We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Scandic Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Me and the wife had a pleasent stay at this hotell in april.We have heard that the town hall bell would be disturbing but i cant agree to that.Nice clean rooms. Nice staff.Good breakfast and a really nice city. Will without a doubt stay on Palace Hotel Copenhagen again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Daniel S,


Thank you very much for visiting us, and for sending such positive feedback!

We would be more than happy to welcome you back, and hope to see you again very soon.

All the very best for a fantastic summer!


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    355
    154
    56
    35
See reviews for
103
350
57
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
599 reviews 599 reviews
224 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
1,041 helpful votes 1,041 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Palace Hotel looks like a palatial building viewed from across Town Hall Square as you approach it with a short straight walk from the main Railway Station (and its link to the airport). I stayed there 25 years ago and, externally, it has little changed. Same wide high corridors too inside.
This time I spent two nights on 2 and 3 June and had room 322.
The self-opening doors to the hotel take one a bit by surprise. There is a small lobby beyond and an equally small receptiondesk ahead of you.
Check-in reasonably quick; checkout took much longer as they struggled how to credit my points under British Airways FF programme.
My room was average in size with comfortable double bed, adequate clothes hanging space and two armchairs. The floor to ceiling windows led out to a small balcony. Nice to get fresh air but I did not feel sufficiently sure to stand on the balcony.
Air conditioning was very simple to control and effective.
Bathroom had shower area over the bath with two taps : one for hand-held shower and the other for a ceiling rose type. It was trial and error to work out which was which.
Did not have any meals in the hotel but did use the bar. Very friendly, convivial barman.
English widely spoken.
All in all, a comfortable stay. Hope it will not be another 25 years before I am there again

Room Tip: Rooms along the back of the hotel will be quieter than those at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear alanreynolds,


Thank you for returning to Palace Hotel Copenhagen after 25 years!

I am very pleased to receive your feedback, and equal as happy to see you still like the hotel.

Please accept my apologies concerning the points/mile handling, do let me know if it was not sorted out.

I wish you a fantastic summer, and hope it will not take another 25 years before seeing you again at the hotel!


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel has a really good location, 2 blocks from the central train station.
The rooms are nice, modern decor, and with great baths (the rain shower was so good!) and the bed are really confortable.
But what really stands out at this hotel is the service, the staff is so friendly and really take care of you. Check in was great, they even upgraded my room at no charge and recommended some rally good places to eat both casual and traditional danish food.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in central Copenhagen and have a great place to relax.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear MarioLoubet,


Thank you for staying with us while visiting Copenhagen!

- And further to this, thank you for all your kind words! Caring and extending great service to our guests is vital to us, and I am happy to see you have had a great relaxing stay.

Please visit us again when travelling to Copenhagen!


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

great up a veritable museum very good service very spacious room, thé only problème we had was to small breakfast , very quietThe hotel is located in the heart of Copenhagen, close to Tivoli and in the pedestrian precinct with all major shopping streets.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Gilbert B,


Thank you very much for the feedback and for staying with us.

I rarely see comments on the breakfast being small, however please accept my apologies for not delivering this specific day.

We are continuously looking into improving our products, including the breakfast selection.

At the moment we are revising the setup, and I hope the improvements will be positive.

I hope to see you back with Palace Hotel Copenhagen again, and wish you a very nice summer.



Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of Copenhagen, close to Tivoli and in the pedestrian precinct with all major shopping streets, which allows you to basically walk around the city without having to take the metro.

The hotel itself is OK, even though the bathroom was really small and the floor could have been a bit cleaner, as its was a bit dusty.

Staff was friendly and really helpful particularly in providing advice for restaurants.

Recommended overall, with a few caveats on the cleanliness of the room!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Evallardi,


Thank you very much for staying with us!

I really appreciate your feedback, and it seems like your visit with us have been great apart from the comment on the bathroom floor.

I regret if the floor was not cleaned properly, and I have forwarded your comment to the housekeeping team for follow-up.

Thank you again for staying with us, and hope to see you back!


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We've just had 5 nights at the Palace and found it to be very comfortable and in a great position to take in all Copenhagen has to offer. We decided to stay there based on TA feedback and on checking in our experience was consistent with the feedback we read from others. We were offered an upgrade, the lady at the desk was very helpful with suggestions for sightseeing, restaurants etc. The room was very large and comfortable and breakfast quite good. Would definitely stay again.
Improvements could be that the place is a little "dated" and the lifts could do with a "refresh". Also found that drinking glass in our room wasn't cleaned and had lipstick on the rim...not good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear 255060Rob,


Thank you very much for the kind words and feedback!

I am very pleased to see the stay with us was positive, although some details lacked - details that are large enough not to have happened, for which I sincerely apologize.

We are updating areas more or less all the time, however we are at the moment looking to improve the public areas even further, and I hope upon a future return to the hotel, you will appreciate what we have done.

The elevators - they are quite old school - however, as the building is preserved as historical landmark, we are not able to do many changes a part from new carpets, painting and polishing. This has been done recently, making them look their very best.

I hope to see you back again, and wish you a wonderful summer.


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a wonderful room facing City Hall. Modern bathroom and shower, nice closet space. It was quiet even facing the busy streets. The only problem we had was a too small feather blanket for the king size bed, but it was fixed right away. We would love to go back next time we are in Copenhagen .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Ingelise,


I am very pleased to read your comments about your stay with us!

Thank you for sharing the recommendation, and we would really like to see you back with the hotel as well!

- We have both single and double duvets, and I am very happy that the staff supported with the needed duvets.

I wish you a wonderful summer, and hope once again to see you back at Palace Hotel Copenhagen.


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Palace Hotel

Address: Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#25 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the very heart of Copenhagen, the Scandic Palace Hotel is well-established in its rich cultural and historical surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scandic Palace
Scandic Palace Copenhagen
Palace Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.