We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Scandic Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Okay hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Yes it is a classic and many may like that. We thought it was okay. Rooms very reasonable but nothing spectacular. We were on one of the upper floors and had a view over the roofs of the neighboring buildings towards some of the historic locations, surely better than towards a street.
The room was fairly compact but it was comfortable.
The breakfast was good and the buffet style had all the options we hoped. Service in the restaurant was nearly non existing leaving some spots on the buffet empty and plates on the various tables still standing around.
Front desk was actually very helpful for all our needs.
Location is great as from here we got to experience everything with just a few minute walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    354
    153
    56
    35
See reviews for
103
348
57
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Armenia, Colombia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed 3 times at Palace so far, and had the following pro's cons:

1st Time (Superior Plus room)
Pros: Really nice room, quiet in the top of the building, really nicely decorated, sofa-group.
Cons: It smelled during the afternoon, and looked thoroughly to find... The last guests room service food in one of the drawers.. yuck .. I called and noone picked up in reception. Ended up actually going down with the plates to the reception (just to show). Not even an "excuse us". Also the pringles pack in the minibar was opened and eaten before I checked in, but they cancelled it on my bill.

2nd Time (Superior room)
Pros: Good room, clean
Cons: You could hear everything (walls leaf-thin). I handed in 2 suits for drycleaning, was told everything would hang in my room at 10, the next day. I had another suit I used, but told the reception while heading to work if they could carry up the laundry, which they once more agreed to. After 2 days (no laundry), i tried calling.. Obviously there is a problem picking up the phone at the front desk. I ended picking it up myself (when going down right after: no people checking in, 3 people in the back part? why not pick up the phone?)

I would say highlight is the breakfast buffet. Since the hotel is nowadays Scandic, I hope they keep their scrambled eggs and quality ingredients along with fresh pressed juice and not put up that scandic standard junk food & juice machine.

Also the proximity to the main shopping street, restaurants make it attractive..

I'll surely give it one more shot..

Room Tip: Choose a superior plus room (more expensive, but worth it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I travel to Copenhagen several times every year, and now I know where to stay. I had a weekend stay last week with my sister. We had a Superior plus room with a balcony on the townhouse side, and the wiew was lovely. The room was well heated and the heating system was easy to adjust. We were able to pop in to the Hotel with our bags quite often, as the Hotel is situated right by shopping area Strøget. Very convinient. lovely breakfast, and lovely cosmo in the bar. Nice and helpful straff in the reception. I plan to return in december, and have chosen the same room category again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piajak, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for the very positive review of your recent visit to Palace Hotel Copenhagen! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on business for one night, it was lovely. Room very clean and bed so comfortable - bathroom very modern and again spotless. Didn't sample any evening food at this hotel, so can't comment but the breakfast was fab, it's the only hotel I have stayed where they bring you your tea and tell you how long it will take to brew.. very impressive! We did use the bar and the beer was very expensive, however I think this is the case in Copenhagen anyway.

The hotel is situated on H C Anderson Boulvard this gives you great access to all sightseeing sites, Carlsberg Brewery definately book a tour the site is huge and very impressive, round tower is a must visit fantastic views over Copenhagen, and obviously the little mermaid, which is quite a walk too get to this, might want to jump a taxi and walk back along the pathway overlooking the sea.

We had an evening meal and lunch at Nyhaven Faergekro Restaurant, the food was fantastic and I would highly recommend this restaurant. Set overlooking the canal lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piajak, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,Thank you for the very positive review of your recent visit to Palace Hotel Copenhagen! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The location is great. Just looking to the town hall and in the beginning of the walking street. But I'm not sure if I would say the same if we had been here a day ago. Because we learned that the night before we came was the last night of the Gay Festival. And for a week there were lots of parties in front of the hotel. So I dont know if it would be possible to sleep then. So I advise you to check the party schedule before going, since the area in front of the hotel is the street party place.
The hotel is very old, but it is well preserved. You feel as if you travel in time and stay in 19s.
The breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

very nice one night business stay with my wife, room clean tidy and in good order
tried to get a drink in the bar.. barman very sharp with my wife waited a very long time at the bar and never got served as our group had to leave for our dinner reservation elsewhere.
apart from this a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Was staying in Copenhagen for the weekend, and stayed at Palace Hotel. It is an old hotel with an old and elegant entrance hall. The room we got was recently refurbished and was maybe a bit "modern" for the style of the hotel. Still very nice and functional. The bed was excellent, but the blanket was a bit small, so it was a bit chilly.

Breakfast was not included, but we paid for it and it was excellent.

Free wireless wifi, but on our room we couldn't reach it. Thankfully the public network came to rescue.

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We was able to put our baggage in the storeroom after check-out because of a late return flight. When it a bit later started to rain, we returned to fetch our umbrella, the staff responded; "why don't you just borrow one from us, so you don't have to unpack you baggage. The small things that makes a stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Palace Hotel

Address: Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#25 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the very heart of Copenhagen, the Scandic Palace Hotel is well-established in its rich cultural and historical surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scandic Palace
Scandic Palace Copenhagen
Palace Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.