We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“executive lounge nice for family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Copenhagen Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalvebod Brygge 5, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“executive lounge nice for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed six nights with our daughters, ages 6 and 1, using Marriott points. The hotel upgraded us to a river view room on the 8th floor and we had executive lounge access. I'd agree with earlier reviewers who said rooms feel like an American hotel--two beds, bureau, desk, plenty of floor and closet space. Decor is fine if not particularly striking in any way. We had enough space even with an added cot, which cost 100 DKK a night. The river view is nice. I don't know why the Tivoli side rooms were listed as cheaper, at least on a high floor. We could see the view to that side from the elevator lobby and it was a good view, too. Lower down one might not see as much on that side. The hotel is about a kilometer from the central train station (15 minute walk with kids and luggage) and Tivoli. The walk is past buildings without shops or restaurants. For my daughters, the executive lounge was the highlight of the hotel. At least in late August, at breakfast and dinner it was full of people either starting or finishing a cruise, so the place had a vacationer's vibe. Tables could be hard to get but people always made room for us. They had two high chairs and the staff took to kindly bringing one right to our table once we sat down at breakfast. The breakfast selection was plentiful and in the evening they had a steady flow of hors d'oeuvres that switched to desserts at 7:30. We used the evening food for a light dinner several nights to avoid going out to a restaurant with tired kids. One sometimes had to wait a few minutes for more glasses, plates, or juice but it didn't seem unreasonable as the lounge was completely full with people eating. After food service hours, the lounge became quiet and near-empty, a decent spot for a solo adult to have a glass of wine and read. The available computers were one level down and I never had to wait for one. I'd recommend getting your Tivoli multi-ride ticket from the concierge, which saves about $4 a ticket and is worth it if you do more than 6 rides. However, plan ahead for this. At 1 pm, the concierge said he was out and would get more at 2. At 2 pm, he was on break and no one else could help until he returned about 2:!5. Once you get the ticket, you exchange it for a wristband at a ride ticket booth in the park. Overall, the hotel had all the amenities we needed and a good location for Tivoli and the train to various attractions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    733
    252
    95
    49
See reviews for
378
618
80
356
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Service wasn't the best at this hotel but the people were nice. They charged me for ordering a pot of hot water which probably amounted to $6 and also burned my entire right hand. There are many nearby restaurants in town to check out that I would choose over room service. The place was clean and the view of the water (although frozen during my stay) was really nice. Overall, a decent place to stay. Access to the executive lounge was a nice plus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

No matter what people say, we in the US are accustomed to a different standard of living than the average European. My recommendation therefore is when reading a review to make a note of where the reviewer is from. What is A OK to a European may be barely acceptable to an American. I am not discriminating, I am just saying it like it is.
At the Marriott worldwide you will get what you are accustomed to in the US. You pay for it but then don't you always get what you pay for and nothing more?
After having stayed at the Comwel Holte in Copenhagen, the Marriott was like heaven on earth ....grant you at five times the price but such is life.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvindale, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Marriott Hotel in Copenhagen is a great place to stay before or after cruises.
Not only can you take an electric boat tour of Copenhagen from the dock but you simply cross the street to pick up the public bus which will take you right back to the central station where all the lines connect. The hotel is well appointed and English friendly.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Our family of 10 stayed here for 2 nights before a cruise.
We had 4 rooms and all were very nice. We chose to upgrade
for $20. each to a river (?) canal view. The rooms were very quiet at night and the view
was lovely. Rooms were very clean and front desk was pleasant.
We ate bkfst at their buffet, again very nice. They were able to handle
lots of departing cruisers in the am. There was a Jazz festival in town to which we could walk .

Room Tip: The upgrade was worth it for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very nice Marriott Hotel. Very comfortable. You can catch a canal boat right there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Lacking truly good hotels, Marriott offers some standard of fair quality and service in Copenhagen. Rooms are decently sized and offer most of the amenities you'd expect. View from riverfront rooms is quite nice. Cleaning a bit sloppy - found stains on linen etc.

Overall, compared to the competition, a nice hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copenhagen Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Marriott Hotel

Address: Kalvebod Brygge 5, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#17 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Copenhagen Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its windows on the quaint harbor in Denmark's capital, the fully air-conditioned Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, voted as Denmark's Leading business hotel 2007, captures the charm of this fairytale city. Beyond the doors of this luxury Copenhagen hotel are our city's most beloved sights, all within a 20-minute stroll. Inside our doors, you'll find spacious guest rooms offering exquisite views, luxurious bedding with down comforters, rich linens, a desk and high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Copenhagen Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Copenhagen
Copenhagen Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.