We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent by most standards but queue to breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Copenhagen Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalvebod Brygge 5, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #17 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Stockholm
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Excellent by most standards but queue to breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Our room was excellent with a spectacular view across the water towards Amager. This is a pretty new hotel with modern style rooms and large windows. Very nice bathroom. Staff was efficient, professional and friendly. The lobby was large and very nice. This hotel is within a short walking distance to Tivoli amusement park and the city center. We visited the bar and enjoyed the very good service. The queue to the breakfast was so long so we decided to take a walk to another hotel for breakfast. We stayed during a weekend and it is probably less crowded weekdays.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    695
    239
    89
    45
See reviews for
352
583
80
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

This hotel was exactly what you would expect from a Marriott. Large, clean, comfortable rooms, a good bed, and a large lobby with bar & restaurant.

It's a bit of a walk to the city center, and about 10 minutes to the main train station. It is situated right on the water, which is very nice though. It's mostly surrounded by office buildings, and you can tell this is primarily a businessman's hotel, the lobby was always filled with men in dark suits on their cell phones typing furiously into laptops. It was a mostly older crowd as well, we saw only 1 family with young kids.

We were very budget-oriented, and booked this hotel through priceline.com for a very cheap rate (way less than available on Marriott.com). Breakfast in the hotel is quite expensive, and internet access is an outrageous $30 a day! As long as you only need to check e-mail, I'd suggest finding a local internet cafe for your surfing.

For the country that has a popular breakfast pastry named after it, bakeries are few and far between. We generally would buy some pastries at night before going back to the hotel, and then eat them in the morning. Shopping in Copenhagen is expensive, I would suggest taking the train to Malmo, Sweden, where they have lots of the same stores, but everything is much cheaper!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Reliable Marriott Quality - best bed for comfort. Standard American amenities.
A slight walk from city center, but very small walkable city, so not a problem. Good concierge service. Front Desk was pleasant. Breakfast is very expensive in hotel and not a lot of options close to hotel, so plan ahead.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

Nice hotel a little far from the main streets, but close to Tivoli Gardens. Our room overlooked the canal, which was really nice. Breakfast buffet was good. Staff was very helfpul. It is a little far to walk to get to the main streets with the restaurants and shops, but cabs are always available. Staff was very helpful. Rooms were large.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

The room and the bathroom were big with the three of us together. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were soft. Staffs were friendly enough and attentive to our needs. Although there was a slight problem on the first night we checked-in, the night manager took full responsibility for the inconvenience and gave us free breakfast. Breakfast was good, they had a nice selection of breads, pastries. sausages,cheeses, fruits and cereals. Taxis were plenty outside the hotel so no problem going to the airport. Overall, we were happy with our stay at Marriot Copenhagen.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Overall, this is an excellent hotel. The location is a bit removed, but it's within walking distance of most attractions, and it's in a very quiet area of Copenhagen. I can appreciate that.

Check-in was very slow. I'm talking 30-45 minutes at 10:00 in the morning. It should be noted that this hotel has a late check in time of 4:00. My room wasn't ready, but they let me store my luggage. I freshened up in the restroom, and it was adequate enough.

The room is HUGE by European standards. I had a city view room that faced Tivoli and the city center. Decent view and I loved the large windows overlooking the city. The beds are the traditional Marriott beds, and they are oh so comfortable. It's so relaxing after a long day. Evening turn down service included lychee mints and lemon pepper white chocolate. The bottled water in the room is ridiculously expensive -- close to $8.00. Better bring your own or drink tap water. There's a mini bar in the room, most snacks are 20-40dkk. I can't even imagine what the liquor costs. There wasn't a posted price list. The bathroom is nice sized and beautifully appointed. The water pressure is substanital and the bathtub is deeper than most in the US. The bathroom is well lit, too. There were plenty of outlets for plugging things in, and converters are available from the front desk for a deposit.

The location is about a 7-10 minute walk from the Central Train Station and Tivoli Gardens and 10-15 minutes from the city center. There is a community bicycle "station" across from the hotel, which is really nice. You simply put in a 20DKK coin to release the bicycle, and when you return it, you get your coin back. Very easy for getting around the city.

I didn't try the on-site restaurant or the room service, but both are available in the hotel. There aren't a lot of restaurants nearby, but there are less expensive options near the train station and within a short walk.

The staff was incredibly friendly, and everyone I encountered spoke English very well. I also noticed that the front desk staff was well versed in other Scandic languages, French, and German, so they can accomodate many people without a lanaguage barrier.

Business center internet is a bit pricy at 3euro for 15 minutes. You can do much better using the internet point in the train station.

Great stay -- I would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norridge, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

I used points to stay here for two nights prior to boarding the Emerald Princess. As a Platinum member I had access to the concierge lounge at no cost. The happy hour spread was enough for dinner and included alcoholic beverages. Breakfasts were also excellent. The hotel arranges a bus for $20 to take you directly to the Emerald Princess which made it easy to get to the ship. We had a room facing the city with great views of Tivoli Gardens. Although the location is somewhat out of the way - unless you want to go to Tivoli - it is not bad and is walkable. I do not recommend the city tour they offer. The room was like all Marriott rooms in the U.S. except no coffeemaker. It has a fitness center. It is used by Princess cruises for their pre and post cruise packages so it can get very crowded on cruise days. The value for the number of points used was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copenhagen Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Marriott Hotel

Address: Kalvebod Brygge 5, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Copenhagen Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its windows on the quaint harbor in Denmark's capital, the fully air-conditioned Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, voted as Denmark's Leading business hotel 2007, captures the charm of this fairytale city. Beyond the doors of this luxury Copenhagen hotel are our city's most beloved sights, all within a 20-minute stroll. Inside our doors, you'll find spacious guest rooms offering exquisite views, luxurious bedding with down comforters, rich linens, a desk and high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copenhagen Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Copenhagen
Copenhagen Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.