We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well located business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vester Farimagsgade 9, Copenhagen 1606, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Zurich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“well located business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The Imperial Hotel Copenhagen is a well located business hotel around 5 minutes walking time to the main train station, and 10 minutes walking time to the Tivoli, the Hard
Rock Cafe and several other shops and restaurants.

The hotel rooms are small but conveniently furnished and clean.

As listed in other reviews, there is a 7Eleven right opposite which offers a wide range of food and beverages.

The reception staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is missing a gym, a health club or a pool. I did not have the chance to try out the restaurant, but was told by my friends that it is ok.

I recommend this hotel for a 2-4 day stay for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    322
    184
    53
    18
See reviews for
95
223
48
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I'll recommend the hotel for it's friendly staff, comfortable room and excellent location. A minor detail: the tv was placed so it wasn't possible to watch from bed - not very clever ;-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street - they are really quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed there on business for a week,

The goods:
-The location, central, just around Tivoli garden, all the good restaurants and activities are reachable
-Room is big enough and clean, body lotion, body wash and conditioner are provided. had excellent sleep quality thanks to curtains that actually properly block any undesired light.
-Free internet connection
-Good breakfast buffet, selection of bread pretty impressive
-Staff is helpful
-Bike rental for city tour

The bads or to be improved:
-Bathroom: there is a bathtub, when you shower it s impossible not to wet the floor, since the glass for is only a quarter of the tub's length.
-Internet: in your room, you will only have a cable connection so if you have one of those devices who can only get wireless internet, you will spend time in the lobby
- Facilities: aren't the bikes for free at the Radisson blu a few meters away ?
- Facilities:The hotel doesn't have a gym which is ok, but then they sell you voucher for the gym around the corner, fitness.dk, for a higher price than the gym itself, I mean people, seriously!?
- Breakfast: for scandinavia's sake, where was the salmon ?

All in all, hotel is good for a business stay and very affordable by scandinavian standards

Room Tip: If you don't mention your last breakfast at the check out, they just won't count it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floridian in Switzerland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

As you might expect with a Danish hotel, the styling is beautiful. Th room, though small, is well designed and well appointed. Very clean. The built in luggage rack very nice. Room service was great in the morning - I had originally planned for 8a (on the door hanger) but called at 7 to see if they could do immediately and they did with a smile.

Unfortunately, there was no movie channel (hello CNN and BBC!), no wifi in the room (it is in the lobby and they do have a cable in the room), the lighting was poor (except in the bathroom which was very good), and there were no outlets near the bed. All negatives for me.

The location is outstanding and the service was great - at check in, check out, and room service.

I would stay again but... will keep my eyes open for a hotel that offered the missing movies and wifi ...

Room Tip: rooms facing the main road can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed here for one night during a business visit. It´s a nice and modern hotel. The room seemed recently refurbished, and everything was clean and in perfect working order. Check-in was fast and efficient. Check-out a bit slow though. Breakfast was a buffet and was very good. Location is super central, with most of central Copenhagen within walking distance. S-train station right outside the hotel. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Thomsen, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Sirs!
Thank you for submitting your comments on TripAdvisor.com.
I am please to read about your satisfaction with the Imperial Hotel.
We look forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Best asset of this hotel is its location. Coming from the Copenhagen airport, we just took a train to the central railway station and then walked straight to the hotel. No need for taxi! The standard room is simple. Pillows and cushion comfortable. Hotel television offers basic channels. Water heater coils for cooking tea was dirty. We had to rinse it several times to get rid of the slimy coatings on the coil. The bathroom/shower area was somehow dangerous to move around in, especially when the floor is wet. Would have been better if breakfast was included in the price.

Anyway, more on the positive side of the stay. Location once more was the biggest plus! We moved around freely in the city area knowing that our hotel is well-located. It's close to the Tivoli, the street shopping district, museums, train station. Price was relatively ok for a short budget trip.

Important tip when in Copenhagen: Take advantage of the Copenhagen Card! It's so worth it! You will never have a need for taxi and the card can take you places... as in literally! It's an "ace" for the top attractions. Just show your card and you are so much in. Just enjoy :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Thomsen, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Sirs!
Thank you for submitting your comments on TripAdvisor.com.
I am please to read about your overall satisfaction with the Imperial Hotel.
Unfortunately there is much lime in the water in Copenhagen, but we do our best to keep our kettles lime free. Your attention is appreciated and Housekeeping we will keep and extra eye on the kettles in the room.
We hope to be able to welcome you again at the Imperial Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Vester Farimagsgade 9, Copenhagen 1606, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s no doubt that Imperial Hotel is much more than a tastefully decorated, modern four-star hotel in the heart of Copenhagen. That’s because for more than 50 years, the hotel’s vibrant international atmosphere has attracted both Danish and international guests with a passion for good food and drink.Whether your business schedule is packed tight or you have ample time for sightseeing, Imperial Hotel is the perfect base conveniently located just steps from Tivoli Gardens, Strøget, City Hall Square and Copenhagen Central Station.If you are planning a meeting or conference, you can leave it to us to create the ideal environment with professional staff in one of our six conference rooms of various sizes. In our newly refurbished restaurant, Ristorante L’Appetito, we indulge our guests with authentic Italian delicacies made from excellent seasonal ingredients, lovingly created by our talented chef and his Italian team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.