We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Copenhagen Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalvebod Brygge 5, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #20 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Copenhagen because this was one of the hotels recommended by our cruise line (Norwegian). We were going on a Baltic cruise and we decided to spend 2 nights in Copenhagen so we could at least explore the city. We had a pleasant stay at this hotel and it is a good idea to stay here if you are joining a cruise because this is one of the main pick-up point of transfers to the port. The 2 nights we spent here was very nice. The room that they gave us had a view of the river and was very spacious, clean and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was always clean and was spacious as well. The lobby offered free wi-fi and they have a nice bar with outside seating. The location is not very central but you can walk to the important sites. I was very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    732
    252
    95
    49
See reviews for
377
617
80
356
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

First, the good points (and there are many). Like all Marriotts, you're greeted by the smiling portait photos of J Willard Marriott pere et fils and by a gleaming, and expansive, lobby which, in the case of their Copenhagen property, extends two floors to give a soaring, light-filled atrium overlooking the broad expanse of the Havnebad on which scullers, rowers generally, small boats and some ferries constantly ply. The ground floor entry is also the location of the Midtown Grill and the Pier 5 Bar and Lounge. The latter is the sole restaurant in this large hotel (a bad point) and is the venue for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The latter serves drinks and bar foods, including tapas-like repasts. Also in the Lobby is a small kiosk, unattended so far as I could tell each time I walked by, selling good postcards (10 kronor each), sweets, a small selection of toiletries, overpriced cuff links and some Marriott-logo'd merchandise.
The hotel is a short three-block level walk to the main railway station, where you will find a great variety of foods to eat in or take away, wines, water, toiletries, a very large and helpful Post Office, Western Union and even a shoemaker/locksmith! One block earlier - i.e. two blocks from the Marriott, is the famous Tivoli which is a combination of Coney Island and Carnegie Hall: it's that kind of place. Best of all, the Hotel is one of the stopping points for the City Sightseeing "hop-on/hop-off" buses, which are THE best (certainly the cheapest) way to see all the essential sights in and around Copenhagen.
The Marriott rooms are superb: spacious, great beds, in-room safe, computer access, the usual flat screen TV, a moldest range of bathroom amenities which, to my surprise, does NOT include conditioner (why?) although it includes shampoo.
Now for the bad points: it seems to be the ONLY hotel (chain?) in Europe that does not provide free computer access for those not carrying their own notebook. We've been to four and five-star hotels the past seven weeks in Greece, Italy, Germany, HUngary and the Czech Republic, and this is the first hotel requiring payment (a hefty 100 Danish kronor for an hour) to use the computers in the Lobby. Another gripe: it's also the only hotel that did NOT provide a daily 0.33L bottle of water as a matter of course. Again, why not? It's these little things that detract from the excellence of the rest of the experience.
Like all of Scandinavia, food and drink prices are eye-watering. In the Pier 5 Bar and Lounge, for example, a "Marriott Burger" costs DAK 180, a Club Sandwich DAK 160, a Caesar Salad DAK 105, with a grilled side portion (chicken, tiger prawns, salmon) another DAK 35. In the MidTown Grill, American Rib-Eye sets you back DAK 350, Danish 200g fillet DAK 285, 300g DAK 349, Grilled Lemon Sole DAK 265, and side dishes (french fries, pureed potato etc DAK 40 per portion).
Would I stay here again? Definitely, unless I wanted to be closer to Nyhavn, where all the action really is and close to where the cruise ships leave. As I say, it's the little things they omit - or charge for - that annoy and detract from what otherwise is a memorable experience.

Room Tip: I(f you can, ask for a room overlooking the generally placid waters of the Havnebad. But even the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

A very nice hotel - your basic Marriott. In full disclosure, I used points to stay here - otherwise I likely would have stayed somewhere less expensive and closer to nightlife. Because of my Marriott status (gold) I got free breakfast, happy hour (beer and wine), internet and a room on the canal. The breakfast was nicer than I expected (bacon and eggs, etc.) and we really enjoyed the canal facing room.

We used a Copenhagen card for attractions/transportation, and from that standpoint the hotel was very convenient for transportation. The 9A bus stopped just around the corner, and on the return right in front of the hotel. Just up the street 700-800 yards or so was the main train station, where the 9A made a stop. We caught S-trains to other parts of the city. Just as importantly, the side entrance to Tivoli was directly across from the station. We went to Tivoli three nights in a row and the bus back to the hotel was a snap. The main downside to the hotel was that there's not much in its immediate vicinity. Yes, you can walk to many of the attractions in town (or most of them if you don't mind walking), but I'm referring to bars and restaurants. We were there five nights and most of the time we were elsewhere in the city (e.g., Tivoli) so it wasn't a big deal, but if you don't want to eat at the hotel or take a cab or bus, there's little nearby.

Room Tip: The city view side is nothing to get excited about. The canal side is definitely better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york,new york
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night prior to taking a baltic cruise, and was expecting a serviceable, average hotel.Maybe this was from viewing exterior pictures of hotel which were quite pedestrian.Anyhow, we checked in and was greeted by a great staff(that was expected as Denmark could have the friendliest people in the world), and was given a room on the club level with a great water view. The hotel room was wonderful, modern, luxurious and anything but ordinary. The club offered a wonderful choice of wines, beers, and appetizers, and we actually skipped dinner, before finally going out around 10.00 pm. The concierge was very helpful, even though he was deluged with cruise travelers. Everyone at the hotel kept their cool and happy faces, even when dealing with impatient guests. We were pleasantly surprised to say the least and would definitely stay there again. Would have loved a pool on rooftop, but hey, if that's your only complaint, you've had a good stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahului, Hawaii
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a two day stay in CPH and thoroughly enjoyed the town and hotel!! This hotel is very nice with comfortable, quiet and clean rooms that were welcoming after a long day. The hotel lobby area was crowded as the hotel was hosting a conference but the staff remained very helpful and congenial. The bar area and gym were very nice (4 stars for each). The breakfast buffet was also very very good! The hotel is located within walking distance to the train station, Tivoli and Old Town (well within one mile). The hotel also sits on the water with a beautiful walkway that can be used to for a leisurely stroll to Nyhavn. A boat cruise launch is also nearby. There are also many very good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hotel amazing, staff could not do enough. Room was large and beautiful. My husband celebrated his birthday while there. We came back from a day out to find a bottle of champagne & card wishing him happy birthday from the staff at the Marriott, which was a lovely gesture.

Copenhagen is a wonderful city to see. We went in March and were disappointed to find Tivoli Gardens not open until the end of the month. However the boat trips (which have heaters on board) very cold -15 while we were there & bus trips are well worth doing.

Copenhagen is expensive but so are most European cities, but the service in the bars & restaurants that we visited was excellent.

There is not a lot to say about the hotel as we could not find any faults, we did not use the Spa but saw lots of people who did.

Room Tip: we were at the front of the hotel ceiling to floor glass windows looking out of the city. No noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights in Copenhagen prior to boarding the Silver Sea Whisper for a Baltic cruise. The accommodations were really very comfortable, the hotel is in a terrific location to reach the Copenhagen shopping district and the front desk and concierge staff were extraordinarily helpful. The Club Floors are worth the additional expense. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: One can ask for (and upgrade to) a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copenhagen Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Marriott Hotel

Address: Kalvebod Brygge 5, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Copenhagen Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its windows on the quaint harbor in Denmark's capital, the fully air-conditioned Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, voted as Denmark's Leading business hotel 2007, captures the charm of this fairytale city. Beyond the doors of this luxury Copenhagen hotel are our city's most beloved sights, all within a 20-minute stroll. Inside our doors, you'll find spacious guest rooms offering exquisite views, luxurious bedding with down comforters, rich linens, a desk and high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Copenhagen Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Copenhagen
Copenhagen Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.