We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable, convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vester Farimagsgade 9, Copenhagen 1606, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
“Great location, comfortable, convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Excellent location is the chief advantage of this property, which is within two or three blocks of the central train station, Tivoli Gardens, the tourist office, and lots of pubs and eateries. The main square and the pedestrian shopping area--the Stroget--are only a couple of blocks further. Location is no small matter because the cost of transportation (along with everything else) is quite high. The guest rooms are of modern design and are nice, clean and reasonably well-kept if somewhat small. The Imperial is not fabulous, but it probably does come in at the four-star level, especially in relation to other similarly rated hotels in Copenhagen, where the ratings overall are to be taken with a grain of salt. There are three computers in the business center, allowing for easy internet access even if you are not prone to lugging your laptop on vacation with you. The staff is professional and was responsive when the window in our room would not close properly, first trying to fix it and then moving us to another room. Discounted rooms can often be booked at the tourist office, making it almost reasonably priced, especially in comparison to other hotels in the city. The deluxe room is slightly bigger and nicer and is worth it if it is only $5 or $10 dollars more.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    332
    188
    53
    18
See reviews for
96
229
48
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Our party of two couples stayed at the Imperial Hotel for one night before and one night following a Baltic Cruise. We arrived at 8:30 AM,, and a room was ready for us. The rooms are small, but clean and new. We skipped the $30.00 breakfast, there is a coffee shop and a 7-Eleven on the corner.The location is a 5 minute walk from the central train station and another 5 minutes to Tivoli Gardens.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

Pros: good location - walking distance from Tivoli Gardens, City Hall and the main shopping street -Stroget; right beside the main train station; nicely decorated rooms; and comfortable beds.

Cons: small rooms; shower in the tub takes expert handling - rather than a curtain, there's a glass partition, but it covers a pretty small area, so if you're not careful when taking a shower, you end up with water all over the floor .

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Pros: 1. Great location. 2. Walking distance from the hotel to many attarctions. 3.Clean room 4.Friendly staff.
Cons: 1.Extremly expensive.2. Rooms are terribly small. 3 Having shower was a circus. The water sprayed all over the floor. One has to climb down about two feet from the tub. ( You have to be very careful not to slip on the wet floor). The bathroom is very poorly designed.4. No place to keep your suit cases. You will have to prop it against the door and open it. 5. I was warned about the poor quality of food in the restaurant by my friend who visited this place a few months ago. It was obvious. No one was there even during dinner time.5. Try to get your room away from the traffic. We did per advise of other travellers.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

The Imperial Hotel is located across the street from Vesterport Station and a short walk away from Central Station. It is also a short walk from the western end of the Stroget (main retail street), just across the Town Square and from Tivoli Gardens (amusement park with lots of restaurants). Our room was larger than I expected and well decorated. The only down side is that instead of a large queen/king bed, there were two single beds that were pushed together. Otherwise, a great mid-priced hotel in a wonderful location. Too bad that everything else in Copenhagen is so expensive!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk,VA.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

I Know,I know....either this guy's just goofy,or he stayed tanked up on Tuborg Gold the entire time!!(oop's..did I just plug one of the best ale's in the world?Oh well!)The latter may be true.but I know a good hotel when I stay in one.Walking into the lobby of this sleek and elegant place,I felt like a big shot(just a working class shmoe from the USA)and as far as I
can remember(Tuborg)was made to feel that way from the front desk,restaurant,and cleaning staff the entire time.Pricey?!..you betcha'! But it's Copenhagen for cripe's sake...
hello!! They thrive on your tourist dollar,court and need them.So plan ahead,clean up some plastic,put money out of your head,and have a ball!! Oh....and stay at the Imperial...in this
solo traveller's opinion,a really great value! I'll be back Denmark!!! P.S.This is in no way a
paid advert by the city....I love the place!!! Rick W. from the good ol' US!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

As others have said, this hotel is in a great location, right near Central Station and Tivoli Garden. The room was very modern and comfortable, my wife loved the down duvet cover on the bed. The bathroom had a very sleek, glass and chrome design. The only issue was that the wall of the bathtub was much higher than those we're used to, and it was very difficult to step out of the tub without slipping.

The front desk was very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Vester Farimagsgade 9, Copenhagen 1606, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s no doubt that Imperial Hotel is much more than a tastefully decorated, modern four-star hotel in the heart of Copenhagen. That’s because for more than 50 years, the hotel’s vibrant international atmosphere has attracted both Danish and international guests with a passion for good food and drink.Whether your business schedule is packed tight or you have ample time for sightseeing, Imperial Hotel is the perfect base conveniently located just steps from Tivoli Gardens, Strøget, City Hall Square and Copenhagen Central Station.If you are planning a meeting or conference, you can leave it to us to create the ideal environment with professional staff in one of our six conference rooms of various sizes. In our newly refurbished restaurant, Ristorante L’Appetito, we indulge our guests with authentic Italian delicacies made from excellent seasonal ingredients, lovingly created by our talented chef and his Italian team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.