We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice rooms. not a great location. fairly good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Copenhagen Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalvebod Brygge 5, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“nice rooms. not a great location. fairly good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

the rooms were of a fairly good size. housekeeping didn't leave extra towels or new shampoo, so had to ask for them each day. nice breakfast, but checking in to get the meal was a bit of a pain, with a long line, and inefficient person doing the check-in. location is near tivoli, but otherwise, is not in a very central location. view from was nice on one side, but not great in other room we had

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    733
    252
    95
    49
See reviews for
378
618
80
356
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed at the Marriott twice on business. Rooms are large by European standards with comfortable bed. Within walking distance to city center and Fisketorvet, a large shopping mall with movie theater and food court. Hotel restaurants are expensive (eating out in general is expensive in Copenhagen) but there are cheaper alternatives (Andersen Bakery across from Central Station has yummy pastries, croissants and sandwiches...good for breakfast and lunch) and many restaurants to choose from near the Central Station (about 15 minutes walk). Enjoyed strolling on the waterfront promenade with awesome canal view. Check-in and check-out were quick and efficient both times. Taxis are always plentiful and available outside hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

it must be an old hotel, localization is ok - close by to the main train station (10-12 min on foot), but remote to the city center. Understanding that Copenhagen is expensive as such, this hotel can be absurdly expensive. No personal touch, bath tub was not draining, remote had dead batteries - small things that got fixed, nevertheless, it is not what Marriott category 8 hotel should be. Executive lounge very limited - small, poor selection of snacks, drinks. Again, not worth the money you are spending on it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurentiu L, Guest Relations Manager at Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Copenhagen Marriott Hotel!

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. Your comments have been communicated to those departments involved and shared with the management team in order to proactively be used to enhance the hotel product and service.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Marriott Hotel in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed for a week in June using Copenhagen as a base to explore Denmark. The Hotel is well situated with good views of the canal and close to Central Station. We were on the 11th Executive Floor. The Executive Lounge is a disappointment - too small and frequently overcrowded. Do not use the telephone unless you have to, expensive even for local calls.

Room Tip: Higher the better, try and get a room overlooking the canal, facing south east, as more interesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Location ok, by the water and a ten minute walk to Tivoli. Hotel room fairly big, nothing else to day about it. Over bath shower, no warm water one morning. We stayed on 11th floor Executive level with the laughable use of the Executive lounge. This is a not very big room with few tables and chairs and some sofas and was absolutely packed when we tried to have a glass of wine on our first evening, but if you want a warm glass of Chardonnay and stand up then it's for you. Breakfast oh dear, just awful, again packed and god knows why, 2 cereal, a small bowl if fruit, 2 plates if croissants and think there were a few pastries and some cold crispy bacon cold sausages and pre cooked scrambled eggs. We left, such a waste of money seriously don't bother with the Exec rooms. Even if you did want to tuck into this hideous fare, you are likely to have to sit on a sofa hunched over your plate..... We asked at reception if we could get breakfast elsewhere in the hotel and were told that we could but we'd have to pay, not even could we get it supplemented as we'd paid extra for the Exec level. We asked for a later check out as my husband was speaking in a conference in the afternoon and we had a late flight so he'd want to change into his suit early afternoon and out it afterwards They allowed an extra hour..... But even that they couldn't get right. When we tried to get into our room within the permitted extra hour the room key wouldn't work so he had to go down to reception where he had to wait then provide ID no apology and he was almost made late..... The bar staff are very nice and professional and the outside patio area is nice looking out to the river. The spa was ok. I had an ok treatment. We travel a lot and have visited a couple of Marriotts before but won't return to another. We felt ripped off with the Executive level and the service as I've mentioned not great and room average. This was a part business part relaxing break.

Room Tip: Do NOT bother with Executive level - waste of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurentiu L, Guest Relations Manager at Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Copenhagen Marriott Hotel!

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your kind words about our bar personnel and our water facing patio area.

Secondly, I regret to hear about the disappointing experience you had with the Executive Lounge. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Marriott Hotel, next time you are travelling to Copenhagen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed in this property for a few days on the way to lapland.
Property was clean, very nice location, good breakfast and beautiful view of the river.
Rooms were spacious and clean. Only heads up; sometimes the shower water ain't as "warm" as you would like it to be.
I had to take a cold shower, in January (you can imagine how cold the city was if you've been to Europe in jan). After complaining, they sent a plumber, who didn't do much and instead tried to convince me (literally shivering from the cold by then) that the water is just "fine"!!
We made them change our room, but hotel didn't even offer an apology or compensation.
Very unlike a marriott!
But otherwise, not too bad of a place!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurentiu L, Guest Relations Manager at Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay in January at the Copenhagen Marriott Hotel!

I appreciate your positive comments regarding our property, its location, the rooms and the Midtown Grill restaurant. Please allow me to extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced with the hot water during your stay. This matter has been addressed and rectified by our Engineering department.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Marriott Hotel in the near future and ensure you have a pleasant stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

In Copenhagen for 3 days following a cruise. As a Marriott Rewards member (GOLD) wanted to both use points and obtain the perks of GOLD. Did check out other hotels but now usually looking for a Marriott chain, together with reviews on Trip Advisor and great location chose this Marriott. So glad we did! They were fully booked and did not get the 'upgrade' to Executive level (floors 10 and 11) but did have our access to Executive lounge - Continental PLUS (eggs, bacon, sausages) as well as usual fruits, breads etc. Hors D'heuves in evening with beer/wine. Only criticism is that area is TOO SMALL and to my surprise allowed children.
Hotel itself is very well appointed. They did give us a lovely room on floor 9 with water view -which would DEFINITELY be a preferred view! Nice bottle of champagne in room acknowledging my wife's birthday - nice touch,
Staff very professional yet warm and helpful.
Would definitely recommend and return
Well appointed rooms and spacious (300 sq.ft)
Copenhagen is one of the most, if not the, expensive cities in Europe(world, maybe) and prices of hotels, restaurants reflect this - be forewarned!

Room Tip: High as possible and water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copenhagen Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Marriott Hotel

Address: Kalvebod Brygge 5, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#17 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Copenhagen Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its windows on the quaint harbor in Denmark's capital, the fully air-conditioned Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, voted as Denmark's Leading business hotel 2007, captures the charm of this fairytale city. Beyond the doors of this luxury Copenhagen hotel are our city's most beloved sights, all within a 20-minute stroll. Inside our doors, you'll find spacious guest rooms offering exquisite views, luxurious bedding with down comforters, rich linens, a desk and high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Copenhagen Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Copenhagen
Copenhagen Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.