We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean, functional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vester Farimagsgade 9, Copenhagen 1606, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Modern, clean, functional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed twice, three days before a cruise and three days after. Our first room was cramped, the second one spacious. Free Wi-Fi is a real bonus, and our room package included two entry tickets for Tivoli.The hotel has been completely modernised, and its location is ideal for Copenhagen tourist attractions, shopping etc.
Service was good. We found all the staff friendly and very helpful - if you are nice to people they are usually nice back.
The buffet breakfast is ample and varied, though not very exciting and not easy to navigate.
In terms of value, all Copenhagen hotels are comparatively expensive, particularly in the summer months, when there is a shortage of rooms.
We would go back to the Imperial next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room, with a view, not too far from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    328
    186
    53
    18
See reviews for
95
227
48
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here as a group in 2 separate rooms and had two very different experiences!

One of the rooms was fairly large, the other was much smaller, and frankly pretty cramped for two. The hotel offers free wifi (huge bonus) - one room got great reception, the other had pretty lousy reception. One of our rooms had fine TV service, the other lost TV reception randomly after being on for like 20 minutes.

All in all it was a totally acceptable hotel, but pricey. You'd love to get a little more for your money, but Copenhagen is a pretty expensive city, so I think the Imperial Hotel is pretty average for Copenhagen. Obviously none of the issues with the smaller room were so bad as to "ruin" the stay in any way, and the hotel is very central, which is a huge plus. Easy walk to Tivoli, the pedestrian street, and many picturesque sights in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the Imperial for 2 nights at the end of May. It is well-located, near the station and within walking distance of the major sights, including the Tivoli Gardens. Our room had been refurbished; it was very clean with comfortable beds. However the room was very small. It was impossible to have 2 suitcases open and still have space to move around - getting a suitcase between the bed and the desk was quite a feat! The breakfast buffet was fine and as you would expect from a city-centre hotel, with a decent choice of both hot and cold food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel is centrally located. The hotel staff very helpful and courteous. The rooms are really nice -- comfortable bed, climate control, nice size room. There was bird crap on the window, but I did not care. I was only there for one night, but would have stayed longer if I could.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in March - when it was cold and snowing... the hotel was clean and comfortable, but not luxurious - more of a business hotel. The downside for us was the franchised bar and restaurant where the staff were rude and indifferent to guests. Our experience put us off dining there and we braved the snow/cold to dine elsewhere. Pity.

Room Tip: the hotel did offer us an upgrade for about £20 per person per night which we accepted. Probably wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I was for one night in June 2013 . The hotel has a good positionfor city sightseeing and espacially for TIVOLI visit. The structere is already old so that the name "IMPERIAL" is surely not on the actual stand. The breakfest can be also as for max. 3 star hotel valued.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I just spent three nights at the Imperial in late May. We arrived on an overnight flight from D.C. and the staff, especially Pierre, did everything to get us into our room as early as possible. He said he would have our room cleaned first and came looking for us when it was ready. We stayed on the 6th floor so noise wasn't an issue. The rooms was small but contemporary in style which is what we wanted. The breakfasts were more than enough to keep us filled until evening. I have not one complaint about this hotel. Location, staff, room were more than adequate. The room might be a tad on the small side but so were our rooms in Prague, Bern, Milan and many other European city. Have no qualms about recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms on the 6th floor as they have a small balcony away from the busy street in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Vester Farimagsgade 9, Copenhagen 1606, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s no doubt that Imperial Hotel is much more than a tastefully decorated, modern four-star hotel in the heart of Copenhagen. That’s because for more than 50 years, the hotel’s vibrant international atmosphere has attracted both Danish and international guests with a passion for good food and drink.Whether your business schedule is packed tight or you have ample time for sightseeing, Imperial Hotel is the perfect base conveniently located just steps from Tivoli Gardens, Strøget, City Hall Square and Copenhagen Central Station.If you are planning a meeting or conference, you can leave it to us to create the ideal environment with professional staff in one of our six conference rooms of various sizes. In our newly refurbished restaurant, Ristorante L’Appetito, we indulge our guests with authentic Italian delicacies made from excellent seasonal ingredients, lovingly created by our talented chef and his Italian team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.