We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andersen Hotel

Save Saved
You added Andersen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andersen Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Helgolandsgade | Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Selandia Hotel) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Wine Hour
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a nice little hotel. The wine hour each day was a nice addition, but it was stuffy and full of small kids. We took the wine to our room. We requested a quiet room. It was quiet at night. However, by 8:00 am their were children from the hotel screaming and throwing things in the courtyard under the room windows. It was far too hot to have the windows shut, but there is hardly a breeze in the courtyard "quiet" section.
Excellent front desk help. Price is is bit steep for accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for a helpful review.

I am sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy the Wine Hour due to noisy kids.

It is always a balance to mix families with grown up travelers. Fortunately, we seldom have problems with noisy children. Only few of our rooms are suitable for a family. Children are more than welcome, especially if they are nice and have parents used to travel. We have board games in the lobby for all our guests.

Most families travel during the school holidays and we seldom see children during the week. We hope you will return in a more children quiet period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    267
    83
    21
    5
See reviews for
98
397
42
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We spent 6 weeks travelling in Great Britain and the Baltic Sea. We travelled mainly first class including a luxurious 12 day cruise with Seaborne. Copenhagen was our last stop and we stayed here because of the proximity to the train station and the TA reviews. It was a large step down staying at Andersen. We got a very small room on the fifth floor on the street side facing the all night liquor store. The room was tiny and very hot although it was cool outside. There is no A/C so the window had to be open. There was a small moveable fan but it sounded like a small chainsaw. There is an intersection right outside our window and both streets are busy, day and night. The prostitutes work the corner and there was yelling and horn honking all night. The sex shops and strip clubs are a few steps away. The staff were friendly and helpful but we expect that wherever we go. The breakfast was good and the rooms clean. Again, we expect both of those. For us the stay was not enjoyable.

Room Tip: Don't take a street side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your point of view.

I am sorry we did manage to talk to you during your stay. We always try to make our guests happy whether it requires a room change, room upgrade or even search an alternative hotel e.g. a five star luxury hotel in a quiet neighborhood.

Trip Advisor is a helpful platform when searching room accommodation in a foreign city. A lot of the previous reviews have been about the location. Most find it fun to stay in an authentic neighborhood. Others find it too noisy and not posh at all.

A small boutique hotel often lacks 5* facilities. Andersen Hotel does not have A/C, the complimentary breakfast buffet is cold and some rooms are small. Wi-fi is free throughout the hotel, CONCEPT24 let you have the room for 24 hours at no extra cost (please request) and the free Wine-hour is popular with many guests.

We hope you will be back in Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
homewood, Il
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is lovely. Located within walking distance of all sites. Great breakfast and wine in the afternoons. The staff goes above and beyond to be helpful always with a smile. Rooms not overly spacious but large enough; a bit tight with multiple large pieces of luggage. We left a piece of luggage in the storage room overnight where it was safely locked.
Can't say enough nice things.

Room Tip: No air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for a lovely review.

It is nice to hear you enjoyed our complimentary cold Buffet Breakfast - maybe you even tried a Gammel Dansk Bitter.

The Meatpacking Area has many restaurants and Galleries are opening. There is plenty to do in the area, and otherwise we rent bikes for our guests to explore the city like a Dane.

We are pleased to hear it worked out with the luggage. We have a storage room where our guests are more than welcome to store luggage.

We look forward to see you back in Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Clean safe hotel with friendly staff. Very close to Tivoli entertainment and great wine happy hour from 5-6pm which was unexpected. There was a good English breakfast. They are kind to Americans and we booked 2 room, the family junior suite and a standard room. Near the meat packing district. Cool decor in the lobby and rooms and free wifi in the lobby after a short registration process, we had just come off a Baltic cruise.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for a nice review.

We are happy to hear you liked Andersen Boutique, the Staff and the location.

The daily Wine-Hour is very popular and many of our guests enjoy meeting and mingling with other travelers. We will continue this as long as our guest appreciate our hospitality.

Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel and we have just upgraded the speed. We have a computer in the lobby, which is mainly used to check-in and print boarding passes.

We look forward to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This boutique hotel ticks the box for something a bit different, ie not your bog standard corporate hotel. The service is relaxed and personal, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the location is perfect and the breakfast and wine hour in the evenings very acceptable. All in all an ideal place to explore Copenhagen for a couple of days. Especial thanks to a delightful concierge!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you very much for a most kind review.

It sounds like you enjoyed Copenhagen and Andersen Boutique Hotel. The daily Wine Hour is popular and a good opportunity to mingle and meet other guests.

We are thankful for your praise and look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I had planned to make this our first stop on our two-week European trip scheduled to leave yesterday morning. Saturday afternoon, less than 12 hours before our flight, my mom died. It was completely unexpected.
We quickly canceled all of our plans. Icelandair, cancelled our international flights immediately with a full refund. They were wonderful.
All of our other hotels cancelled with no hassle and welcomed us back in the future.
However, Anderson Hotel was absolutely horrible, unsympathetic, kept me waiting on the phone while they "discussed" it, and then proceeded to tell us that there was nothing they would do for us. No kindness, understanding, no voucher for our future trip...nothing.
Beyond that they were rude and abrasive, acting very aggravated with our situation. When you lose your precious mom it is a human situation that only those who have been through it can understand, but usually all can relate to.
Not those at the Anderson Hotel. We travel a lot all over the world and have never experienced anything like the way we treated by this hotel.
Please be aware of this before you choose to book with them.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
First of all, I am very sorry to hear about your loss. It is always sad and emotional to loose a loved family member.

Secondly, please accept my apologies for my colleagues lack of understanding of your situation. Although, I am surprised to hear this, as they are usually very understanding and all grown up ladies in our Reservation Office. We will follow up on this matter and work on an improvement.

We work quite similar to the airline industry with yielded rates and non-refundable rates. It is written clearly that a non-refundable reservation is cheaper than a regular booking, hence it is not possible to cancel or amend the booking. One will save money because of the risk.

In order to run a fair business for everybody, my employees must follow standard operation procedures. In your case this is very unfortunate and empathy could have been enforced while following the rules.

Finally, I do not believe you will find Andersen Hotel horrible if you have stayed with us. I can understand you had a bad experience prior to arrival.

Hopefully you will be able to visit our beautiful city on a later occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We just returned from a long weekend. Very central location close to railway station. Beware that there are many prostitutes on the street and in the neighborhood once it gets dark. Men will be accosted to partake in their services - obviously their gaydar was not functioning very well for us... But nothing to worry about as far as security. I would have given five stars but we were expecting more of a boutique hotel experience, I suppose based on the reviews here. We thought the interior decoration was more like high-end Ikea rather than original, innovative design. We were stuck with probably one of the worst rooms the first night - so small you literally struggled to walk around the bed it was so close to the desk and wall. Anyone with a weight problem would have had major issues. Seeing we were there for three nights we asked for a another room the next day. I must say the service at the hotel is spectacular. It was absolutely no problem and we were alowed to look at three rooms. We picked a room on the ground floor which, although it was supposed to be the same category as the original room, it was much roomier and seemed palatial compared to the first one. There was a bit of noise coming in from the street when the windows were open but we slept with them closed and had no problems. Breakfast was in our opinion very standard. It would have been nice to have a more lavish buffet as we have experienced in other hotels - my partner was actually quite disappointed but I was perfectly fine with the yoghurt, cheese, salami, etc. I think he was looking for an omelette / pancake station, more pastries, more fruit - he is a spoiled brat! I think the best thing about this hotel, apart from the very convenient location near the railway station and Tivoli and most tourist sites (allowing you to walk literally everywhere) is the staff. Very kind and interested in all their guests being completely satisfied with their stay. We would probably try another hotel in Copenhagen next time that has perhaps more charm than Andersen (given the price we paid, about 200EUR a night, there are certainly many alternatives) - but anyone looking for a clean, central hotel with great service will do well here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your helpful review.

The more guests we have staying - the more opinions we hear! We like that our guests have opinions, as it is a sign of caring. And we care about our guests.

We try to keep the Boutique Feeling (small, individual owned hotel) in a nice surrounding, while still being a traditional hotel in many ways e.g. a writing desk, a closet for your clothes, safe and small fridge in found all rooms. Our main asset is our friendly, helpful and service minded staff.

Hopefully you managed to have a glass of wine during the Wine Hour.

We look forward to welcome you back to Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andersen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Hotel

Address: 12 Helgolandsgade | Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Selandia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Andersen Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Daily free Wine-Hour. Free Wi-Fi. Hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen. Decorated in Designers Guild modern bright colors.Rooms feature: Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar and safe. Bathrooms with Molton Brown amenities, most with bathtub and Philippe Starck design.Free Continental Breakfast Bikes for rent.CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Andersen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andersen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.