We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy, renewed hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Copenhagen

Save Saved
You added Scandic Copenhagen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vester Sogade 6, Copenhagen 1601, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 118 hotels in Copenhagen
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Trendy, renewed hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Nice modern and laid back atmosphere when entering the reception. The room is spacious and has nice beds. Not that hard..

Everything is clean, and more than enough space to work with help of the desk. Silent rooms aswel.

Breakfast was very nice, more than enough choices! Location is perfect just 10 min walk to the city center!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja A, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest.

thank you for taking your time to make a review on tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear that your where satisfied with our new renovated hotel. We are also very proud of the results here.

And yes it's pretty amazinfg that your are staying in the heart of the city and still can't hear traffic noice etc. from the rooms.

I really do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you at Scandic Copenahegn another time.

best ragards
Tanja Andresen - Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    237
    136
    42
    13
See reviews for
105
109
16
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I decided to give Scandic another try since colleagues insisted that the remodeling improved it dramatically. NOT a good choice!!! Yes the lobby is beautiful in a minimal N. European way, but you don't get to sleep there. You sleep in a tiny room, reminiscent of a ships cabin. Combined with the grumpy receptionist, and the long wait for the elevators, and the 1 tiny, all purpose towel in the bathroom ( not remodelled), I am confident I will avoid it in the future.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja A, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking your time to make a comment on Tripadvisor.

We are always glad to get feedback wheater it's positive or negative, it help us to improve our standard and services.

I am sorry to hear your that you felled you where sleeping in Cabins - the room you have taken photos of is a standard single room, all our single rooms is 15sqm. Not so big, but big enogh for a 1 or 2 night businnes stay.

Regarding the grumpy receptionist, I apologise, it is simply not acceptable. It is important that our guest who are staying here always have the feeling of being among friends, so I have forwarded this review to my front desk manager.

I apologise again for this inconvienience during your stay.

I really do hope that we will ahve the opportunaty to welcoming you another time, so that we can have a second chance to show you that we not a hotel of the ordinary.

You are more than welcome to contact us for reservation.

Best Regards
Tanja Andresen - Guest Relations manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice view from rooms, The rooms are renovated with modern decorations. It has a good location in the city, near to the Central Railway Station and to the famous street Ströget but also on a quiet street so you could sleep without any disturbing noise. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Was there for a business trip. Location is excelent near Tivoli and two blocks from train station. Several restaurants at a walkin distance. Breakfast and Wi-fi Internet included. Gym is ok. The negative part is the cleanliness of the rooms.. spiders are inside the room if you open the windows. They are even in the gym and lobby areas. I would recomend to the hotel an investment to solve this issue as soon as possible. When this was reported to the staff they seem familiar with the complaints and not much help you get from them.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room or if you can afford it a higher floor room. Best views of center CPH.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens,GREECE
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Pros:
---fantastic view
---very nice decoration
---very good breakfast
---excellent location. 10 mins from Tivoli and the railway station

Cons:
---narrow beds
---elevator with big delay
---externally ugly building

Room Tip: Rooms at the front side have fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I had a group staying here recently, in a mixture of rooms over several floors. My only complaint would be that the single rooms are very small, the others are of a good size. I've read some reviews and I'm not sure what people expect sometimes. Things such as check in times and rooms not being available, this is not unique to this hotel, city or country, it is common place. If you want the room to be available early, guaranteed, you generally have to pay for it, thats how it goes. We stayed at the hotel twice on this visit and on both occasions were well looked after. Food in the restaurant was of a very high standard and breakfasts excellent. Rooms are decorated in a very modern and funky fashion, some almost resembling Andy Warhol type styling. Bathrooms were clean and showers excellent. The hotel is only a short stroll to Tivoli gardens, the Glypotek museum and the start of the pedestrian mall Stroget which takes you through to Nyhavn...if you don't mind a good walk, and plenty of shops on the way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room either facing Tivoli or the Lakes. The location is quiet anyway so traffic noise was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Am I in a hospital or is that just scandic. Room is tiny and uninviting but clean and functional. The reception area is like a shopping mall and the lounge is as cosy as a fridge. The staff are quite nice though.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scandic Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Copenhagen

Address: Vester Sogade 6, Copenhagen 1601, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Copenhagen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Copenhagen is located in central Copenhagen, with stunning views over the water and Copenhagen city, and close to attractions such as Copenhagen's Tivoli Gardens.The hotel has recently been through a major refurbishment, which has been completed in June 2012. The hotel has 18 floors and is one of Copenhagen's tallest buildings with a bird's-eye view of the city and the famoud lakes of Copenhagen.The new design is modern and trendy - prepare your you self of a journey of adventure - From above. The hotel will show the guest Copenhagen From Above.Scandic Copenhagen is also one of Copenhagen's largest conference centres with facilities including an extensive range of modern AV and IT equipment. Copenhagen's attractions are right on your doorstep when you stay at hotel Scandic Copenhagen. Tivoli amusement park, Nyhavn and Stroeget shopping street are all within walking distance of the hotel. Facility When staying with us at hotel Scandic Copenhagen, you can relax with a drink and a light meal in our atmospheric lobby bar with its mirrors and contemporary design. You can also stop by our relaxation area and unwind in the sauna, enjoy a massage and work out in the gym. We offer wireless internet access throughout the whole hotel at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Scandic Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Scandic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.