We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a wonderful experience of us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Copenhagen Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalvebod Brygge 5, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #19 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“It was a wonderful experience of us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a "weekend getaway" here, and the we are still affected by the experience after 3 weeks. We booked a junior suite which was wonderful. We had free snacks in the Executive Longes. The suite had a view of the river running next door (or was it a canal, I am not sure, but it was beautiful anyway!). Despite being freezing outside, we were very comfortable inside. Breakfast was great, with the best juices I have had ever! They were definitely original and not diluted-down versions. Be careful of the omelletes, not that they are not good, but it appears that in Denmark they like their meat salty, so choose what you put in carefully.

Room Tip: A junior suite is well worth it, especially next to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    785
    271
    99
    52
See reviews for
407
655
86
395
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at Copenhagen Marriott over 5 nights this February. It exceeded my expectations on nearly every count. The room was large, comfortable and impeccably clean, with a fine view across Christianshavn to the Malmo bridge. The hotel was a busy, family-oriented place on Saturday and Sunday, but distinctly business-focused during the week. Impressively, the staff kept track of me despite the ebb and flow of other guests. Theatre tickets, restaurant reservations, train and bus recommendations all were courteously arranged when I asked for them. The breakfast was plentiful, full of variety, and--importantly--available for 5 hours every morning. Taxis were always parked in front. The gym was large and well-equipped. I must offer special thanks to the housekeeping staff: twice a day, they made the room sparkle. In short, I'd come right back the next time I'm in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I must admit I was a bit disappointed, as this hotel didn't meet my expectations. The location is fine, about 10-15 minutes walk from the city and the staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are of good size and the beds are comfortable. The check-in however was very slow, and the breakfast room felt pretty small and crowded. WiFi isn't free either, you have to pay 150 DKK per 24 hours. Just didn't quite feel like the 5 star hotel it claims to be.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Got a top notch room on the executive floor (10th) facing the harbor. Everything was just excellent, service while cheking in, restaurant, breakfast etc.

I really enjoyed the view of the harbor and the lights of the city in the evening was of course great as well.

I will make a point of getting back here asap to experience it again.

Hotel is close to the main train station (about 10 min walk) and there are busses almost right in-front of hotel as well. You will reach the pedestrian street (Ströget) in about 10-15 minutes if walking, where most of the stores and restaurants are located.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor facing room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel failed to meet my expectations.
Booked a room including executive floor access and that was a mistake.
There are 2 lounges, one on the top floor, which is somewhat nice - but it has no food.
The 2nd lounge on the ground floor serves food but has highly uncomfortable seats and was terribly decorated (looks like a cheap restaurant room). I considered spending 2 hours there, but simply "escaped" the room. Also the hotel location could be better. The staff was ok, not superb either. An ok choice, not excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
440 reviews 440 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

When you said "Marriot" you expect certain things. A great bed, comfortable rooms and good breakfast. Thats usual, thats a must. But this hotel has a lot more to give. The cleanliness is outstanding (something that Marriot tens to overlook) and the rooms always seems new and shiny.

The staff is useful but the most "friendly" staff ever but that seem a little cultural to the place rather to the hotel. The common areas are very nit but they were almost all the time empty and the staff was always taking 3 positions at a time.

Still has a really nice location in the river, easy to reach the city and close by to the mall and sightseeing places. Pretty easy to move around also.

Room Tip: Even number rooms have a waterfront view and its lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I couldn't complain about the spacious bedroom and big comfortable bed, it's what you expect when you book a Marriott hotel. However, we were disappointed with this unfriendly and unhelpful experience.
Arriving tired and cold on a snowy February night, we were met with complete indifference by the man on duty. He demanded my credit card AND PIN desite my already having paid in advance, and when I questioned this, he told me that it was 'normal in Copenhagen due to fraud'. I asked (as normal) if there were any concessions or benefits on offer for Silver members (there often are in UK hotels) and he sneeringly replied that 'sometimes those with Gold or Platinum cards are allowed to use the executive lounge'.
I had requested a waterside view when I booked the room, he told me this was only available if I paid a big excess.
Once we got to our room, unpacked etc and tried to have a shower we found there was no hot water.
We had to get dressed and go down to the lobby. The man in duty didn't apologise, he just told us that there was no plumber available and we would have to move across the landing to a different room.
There was no offer of help to move all our stuff and we had to check ourselves to see if there was hot water there before doing so...finally we had a waterside room....we didn't see or hear anyone else ...so there were rooms available ..they just wanted you to pay more for them.
Next day our key cards didn't work and again no apology, just indifference from the woman on the desk, 'it often happens', she said.
We tried to get information about attractions but were met with thinly veiled irritation. Eventually we found leaflets in the hotel lobby but they had not been pointed out.
(It's worth mentioning that it is a good 15minute walk to the central station, quite difficult if the weather is bad and you have bags/kids and maybe worth a taxi fare).
What a shame...we have had so many wonderful stays in Marriott hotels...staff have always been great and this has helped make a holiday special. We found the Danish people friendly and helpful wherever we went...except at the Marriott??!!

Room Tip: Fantastic views on higher floors...don't expect a waterside room unless you pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copenhagen Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Marriott Hotel

Address: Kalvebod Brygge 5, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#17 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Copenhagen Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its windows on the quaint harbor in Denmark's capital, the fully air-conditioned Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, voted as Denmark's Leading business hotel 2007, captures the charm of this fairytale city. Beyond the doors of this luxury Copenhagen hotel are our city's most beloved sights, all within a 20-minute stroll. Inside our doors, you'll find spacious guest rooms offering exquisite views, luxurious bedding with down comforters, rich linens, a desk and high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Copenhagen Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Copenhagen
Copenhagen Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.