We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel y convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Copenhagen Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalvebod Brygge 5, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off
Ranked #16 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel y convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Booked this hotel for a businnes trip to Copenhagen. The hotel has a nice location by the sea and only 5 minutes walk away to the city center. Rooms were very spacious and with every amenity needed. Breakfast had a complete selection a very well presented. Only down for me was the WIFI to be paid extra. This is something should be available in a 5 star hotel even more when you are paying a good price for your room. Staff specially at reception and concierge where extremelly helpfull. Woudn't hesitate to rebook.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    709
    242
    91
    46
See reviews for
356
597
80
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This property just misses the mark. Room was super and the executive lounge was brilliant. On the other hand, service was a bit patronizing. As a Lifetime Gold Elite member, I was not made to feel "special." Staff was cordial but abrupt and, at times, high falutin'. The concierge desk is a good example of what I am trying to say. I generally make my own restaurant reservations on line whenever possible. Due to a website problem that prevented me to reserve on my own, I requested the concierge on duty to telephone the restaurant in question and make a reservation. I tipped him as well. Stopping by the desk the following morning, I was casually informed that the time would be an hour later as their website was not working. It was kind of like dealing with a slacker teenager. I used points but that should be an indication of loyalty forb a chain hotel's staff not a lack of instant profit.

Room Tip: Request water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, IL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Our room was spacious with 2 queen beds as requested. Easy walk to Tivoli gardens and water bus stops right behind hotel to get to Nyhavn or water bus tours. Not wanting a big dinner, we thoroughly enjoyed snacks in the bar the first night. They were so good we went back the second night. The buffet breakfast was great! Some negative comments in our group about the concierge service but we didn't experience any problems.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK/Detroit, MI, USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Due to work, I stayed at the Copenhagen Marriott over 60 nights since the beginning of the year (not by choice). This has given me a unique perspective of what the hotel is like overtime. In summary...

The good: The rooms are large and clean, a complementary coffee machine is available in the mornings (off of reception), there are always taxis waiting out front, the wireless works well .

The bad: With only one restaurant in the property, you do not have many options in terms of food (unless you would like to walk 10+ minutes towards the centre of town – there is hardly anything else in range). Furthermore, the room service menu is limited and terribly overpriced. In general, the rooms are in okay condition; however, I have noticed the following examples of where attention is needed...stained comforters, stained furniture, walls with blemishes, hooks missing from the bathroom, curtains with holes in them and showers that are either ice cold or burning hot.

The ugly: If you are expecting ANY form of service at a hotel that costs up to £344/night then do not stay in this hotel. I am appalled that a hotel carrying the Marriott name would be associated with such an unprofessional establishment. Examples include...consistently waiting over 30 minutes to check-in (this can occur even if there are a few people ahead of you), lost reservations, staff with an attitude and room service orders taking OVER TWO HOURS to be delivered. I wrote the Marriott once and have yet to see an improvement.

Regarding executive rooms, NEVER pay for an upgrade. All you get is some bottled water, fruit, a stand-up shower and a higher ceiling (only if you are on the top executive floor). There is no other difference between these rooms and what you get for the cheaper rate.

In the end, the Copenhagen Marriott is a perfectly average (it’s laughable they say it is a five star establishment - it is not) hotel that is primarily brought down by its lack of service. Because service is everything, especially for a business traveller, I’d consider other options.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in an Executive room during a week's holiday in July. The hotel is well located by the river and is very comfortable. We made a lot of use of the Executive lounge, both for breakfast and drinks in the evening. Even though our room wasn't on the waterfront, we had the view over Tivoli gardens. The room was spacious and the bathroom was well equipped with a separate shower cubicle. The housekeeping side was not great, but any problems that arose were dealt with quickly and efficiently by the front desk. We did not use the hotel restaurant because we prefer to eat in a variety of local restaurants.

Room Tip: Pay for executive room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed two nights at this hotel during a two week Scandinavian trip. It is a very nice hotel, reasonably convenient by foot to major sites (Tivoli Gardens, Central Terminal, Royal Palace, shopping, etc.

It is reasonably new, and a fairly typical Marriott, similar to what an American would find in any major U.S. City. Rooms are large with very nice bedding. The bath was large with usual amenities. The hotel has a great breakfast buffet included and we had a decent (3 star) meal one night after a busy day of "touristing".

Although just my wife and I were here, this would be a good hotel for families, even with smaller children. I'd definitely stay here on a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel is just beyond the edge of the town centre, with a pleasant canal on one side but dual carriageway and business buildings on the other. Our double room was clean and comfortable, but the service was very ordinary (not many staff at the desk, no special effort to be helpful). Things you would expect at a five star hotel - two sets of toiletries in a double room, bathrobes and slippers, fruit in the room - were all missing. You had to phone for a robe if you wanted one! Late check out had to be paid for as an extra. This hotel is fine for conferences etc, but I definitely wouldn't stay there for a romantic weekend or a family trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copenhagen Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Marriott Hotel

Address: Kalvebod Brygge 5, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Copenhagen Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its windows on the quaint harbor in Denmark's capital, the fully air-conditioned Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, voted as Denmark's Leading business hotel 2007, captures the charm of this fairytale city. Beyond the doors of this luxury Copenhagen hotel are our city's most beloved sights, all within a 20-minute stroll. Inside our doors, you'll find spacious guest rooms offering exquisite views, luxurious bedding with down comforters, rich linens, a desk and high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copenhagen Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Copenhagen
Copenhagen Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.