We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special hotel with fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andersen Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Andersen Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Andersen Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Helgolandsgade | Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Selandia Hotel) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Wine Hour
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Special hotel with fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've never been in a hotel with such great service as Andersen! From a friendly welcome to free chocolate in the lobby to the staff doing their outmost for us. The design in the hotel, incl the room, was creative and beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    306
    93
    23
    5
See reviews for
106
446
45
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in August. The hotel is in a renovated building that opened in 2012. The room was compact, but carefully designed to include many comforts and conveniences. The room and the bathroom were clean and the bed comfortable. The proximity to Central Station makes it easy to travel throughout greater Copenhagen, but also means that it is close to a construction zone for a new Metro line. Front desk staff members were friendly, competent, and helpful. The restaurant is open only for breakfast - the best we encountered during our Scandinavian sojourn. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask about a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila. PA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Andersen Hotel for a night after our Oceanic Cruise. What a pleasant surprise to find ourselves in a hotel in a perfect location with the most pleasant and helpful staff possible !! Loved Sean in the evening- he will help you plan a perfect time in Copenhagen. Everyone else could not have been more professional and truly welcoming !! The rates are good. The rooms large ( by European terms) and bathroom with a shower and adequate towels. There is no air conditioning but there was a temperature controlled fan in the room. Request a courtyard facing room and you will hear no noise of the city ( though I do not believe that a street side room would be all that noisy either). There is no phone in the room but the desk is very willing to let you make local calls. Messages are delivered by notes under the door. You can purchase tickets to Trivoli Gardens and prepaid taxi vouchers to the airport at the desk. This is a definite number 1 choice when picking a hotel in Copenhagen .

Room Tip: A room facing the courtyard is the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a superior king. Wished we hadn't have read the trip advisor reviews beforehand. We had a portable air conditioner in the room which was fine. Room was quiet with double glazing windows. There are roadworks at the moment but they arent constant. Breakfast great and staff super helpful. Location is terrific too. It is not the seediest place in the world. Location is very convenient to train, tivoli and restaurants in the meatpacking district. One thing is that for a design hotel it could use an alarm clock and/or iPod dock in the room. We liked it so much that we have rebooked on our return through copenhagen in two weeks.

Room Tip: Higher up probably better and on side street to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location in Copenhagen with modern spacious rooms and a very helpful and friendly staff. Every request and question has been fulfilled and/or addressed. Breakfast included is well worth it. Hop on Hop Off bus is very close (you can see all the highlights of Copenhagen), Tivoli Gardens is very close and many great restaurants are within walking distance (Krebsegaarden for one). Would highly recommend the Andersen Hotel in Copenhagen. Can get here by train to and from the airport or for about 275K by cab.

Room Tip: If you want a bathtub request it as some rooms only have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kn1653cph, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review.

It is always nice to see pictures - thank you for sharing Andersen Hotel with a lovely sunny sky.

Good to read how you liked our Boutique style hotel. For us it is a small hotel with focus on excellent service, design and all toghether a great experience. Something more than just a place to sleep.

The location is very central and we recommend renting a bike at the Front Desk and explore the city like a local.

We look forward to welcome you back to Andersen Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel only a 2 minute walk from the Central Train Station and a 5 minute walk from Tivoli. It's a very stylish hotel. The rooms are small but on par with European standards. The bed is very comfortable and the bathroom has everything you need. The rooms are very clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful providing me with maps and tips on places to eat. Lots to choose from at breakfast. Overall very satisfied with my stay and would definitely recommend for those wanting a nice place in the centre of Copenhagen.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for a perfect review and a much appreciated recommendation.

We are happy to hear you liked the decor, the clean rooms and our friendly staff.

Please come back and stay with us again - new restaurants and places keep popping up
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Andersen Boutique hotel is undoubtedly a great choice in Copenhagen. While the location feels a little dodgy (being located on a street with strip clubs and posh hotels), it is pretty central, being located less than 10 minutes from the main train station.

Don't let the, for want of a better word, quirky, location fool you though. This is a really smart and well designed hotel. The rooms are brand spanking new and showcase some neat Danish design, which manages to be both sleek and provide hrygge (Danish for cosiness I'm told). The bathrooms feature toiletries by Molton Brown and even a bathtub, though it would struggle to fit a regular sized Dane (no problems for a regular sized Indian such as myself though).

While even the staunchest supporter of the hotel would struggle to describe it as reasonably priced, it is great value for money in one of the most expensive cities I've ever visited. The free wifi and breakfast (generous and tasty) make up some part of the value, but the best part of our stay was the supremely comfortable bed and the thoughtful table fan. Ensured that we were well rested for what turned out to a chaotic day at the airport the next morning.

Our interaction with the staff was limited to check-in and check-out, but Sean at the reception was incredibly helpful and chatty. Certainly made us wish we had stayed there longer.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for a very nice and humorous review.

Most of the bathrooms have a bathtub and a few rooms just have a stand alone shower. You are always welcome to request your preferences. Bathrooms with a bathtub are larger than shower only. We have never thought about the length of the bathtub as they a Danish standard size.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the Molton Brown amenities - and you were able to read the small text on the bottles as Green Park is an exclusive hotel line.

Sorry to hear the airport was chaotic, but suppose you mad your flight in due time

We hope you will stay longer next time you are visiting Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Address: 12 Helgolandsgade | Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Selandia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Daily free Wine-Hour. Free Wi-Fi. Hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen. Decorated in Designers Guild modern bright colors.Rooms feature: Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar and safe. Bathrooms with Molton Brown amenities, most with bathtub and Philippe Starck design.Free Continental Breakfast Bikes for rent.CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andersen Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.