We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excelent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Copenhagen

Save Saved
You added Palace Hotel Copenhagen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palace Hotel Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 117 hotels in Copenhagen
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“excelent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed at Scandic Palace before our baltic cruise. July 12-15th 3 nights. Booked it though a booking agent but booked when it was SPG/Lemeridien and under construction. Got a great rate and I emailed to check on when the reservation when they went though the take over and got a quick note back confirming our reservation. Because we had the cheap rate as mention prior some one was denied breakfast but we weren't and the staff could not have not been nicer. One of the helpers in the breakfast area I got to know and asked if I could try the pancake which was on the childs menu. And the next morning she brought me one when I enter the area. Great on special attention. Room was small but well done by european standards. We over looked the city center but again aware of the older hotels the windows are only single pane. The staff could not have been more helpful. I would return in a minute.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    312
    139
    52
    34
See reviews for
93
306
53
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for three nights with the extended family, three rooms in all. Had second thoughts when first booking it because it was formerly a Le Meridien (SPG member) but moved to Scandic in July. It was a great choice. The rooms are small on size but typical of scandanavia. The design of the rooms are excellent especially if you like classic contemporary design.

It seems to be a very practical hotel chain, seen throughout the hotel including the complimentary breakfast of excellent quality.

The staff is few but very attentive, especially Hans, the concierge who handles many tasks at the hotel and adds a personal touch. He helped us secure a private car to visit Legoland Billund (2.5 hour drive away) at a price less than half that quoted by our highly rated US travel agent.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Scandic Palace Hotel is conveniently located in the center of Copenhagen. All attractions are nearby. Except for the Little Murmaid, but if you take a boat tour you will get there in five minutes during the tour (it's a hop on - hop off tour starting from Nyhavn, so you can off board at any stop and see the sights). The hotel itself has just been renovated. However as we understood not all rooms yet. You'd better book a superior room. Thus you would have good views and these rooms are renovated , clean and comfortable. The hotel serves good breakfast. Internet is free throughout the hotel. The reception staff is friendly and helpful. When you get to the Copenhagen airport take a train to the main train station (goes every 10 minutes). The hotel will be about 700 meters away from the station. Very convenient. Copenhagen overall is expensive. Study restaurasnt menus carefully before you order especially at Nyhavn area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
735 reviews 735 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
1,003 helpful votes 1,003 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We stayed 7 nights recently for free on our Starwood points since our reservation was made before scandic took over management of this well-located hotel in April, 2009. The hotel is located across from Copenhagen's City Hall, a block from Tivoli Amusement Park, and 2 blocks from the main train station. Even though it is in "downtown" it is amazingly quiet. Danes do not use their car horns much. The hotel was fine in every way, except that the rooms and bathrooms are rather small. The buffet breakfast is very complete and you can easily skip lunch because there is so much to eat.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

PALACE HOTEL (Trip Advisor)
Location, location, location. Ideally located opposite Rauspladsen (the central city square, and main terminal for the local bus network), which in turn is right beside Tivoli. Front facing rooms have French doors and small balconies (photo attached) affording a marvelous view of the Rauspladsen (photo attached). Copenhagen's main shopping (and pleasant strolling) street (Strøget) is a half-block away.

The staff were friendly, polite and helpful.

Architecturally, the Palace is a gorgeous old building with very wide (huge) corridors and grand staircases (see the attached photo). Sadly, they don't make hotels like this anymore. On the other hand, the lobby is small and unassuming, not like most grand old hotels.

Breakfasts (ours was included) are very good with a reasonably wide selection of the usual things. There is no restaurant (other than the breakfast room), but the staff will recommend several excellent nearby restaurants. A short walk after dinner is good for you, anyway.

On the negative side: sparse toiletries. The Palace provides only wall-mounted squeeze bottles of soap and hand lotion. If you want hair conditioner or bar soap you must bring your own, or buy some at the 7/11 a half-block down the street. It can be noisy outside on weekends and holidays, but this goes hand-in-hand with its great location: you can't have it both ways.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We have just returned from a two day stay before our Baltic cruise then another two day stay at the end of same. The location of this hotel makes it possible to enjoy the feel of the center of this wonderful city. Many attractions and the Central train station are iwithin very comfortable walking distance. The rooms were compact but efficient. The greatest challenge was the temperature in the rooms, as we were in Denmark during days when it was very warm. Breakfast was adequate and the fact that your breakfast is included should be a consideration when choosing a hotel, since restaurant prices in Copenhagen are steep. Staff was friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our time and would not hesitate to stay at the Scandic Palace again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

LOCATION: Good location. Most of Copenhagen is reachable by foot.

ROOM: We got a newly renovated room. Well worth it because the other rooms were very old.

STAFF: Staff was polite.

HOTEL: The hotel is an old building. Only 25% of the renovations were completed when we stayed in 2007. Not sure what it looks like now. We stayed when it was a Starwood hotel.

CITY: Copenhagen is a very interesting and unique city. Lots of history.

FOOD/DINING: The Nyhavn attracts many tourists, but many restaurants offer great seafood. And you must have a Carlsberg.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Copenhagen

Address: Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel Copenhagen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the very heart of Copenhagen, the Palace Hotel is well-established in its rich cultural and historical surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Palace Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scandic Palace
Scandic Palace Copenhagen
Copenhagen Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.