We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, bright room with Waterfront View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Copenhagen Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalvebod Brygge 5, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off
Ranked #16 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful, bright room with Waterfront View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We are here for two nights prior to our cruise. After reading some of the negative reviews I was cautious about staying here but decided the Marriott brand was dependable. It is!! We checked in at about two pm. Our room was ready. The front desk lady was very nice and welcoming. The gentleman who assisted with our luggage was friendly and cheerful. Our room is spacious, bright, clean and well stocked. We have a magnificent view of the waterway with the park across the water. Yesterday people were kayaking, boating and sunning themselves along the riverfront. Last night there was a concert with a Bon fire and fireworks. Spectacular entertainment right from our hotel room.

We were tired from travel. We strolled to Nyhaven, which is a pleasant, 15 minute walk along the water. We had lunch there. A jazz festival was happening. Everyone was dancing to the DixieLand Band. Children and adults were dancing, laughing, enjoying the music and the day. Lovely!!

When we returned from our walk we napped until about 9 pm. We went to the executive lounge on the 11th floor where they serve complimentary beer and wine. Even though he was technically "closed" the host offered us our choice of beverage. He was very kind. We then made it downstairs to seek a restaurant, but the front desk told us most restaurants close by 10 pm. We decided to order from the bar at the hotel, which stopped serving at 11. It was 10:58:40 - we had 20 seconds to order! Our server put in the order for fish and chips and a club sandwich. The food was good. The fries were too good! We know they're not healthy but they were cooked perfectly. We had a glass of wine as a night cap and retreated to our very soft, cozy bed.

Breakfast in the lounge was plentiful, with a good variety. Since this is Sunday it was quite crowded up there but all was well.

The Internet wireless works without a glitch. The outdoor space on the water front is comfortable. People are lounging there day and night.

This is a great hotel, great location, great service. I highly recommend it. Don't let those bad reviews scare you off! Definitely try to get a room with a river view. The city view is ok, because you can see Tivoli Gardens rides in the distance and the church spires. Basically, you can't go wrong with this hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    709
    242
    91
    46
See reviews for
356
597
80
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for three nights and thought it was a lovely hotel. We had a large room overlooking the river. The shower is a bit snug but the water pressure is superb. The beds were typical very comfortable Marriott quality. The city center is about 15-20 min walk, not too bad. We took a canal tour which you can get right behind the hotel. Copenhagen is expensive, so beware. We had a marvelous lunch at Radio, which is a 10-15 cab ride from the hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

This is a generally pleasant hotel but it can seem at times tired. The harbour view rooms at least give you pleasant evening scenery to relax by. The room service, however, is quite pushy and it can feel like you are imposing on them by making any requests. By all means, it's a pleasant enough hotel for Copenhagen but this is solely as a result of the limited choice on offer. I would suggest the Marriott chain takes a look at how the Sheraton and Starwood businesses operate and learn some lessons.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This place loves to "nickel and dime" the guests. Ask if a water view is available. And receive a sneering, "yes, for a few hundred more." Ask for internet and see what happens. It is the most expensive in the world. Worth the trip just to experience that! Ha!

Room Tip: Look for a friendlier hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here both before as well as after a recent Baltic cruise, and we found it ideal in every way. To begin with, we were able to take the train from the airport to the central station, and simply walk to the hotel from there. (We dropped our luggage and hopped on a hop-on / hop-off river boat, which stops right at the hotel, for a very thorough and leisurely water tour of the city.)

Our room, #1036, overlooked the river and was larger than most rooms I've ever been in Europe. We got back to the hotel in time to enjoy their executive lounge, which we found more than satisfying. The bath was spacious, with separate bath and glass shower, and the room had everything we needed or wanted (flat screen TV, coffee maker, very comfortable furniture and bedding) except a converter for US appliances (which the front desk provided free of charge anyway).

We checked out the next morning and had them hold our luggage while we toured the city some more. We got back around 3:00pm, hopped in one of the ever-present cabs, and took the ten-minute ride to the cruise terminal where we walked right on the ship (totally avoiding the thousands of folks who were there for the 1:00 boarding start).

We went back there for another day upon disembarkation, and it was an equally enjoyable experience. We chose to take a cab back to the airport the next day, and it was a quick, straight shot.

If we're ever back in Copenhagen this is the only place we'd consider staying at.

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view face to the East, so there's no afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel is exactly what you would expect from a Marriott - clean and comfortable but with a relatively high price tag to match.

I stayed here with my mum and Gran and booked for three adults, when we arrived we were given a room with two Queen size beds - when I complained that we were expecting a bed each I was told that they do not do rooms for three people and that two of us would need to share. I would expect that if this is the case it should be made clear when the room is booked. We ended up with an additional small camp bed - it was fine but I did feel a bit short changed so bear this in mind if you are looking for a big room.

We didnt try the breakfast and the location was very convenient just a short walk from the main station and Tivoli Gardens.

Overall we had a pleasant stay and the hotel was very clean and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

As another reviewer said, we did have to wait several hours to get a room assignment (arrived in the morning), and the first reception clerk we encountered was rather nasty to my husband. However, we left our luggage and went off on foot to see some of the nearby tourist sites. The hotel is a very short walk from the Tivoli Gardens and City Hall area. We happily walked for miles and ended up seeing a very large part of the old town area before returning to the hotel.
When we arrived back, my husband was greeted cheerfully by a very gracious reception clerk, and we were given a lovely room with a river view. The concierge and bellman were also gracious and helpful. Our room was very nice and recently redecorated. The bathroom was modern and clean with a tub and a separate shower enclosed in glass. We enjoyed the executive lounge's breakfasts and afternoon refreshments thoroughly.

Room Tip: I believe the river view is preferable, but our friends had the opposite side of the building, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copenhagen Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Marriott Hotel

Address: Kalvebod Brygge 5, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Copenhagen Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its windows on the quaint harbor in Denmark's capital, the fully air-conditioned Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, voted as Denmark's Leading business hotel 2007, captures the charm of this fairytale city. Beyond the doors of this luxury Copenhagen hotel are our city's most beloved sights, all within a 20-minute stroll. Inside our doors, you'll find spacious guest rooms offering exquisite views, luxurious bedding with down comforters, rich linens, a desk and high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copenhagen Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Copenhagen
Copenhagen Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.