We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ascot Hotel to your Saves list
Ascot Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Studiestraede 61, Copenhagen DK 1554, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, average room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel is a great choice if you are on a budget and wanting a location which you can walk to anywhere in the centre fast. It's possibly the cheapest hotel in Copenhagen. We opted for the small room option so were prepared for a compact living space, and it was big enough for what we needed. There were just some things about the hotel which were a less than suitable, our bed was very tired, it sunk dramatically in the middle and was only just big enough for two people, we got one pillow and two single duvets on a double bed? Also we didn't have a kettle or any tea or coffee making facilities. Whilst the small room was fine for what we needed, suitable sized bedding and kettle is still necessary in a hotel room.

Our room was at the front which was facing a pump house, which was a live gig venue, there was a band playing on our first night which was loud enough to maybe keep a light sleeper awake, there were complimentary ear plugs thankfully as they were needed. However there were no bands playing Friday or Saturday night, so it wasn't a problem for us, and I am sure if it had, we would have been ok to move rooms.

The breakfast was great, small selection of hot food but totally made up for by the huge selection of very fresh and varied selection of cold food, pastries, fruit, meat, cheeses etc. enough to satisfy our big appetites.

Overall a pleasant hotel, but maybe recommend not picking the small room option and asking for a room round the back if you are light sleeper.

Room Tip: Don't choose the small room or one at front of hotel if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    190
    212
    91
    71
See reviews for
116
214
42
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The rooms at the Ascot are incredibly disappointing given they call themselves a 4star hotel. The bed is terrible, blinds that didn't create great privacy, and you can hear everything in the hallways and next rooms. The location however is great. Easy to walk to everything you want. Italian restaurant at hotel is very good, but tapas around the corner was sub par. Wouldn't stay here again unfortunately.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestfoss
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Booked this hotel for a business trip for two people. We arrived early in the day (at 11hrs), but had no problem checking in (supposed to happen after 14hrs).

Surprised to hear that they had upgraded our rooms to superior without us having to ask - perfect.

Rooms were spacious and clean. Good wi-fi connection (one hour free, after that 25DKK per day - decent price).

The day after we asked for a later check out time (normally 11hrs), no problem to get an hour extra (without paying).

Definitely something to recommend, not forgetting the location close to the railway station (no problem walking). Quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The Hotel is about 10mins walk from the Central Station. It didn't take us long to find. The room was a decent size, very clean and overall comfortable. There are many plug points with a full length mirror which was great. Hairdryer is provided in the bathroom.

The breakfast was absolutely lovely!! Very relaxed atmosphere. The choice was great and the food was lovely. There were fresh juice options too. My favourite was the Nutella pots.

The location was perfect. Only 5mins away from the main shopping street and the city area.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

The trip was great for my 12 yr daughter and myself lots to do tivoli park great food and entertainment. There is culture of the country great. Lots of places to see and lots things to do. The science center and new aquarium were great places to go. Transportation good and easy to access.

Room Tip: Get a new renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Rooms are very small but find if you're not planning to spend a lot of time in hotel!! The hotel is in a great location. There's great bars and restaurants near by and all sights are within walking distance! We only used public transport to get to and from the airport!! The hotel was by no means a four star by Irish standards!! It was average, we stayed in first floor room facing a busy road so was quite noisey in the morning!! Value for money and great location made up for some of the downfalls!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Ascot for 3 nights. Close to Studiestræde and Strøget.
Ok enough, note that "free wifi" is only for 60 min per 24 hrs. not expensive to buy additional 24 hrs, and the bet has a very good rate.
The hotel is marked by the tooth of time, but still has it's charm.

Would not have any concerns about staying here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: Studiestraede 61, Copenhagen DK 1554, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Hotel in restored & modernized turn-of-the-century bathhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.