We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Very Expensive Euro Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ascot Hotel to your Saves list
Ascot Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Studiestraede 61, Copenhagen DK 1554, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Typical Very Expensive Euro Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We got off of a cruise here and decided to stay one night in Copenhagen before flying back home the next day. We went from the sea port to the hotel arriving at about 11:30 AM. " You cannot check in prior to 14:00 (2:00 PM)". Bummer! They do, however, have a luggage storage room that you may use. This room is in an awkward place with flights of stairs and bending corners involved. In other words, wheeled luggage is outta luck here. At 2:00 PM you may check in, but beware! This hotel must be the standard place where bus loads of Asian tourists book via the internet. And they all check in at 14:00! So check in is a problem here because everyone coming I to the city that morning is checking in at the same time. At any rate, our room was down the street a block or two and again we fought our luggage over a long term construction project in the street and sidewalk in front of the hotel. The elevator was a tiny Euro lift for one person and luggage at a time. The room was fine, but nothing to brag about. There is a breakfast buffet (not included). They do have an Apple computer and printer off the lobby to print boarding passes which was nice. The desk person called a taxi for us when we checked out and the cab was there in about five minutes. It was a 20-30 minute ride to the airport with little traffic and there is a straight fee from hotel to the airport. If you are a penny pincher you can take the train from the hotel area, but if you have luggage, etc, just take a cab - it's not that expensive and well worth it. The hotel is okay. The construction and stairs, etc would make it difficult for the walking challenged. I had to help ladies with their luggage because it was too heavy for them to lift up and down stairways, Remember, there is no ADA in Europe! In short, the hotel was okay for a night. If I were to go to Copenhagen again, I would consider the Marriott as I noticed it was on the Open Top Tour Bus stop. I didn't go inside the Marriott, so I don't know much other than it looked nice, it was at the bus stop, and a lady from our cruise told me she checked in when she got off the ship rather than waiting until 14:00.

Room Tip: The hotel has rooms in the hotel and they also have multi room suites down the street, but they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    190
    212
    91
    71
See reviews for
116
214
42
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montréal, QC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The location is the best feature of the hotel - 5-minute walk from Central Station, Tivoli Gardens, Stroget, City Hall, etc. It is also walking distance to most main attractions in Copenhagen. I had a single room with bathroom. The room was clean and with enough space for my suitcase and walk around. The bathroom was spacious and they fix the problem I had with the toilet right away. The room was facing the interior yard and it can get noisy with deliveries at night. There was a good selection for breakfast and it was good quality. The staff at the front desk can be rude. My flight was delayed by 24h and I've called to advise them and ensure I wouldn't lose my reservation. Once I got there, they had lost my reservation and gave me a lecture before finding a note on file. Fortunately, the rest of the staff was great and willing to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The spa did an awfull bikini wax and agread to return a sum. They asked for bankdetails, wich they got, but did never return any money. Even after several mails, both to the hotel and the spa. The woman who is running the spa, Louisa, can not be trusted and the hotel will not take on any responsibility even when they call themselfs "Ascot hotel and spa". Both the name, and holding back the money, is FRAUD.

That the surroundings are noisy, the rooms worn down and the 24-7 roomservice is not telling you what they charge (30 DKR to bring a beer for 35 DKR) does not give them more stars in my book. This hotel might be used if you just MUST have a bed for one night but NOT if you want to enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Ascot Hotel and Spa was a charm about 3 blocks from the Central Station Terminal and a block away from the busses. A grocery store was approximately a block or two away as well.

We were lucky. The front desk staff let us check in early. Our room was updated and sparkling. We were on the 2nd floor with 2 double beds in a larger than normal European room, spacious bathroom, quiet and facing the parking lot (not a lot of cars made it very quiet). We had a small amenity kit and our small refrigerator worked beautifully! **We are not sure if this is because we put in a request upon booking for a quiet room and early check in.** Due to the time of year, the climate in the room could get cold, but otherwise, it was perfect!

My mother lost her credit cards in Sweden and the front desk staff went above and beyond to call around to the stores we stopped at and the busses we took. They have 2 Apple computers to help you check in for your flights and do your other web business. It's a little tough to read in Danish, but I'm sure there's a way you can change it, we just aren't Apple people. Yes, the elevator is small (European standards), but at least there's one there!

We didn't partake of their offered ($$$) breakfast but went instead across the Central Terminal to Andersen's Bakery. OMG this place was heavenly! The hotel had water in the lobby and I once saw bakery treats later in the afternoon offered to the guests. We would TOTALLY stay here again! GREAT SERVICE and ROOMS!

Room Tip: Upon booking, if the travel site you're booking on allows it, add a note requesting early check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I popped to Copenhagen on business and decided to spend a couple of extra days there, checking out the City. This hotel won't be on your list of hotels providing great amenities, even at £120 or so per night. My room was serviceable, but no double bed, relatively poor quality mattress, no tea or coffee facilities - none of the basics really. However, the location is very good, right next to the Hans Christian Andersen Boulevard, 5 mins walk from Stroget and Tivoli and the main Civic Square - all that was just great. It just needs updating and modernising to compete. I went out to eat so can't comment on the food quality or price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

A shame that no note was left in my "upgraded" room (3 nights stay) to tell me there were overnight construction works right outside my bedroom. No in room water bottle, mini bar or coffee making facilities ..... It was a long stay!
The location is great, the noise, lack of amenities and air-con, not so great :-(
The room was not cleaned properly, my wine glass and coffee cup (brought up to my room myself) were not cleaned out of the room at all during my stay - they were still left there when I checked out this morning.
Breakfast is ok, nice pancakes, that's about it - machine coffee, machine juice ....
Not what I woudl consider a 4 star hotel, and sadly lacking in rememdial activity to compensate for very little sleep due to noise!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel itself is quite nice but it's nosy. VERY NOISY. I'm a light sleeper so do note recommend it.

Single glazing windows, which is odd since its next to Copenhagen's main road. My room has a door to the next room - why do old hotels still do this??? and the fckers next door won't be quiet. The hotel is full so no alternative available. The guy on the desk wasn't bothered.

Good location. No kettle or drinkmaking facility in the room. The TV remote control doesn't work.

I'm tired and in a bad mood. Got an all-day meeting and now I can't sleep. Thanks Hotel Ascot.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: Studiestraede 61, Copenhagen DK 1554, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Hotel in restored & modernized turn-of-the-century bathhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.