We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough good things!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andersen Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Andersen Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Andersen Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Helgolandsgade | Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Selandia Hotel) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Wine Hour
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I booked this hotel based on positive reviews, but not knowing Copenhagen at all, I did wonder whether the area might be a bit sketchy and not close enough to the places we wanted to visit (on foot or metro). I needn't have worried.

Although the street the hotel is situated on does have some vaguely sketchy activity (sex shops and what appears to be a homeless shelter), we never felt threatened or unsafe walking around at night - and there are a lot of great bars and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel (try BioMio, Valernum, Bang and Jensen, Mikkeler Bar).

The proximity to the station is fantastic - from the time we left the hotel to the time we were checked into our flight at the airport was well under an hour!

The hotel itself is modern - with striking decor and spotless rooms. We chose a "Cool" Standard (#74) which was high enough up that we didn't hear street noise at night - in fact we didn't even hear any other noise from the other guests. The elevator was out of order during our stay but we were offered help with our bags and on each floor landing there were snacks (apples, cookies, chocolates and water) to ease the trip up the stairs!

The rooms were well appointed and fairly spacious - lots of storage space with a roomy (for Copenhagen) bathroom. Nice toiletries and a small but interesting selection of snacks to purchase (both in the room and in the lobby). Loved that there is a fridge and safe in the room too. Wifi was a bit odd, having to log in every 12 hours with a self-generated account/ password, but it worked really well.

The breakfast buffet was nothing short of spectacular - so much choice (nothing hot if that's your think but I challenge you to leave there hungry!) and I love the 5-6 Happy Hour idea where folks congregate in the lobby to chat and relax after their day's sightseeing over a glass or two of wine (and a free glass of wine after Copenhagen prices is definitely a bonus!).

Hotel staff was nothing but helpful and friendly. Can't recommend this place more highly.

Room Tip: A room on a high floor might be quieter than one on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for a lovely review and the beautifull pictures capturing breakfast and the colours of a Princess room.

All future guests who read your review, will be well prepared and know what to expect. Vesterbro is a neighborhood with many interesting places. And it is definitely not a quiet, boring residential area. It is very hip, trendy and upcoming and a true hipster place.

Your recemmendation on places to eat and taste Danish beer is spot on. Our friendly and helpful staff are more than happy to recommend anything from a local bar to a Michelin star restaurant. If you do not get a table at Noma try Mielcke & Hurtigkarl Restaurant or Amanns Restaurant.

We all hope you will be back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    306
    93
    23
    5
See reviews for
106
445
45
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed on a city break for three nights. The location is great, very close to the central train station and easy to get to from the airport. We could walk everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel staff, especially Sean, made us very welcome and gave excellent restaurant and bar recommendations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for an excellent review.

It is very convenient to walk in Copenhagen and from Andersen Hotel you can reach the Meatpacking Area, the Town Hall Square and many sights withinh a few minutes.

We rent bikes at the Front Desk for DKK 100.- per day if you like to explore areas further away. It is free of charge to bring your bike on the S-train. Bus, train and metro will take you anywhere around the clock. And taxis are easy to find furthermore they accept credit cards - remember to bring your pin code to Copenhagen.

We look forward to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We loved everything about this hotel!

Sean, the supernice guy in the reception who went out of his way to be kind and hepful to us...
And the rest of the staff...also very nice and helpful.
The fact that someone had really listened to our room requirements and in result, we had a PERFECT room for our needs (high floor and quiet).
All the fruit, chocolate and the raisin bisquits and bottled water placed in the staircase because the elevator was out of order...it made taking the stairs so much fun :D
...oh, and location! Close to EVERYTHING!
...oh, and the selection of teas at the breakfast buffet!

And the comfy bed.
And the cleanest bathroom we have ever seen in a hotel.

We will DEFINITELY come back next time we visit Copenhagen.

PS: What is the name of those raisin cookies? We grew quite addicted to them ;D

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for all your praise - we all look forward to welcome you back in the future. Good to know that Copenhagen is not that far away from Oslo.

You are welcome to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or Pinterest for Copenhagen and Andersen Hotel updates. We are hosting a large Charity Event 2. May and will invite all hotel guests to participate.

The elevator is back in order and making it a dream staying on the 5.th Floor. All our small treats are gone for now but the raisin biscuits will be waiting for you (Rosin og fiber bar). We still have our Wine Hour and a happy to see many of our guests enjoy meeting other travellers.

Let us know when you will be back and we will have your favourite room ready for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is a great hotel superbly located for the central station and exploring the city, as well as some great food and drink options. What really makes this hotel stand out is the exceptional staff who really are always happy, friendly and willing to help. I know some people have commented on the room size but we didn't find this an issue largely because the rooms are so well organised with some clever touches. The buffet breakfast is also great with a fantastic selection which should suit al tastes. When we do return to the great city of Copenhagen we will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for an excellent review.

It sounds like your expectations were met and we are happy to hear you mentioned the central location, the complimentary cold breakfast buffet and last but not least our top staff.

We are a small boutique hotel, family owned (named after my Grandmother Erna Andersen) and we truly believe in offering the best possible service. We like to get to know our guests and the complimentary Wine Hour is a good way to meet and mingle with staff, management and guests.

Please come back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We went to Copenhagen on a design-trip, which was one of our reasons to choose this hotel. The rooms were indeed beautifully furnished and made up, so that fullfilled all our expectations. We were lucky to get a bit bigger room, some of them seemed quite small though so pay attention for that. Everything else was in order: the room was clean, breakfast was great, the hotel had a 5-6 wine serving, the staff were very helpful with everything we needed: doctor, restaurant tips, directions, etc. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing a very good review.

It is pleasant to hear how you liked the design throughout the hotel. Designers Guild is famous for using vibrant and fresh colours in tapestry, materials and design. We have used magenta/purple in Princess rooms and our Mermaid rooms are kept in a green/turquise colour scheme.

My team all work hard to make our guests feel comfortable and happy. We all like to share our favourite recommendations on restaurants, exhibitions or new shops to visit. All our guests are more than welcome to contact us prior to arrival to prepare for the Copenhagen visit.

We hope you have another design visit coming and look forward to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It has pretty much everything going for it!

Location is great in terms of close to Central Train Station, an area that has a slight edgy vibe with cool bohemian mixed in - and close to some nice wine bars and pubs.

Staff are shockingly pleasant and nice, always. Happy hour with free wine for guests nightly, treats scattered throughout the hotel (fancy an apple for your walk, or a bottle of water, or a chocolate on your way to bed?), rooms are spotless and well-appointed (toiletries, lots of storage space, lighting).

The breakfast buffet is stunning: you will be spoiled for choice.

The only quibble I could find took a lot of thinking: the duvet on teh comfortable bed is so warm, I was a bit hot sleeping! ;-)

Really, this is a find: for the convenience to the train station, and how wonderfully we were treated, I would absolutely stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for a most welcoming review.

We truly appreciate everytime our guests recommends Andersen Boutique Hotel. This is no doubt our most valuable marketing tool. We hope all our guets will return and become regular guests.

Our Danish duvets are quite warm and cozy. We do keep summer duvets in stock and will be moe than happy to exchange if required. The Danes will usually sleep with two single duvets hence we have both single and double duvets to accommodate all requests.

Vesterbro is centrally located and offers everything from bohemian to Meatpacking Area.

We look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

How nice it has been to be warmly welcomed and attended to during our 3-day stay. The staff were always most helpful, you never feel you bother them for anything. They always try to make you as comfortable as at home, with a touch of elegance. A very precious way of being.

Our room was modern, very clean and comfortable.

The day we arrived, our room had got an issue with the heating, it was so cold that we had to keep our coats. The staff promptly responded. When we came back from dining, a nice bottle of wine was waiting for us in our room to compensate for the incident.

The buffet breakfast offers a good choice, they are going organic for many items, I hope they will soon for the eggs.

What could be improved (it does not change my rating of 5 as the staff could be rated 5+ so could be the cleanness and comfort of the room), is a cooked breakfast (I like to eat something hot to start my day) and more importantly sound-proof double-glazed windows. I had to sleep with ear plugs because the street is very noisy.

At 1am and even 3am, there are groups of young people speaking loudly or even screaming. We had that every single night of our 3-night stay. Copenhagen at night is definitely not quiet!

The hotel is not responsible for the street noise, of course, but it is for its windows, indeed! The windows definitely need to be changed, and the day they do that, they better take that issue very seriously and get the “super thick” double-glazed windows, the “standard” double-glazed won’t do the job!

Overall an excellent experience with outstanding staff. When back in Copenhagen, we’ll definitely go back.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue, rooms on the back are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you very much for a most helpful review and the five star rating.

We appreciate all comments and use reviews to follow up and make continous training. It is very pleasant to read how happy you are with our staff - our most precious asset.

The complimentary breakfast buffet is cold and we are trying to look into the possibilities of adding warm items. We serve a mix of organic and traditional food. The amount of organic items are increasing.

We have taken note of your recommendation for new windows and will add it to our improvement list. We will do our utmost to alloocate a quiet room on your future stays.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Address: 12 Helgolandsgade | Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Selandia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Daily free Wine-Hour. Free Wi-Fi. Hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen. Decorated in Designers Guild modern bright colors.Rooms feature: Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar and safe. Bathrooms with Molton Brown amenities, most with bathtub and Philippe Starck design.Free Continental Breakfast Bikes for rent.CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andersen Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.