We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Concierge Lounge in a super location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Copenhagen Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalvebod Brygge 5, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #18 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Concierge Lounge in a super location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is an excellent hotel within 8 minute walking distance of the train station and Tivoli. It is located along the water front canal close to several bridges. There is a public bus stop right in front of the hotel. You can walk to most downtown attractions within 30 minutes. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We left a suitcase at the hotel for 10 days and picked it up before boarding our next cruise-very nice!
The lobby is lovely with big canal views. There are rental bikes at the hotel and a free bike stand across the street-just put in 20 kroners and get them back when you return the bike. The rooms are typical Marriott-very nicely done but not over the top. There was no swimming pool but an excellent sauna and steam room. The exercise facility was fine but we never used it after walking all day.
One of the best features of this hotel was its Concierge Lounges. Unlike most USA Marriott Concierge Lounges, this one is open all weekend with a fabulous breakfast, afternoon treats, and an evening assortment of hot and cold food as well as free beer and wine-what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Ask for a water front room and watch the boat activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    782
    270
    98
    52
See reviews for
406
654
86
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
raleigh
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We arrived early after our trans Atlantic flight and were promptly upgraded to an exceptionally quiet room with king bed (have Marriott Platinum status). We had the choice of waiting for a river view room but chose to take the first available with a pleasant city view; stayed 1 night prior to our cruise. Room was above average in size and even had tasty in-room coffee! Bathroom was ample size with boutique style toiletries. Artwork hanging was very impressive throughout the hotel. All public areas were smartly decorated with extensive seating areas for both lively social chatter and private banter.
Took a 3hr power nap then headed off to Tivoli Gardens, a mere 15min stroll away; the city center is less than a 30min walk and well worth it, very scenic! The Concierge Club was open when we returned, where we were treated to complimentary beer, wine and snacks - overlooking the waterway below, grand view! The health club is average size with not much equipment variety, no pool.The staff was mostly very helpful both upon arrival and checkout - though the concierge was clueless about taxi fares - which are very expensive, plan to pay more than they advise! The exchange rate with USD was about 5:1; with a 20-25% tax on nearly all food, drink, trinkets plus the higher cost of living, it's an expensive place to visit! Overall, this Marriott is an ideal spot in Copenhagen with choice location.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor, specify a quiet room, always ask for a free upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Copenhagen Marriott Hotel this week. The hotel seems to be new. It is very modern.
My room was beautiful. It had a great view of the river.
There is a very nice jogging trail along the river.
The restaurant served an amazing buffet breakfast.
The bar was very nice too. There were three flat screen TVs for sports. The bar was very spacious.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
A very nice place to stay. A little pricey though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We loved this property. We saw a few complaints about location....WE LOVED THE LOCATION. Three or four blocks from the central train station, and 15 minute walk from Nyhaven and many other great spots. We never took a cab! Cab fares in Copenhagen are expensive! The concierge was awesome and the bartenders had great dining recommendations. The concierge lounge on the 11th floor had great evening appetizers. Large rooms, great views of canal (even numbered rooms). Also, excellent running maps!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms overlook canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed four nights at Marriott Hotel. It was my first time in Copenhagen so I decided to book Executive floor and room with water view.
Everything was wonderful; service, food and drinks in the lounge. Rooms were large and comfortable, spacious bathrooms and beautiful views.
Yes, you pay more but it was worth it because you have your breakfast, coffee and drinks all day long, sweets at 3:30pm, appetisers at 5:30pm with wine or beer. Thanks to Marriott, my holiday was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very friendly and efficient staff; the lady at the front desk welcomed us in a very amicable fashion, after a long transatlantic flight and one connection to Copenhagen. Do not expect any assistance with your luggage upon arrival, however there are luggage carts that (I presume) are for self-service.

This property is only a short walk to beautiful Tivoli Gardens (10 minutes at a slow pace), which we enjoyed on a Sunday.

Nyhavn, a very picturesque area in Copenhagen, full of restaurants, shops and cafes on the harbour is at a good 30-40 minutes walking, there is a special mini-bus which takes you to the most popular touristic attractions of the city, it does pass close to the hotel, however it is not easy to find information about this route. Bus routes are somewhat confusing, and they accept only local currency; we did not find ticket-vending machines on bus stops or anywhere nearby. There is the choice of taking a cab (very expensive) or even rent a bicycle and enjoy of the extraordinary infrastructure that the city offers to cyclists.

The rooms are of good size and well-appointed; beds are comfortable. Food at the restaurant/ buffet is very good, although they do not offer a very big assortment, the choices you have are well-prepared and of excellent quality.

In conclusion, I would very much recommend this hotel, which offers good quality services, friendly staff, clean premises, good food, and a centric location.

Room Tip: If you do not mind spending some extra money, do look for a room with a view to the river, it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We liked our sunny, decent-sized room with a nice view of one of the city's many canals and bathing beach across the water. It was clean and comfortable.

We were able to walk to the Stroget, about 10 or 15 minutes away, and to the Nyhavn harbor area on the opposite end of the narrow, winding cobblestone streets. But the hotel is isolated, with no shops, restaurants or pedestrian traffic on the streets close by. And we took taxis to get back from Nyhavn and to and from the places where we dined.

The concierge desk seemed well staffed throughout the day and was helpful in recommending a good restaurant for dinner at the last moment when that night's advance reservation could not be confirmed.

Copenhagen, like other Scandinavian cities, is expensive, so the hotel, while not cheap, seemed to be a pretty good option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copenhagen Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Marriott Hotel

Address: Kalvebod Brygge 5, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Copenhagen Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its windows on the quaint harbor in Denmark's capital, the fully air-conditioned Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, voted as Denmark's Leading business hotel 2007, captures the charm of this fairytale city. Beyond the doors of this luxury Copenhagen hotel are our city's most beloved sights, all within a 20-minute stroll. Inside our doors, you'll find spacious guest rooms offering exquisite views, luxurious bedding with down comforters, rich linens, a desk and high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Copenhagen Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Copenhagen
Copenhagen Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.