We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“platinum members beware” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Copenhagen Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalvebod Brygge 5, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #16 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
sugarloaf shores fl
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“platinum members beware”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

having stayed in Marriotts all over the world, I must say this hotel left our visit somewhat short. We arrived on a Fri. late summer, being a Marriott Platinum we were assigned the execuitive level room--no problem. Unfortunately upon checking in the morning of arrivial we were greeted by a pandomonium of other cruise ship passengers, with luggage piled every where. Seems that several cruise lines use this hotel for their passengers both before and after the cruise. Therefore the executive level lounge often did not have enough seating. In fact this lounge did not even have a hotel phone so that one could call and check on status of room or receive any messages from within the hotel or from afar. I assumed that from the volume of people in the lounge, they were not Platinum members, but cruise passengers that got the lounge priveleges as a result of this association. In general housekeeping also left something to be desired. There was the same piece of trash in the hall on our floor for three days & our room received turn down service as a note and a couple of chocolates, not to mention the plate and dirty glasses that should have been picked up but were not.
Other hotel personel seemed to be trying hard, however with the hoards of people somewhat tough to accomplish. Things might be totally different in the off season, but during cruise time I would probably avoid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    696
    239
    89
    46
See reviews for
352
584
80
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our wonderful trip began with our stay in Copenhagen at the Marriot Hotel. The staff was warm and helpful. Our view of the canal was beautiful. The hop on hop off bus was right in front of the hotel and the canal tour boat was right in back. Really perfect! At first I thought the hotel was not centrally located but as I got to know the city it is just slightly on the outskirts was we found it easy to walk to where we wanted to go. I would highly recommend this hotel. Everyone in Copenhagen and especially in this hotel made our trip a most pleasant and memorable one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view.They were very accommodating when we requested early check in and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We' ve got a nice room with beatiful water view. The hotel has a great bar and restaurant. I recommend renting a bike from the hotel for 24hrs and enjoy it day and night. Its the best way to visit all around the city.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 Nights, staff at the check-in counter were so helpful and very friendly, the Concierge staff were very friendly and more than professional,
Housekeeping staff were very corporative, rooms are spotless clean the location is just perfect.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Harbor View Rooms - Spectacular View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to our cruise and 1 night after the cruise. Both times we arrived at the hotel early (about 8:30am) and they had a room on the executive floor ready for us. We were able to check in and enjoy the complimentary breakfast in the lounge. My only complaint with the hotel is that while the complementary refreshments were very good, it was often crowded in the lounge. Both stays we were put in city view rooms. I actually enjoyed the view of the city and Tivoli. On the 2nd stay, almost immediately after checking in, I noticed that the hand held shower device was not attached and was hanging and also the toilet did not flush properly. I called the front desk and within minutes the front desk attendant was at our door with a key for the waterfront room directly across the hall and a bellman to move our luggage. I was very impressed with the customer service.
The rooms, and lobby were immaculate. We ordered room service twice for a picky vegetarian and they were very accommodating with her special orders, the service was quick and the food was good. I thought that the location was good. We were lucky enough to have perfect weather and I found the walks to Nyhvn, Amalienborg Palace, and Rosenberg Castle very easy and pleasant.
We used the fitness center twice on this trip. It was large, well equipped and not crowded.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is one of the nicest 5* hotels I've experienced in Europe (more like a 4* in the US but still very nice). There is a hefty price tag to accompany the luxury, however most all hotels seem to be very expensive in Copenhagen. We were offered an upgrade when we checked in for around 88 USD per night to include an executive room, access to the executive lounge with free breakfast & happy hour with beer, wine & snacks, free WIFI, and free mini bar. It was well worth it given how much we would have paid just for WIFI and breakfast, so we were glad we didn't book the B&B rate beforehand. The room was clean, the bedding was very comfortable and the waterfront view was perfect. The location could not have been better. It was a very close walk to the central train station, Tivoli, the Glyptotek, Stroget and a quick bus ride (or 20 minute or so walk) to Nyhavn. We purchased our tickets for Tivoli through the hotel since they offered the multi-ride pass for 160 DKK instead of 199 DKK like the park. That was a nice bonus. We chose to arrange for an express checkout as recommended by another reviewer when we checked in. There wasn't a line to check out since we were checking out at 1:00pm on a Monday, but it still helped to be able to look over the bill before getting to the desk. Overall we were very happy with our experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Bellmen were the only efficient part of this hotel. They were friendly and fast. Check in and Check out were painfully slow (in line for 20 minutes). The hotel is the pre/post place for cruises and it seems everyone arrives at the same time. Rooms are ready at 4pm. Don't show up early hoping to get in. The room was a standard Marriott room, but we did have a nice view of the water. There was mildew in the shower. I reported it to the manager of the hotel on the second day, expecting that she would have housekeeping clean it. It was in between the tiles and around the caulk line. When we returned that night, they had removed all the caulk and replaced it and left a note not to use the shower along with a bottle of wine and a note that we were welcome to change rooms. It was 11:30. To add insult to injury, they had not cleaned the mildew in all the tile grout. All they had to do was spray some tilex on it and there was caulk and dirt all over the bathroom floor.
Now, the bar and the restaurant. Just don't bother. Rude bartender, rude hostess, bad drinks and mediocre food. Oh, and wi-fi is expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copenhagen Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Marriott Hotel

Address: Kalvebod Brygge 5, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Copenhagen Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its windows on the quaint harbor in Denmark's capital, the fully air-conditioned Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, voted as Denmark's Leading business hotel 2007, captures the charm of this fairytale city. Beyond the doors of this luxury Copenhagen hotel are our city's most beloved sights, all within a 20-minute stroll. Inside our doors, you'll find spacious guest rooms offering exquisite views, luxurious bedding with down comforters, rich linens, a desk and high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copenhagen Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Copenhagen
Copenhagen Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.