaid. The hotel is pretty much next door to one of the royal palaces as well.

But be warned though, if you are planning to stay there soon and have a harbour view room, there's building work going on so Monday to Friday will be a little noisy during the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericia, Denmark
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for business, great location right on the harbour walk (Langelinje) close to Nyhavn, Amaileborg, and the little mermaid. Try to get a room overlooking the harbour. The rooms are nice and have a feel of an old ship, but modern. The walls are thin so you will be able to hear your neighbours. The bar and restaurant are nice. A really nice breakfast buffet. The ladies at check in are very nice and efficient. If you drive the parking is limited and you will have to pay for parking. All in all a great place to stay in Copenhagen within walking distance to many of the attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Restored warehouse 5 minutes walk from Copenhagen's liveliest area, Nyhaven. Rooms are large and characterful with exposed beams and oak support columns though note that those facing the car park are very noisy. Paying extra for a sea view across to the Opera House would be well worth it. Bar areas, both inside and outside are lovely and I cannot recommend the "Salt" restaurant highly enough. Certainly not cheap but stunning food and Copenhagen is not a city to visit if you are looking for cheap anything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

been here several times, nice hotel, especially the top floor with the separate bedroom. beams all over, football at the bar. all the main attractions in copenhagen are within walking distance
the salt restaurant is also worth it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Unique hotel. Great location within easy walking distance of Nyhavn, Amalienborg and shopping district. Spacious room with wooden beams and very comfortable beds. Friendly staff and great outside eating overlooking the waterfront. Would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copenhagen Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Address: Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Danish quality and 200 years’ history when you stay at the Copenhagen Admiral Hotel. The uniquely designed hotel is housed in a converted 18th century warehouse building, located near Copenhagen’s best shopping and cultural attractions, and neighbouring the Royal Palace and the Royal Playhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Copenhagen Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Admiral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.