We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy in Copenhagen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andersen Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Andersen Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Andersen Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Helgolandsgade | Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Selandia Hotel) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Wine Hour
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Whakatane, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Classy in Copenhagen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights after a cruise, and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel.We had a good sized room facing the inner courtyard ,so it was quiet.The room was very clean,nicely decorated,and had a comfortable bed and a good bathroom.
The staff speak excellent English and are so friendly and helpful.The hotel serves a great breakfast with lots of fresh goodies that make for a tasty start to the day.
We found the location of the hotel made it easy to walk everywhere ,to the gardens,shopping area ,and the train station.Take the train to the airport,it is cheap and fast and delivers you into the middle of the airport ....so easy( the train station is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel)
We will definitely stay here again when we are next in Copenhagen ,it's a great hotel !

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a fantastic review.

Your praise and positive view on everything from the room to the comfortable bed and the good bathroom are nice to read about. Glad to hear you had a good and quiet nights sleep.

It is very easy to travel from the airport to the Central Station by train. It only takes 12 minutes and the walk to the hotel is short if you take the rear exit from the arrival hall. The opposite exit is also the Tivoli Garden entrance. It is free of charge to bring your bike on the S-train. We rent bikes at the Front Desk for DKK 100.- per day. Definitely a fun way to explore the city.

We are thrilled to hear you will come back and recommend Andersen Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    306
    93
    23
    5
See reviews for
106
444
45
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skien, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from June 5 to 11 during a congress at Bella Center. This a very cozy but also chick hotel, not many combine these two qualities. Very good location, close to the Central station (train), Strøget (shopping) and Gammel Kongevej (shopping). We also walked to Christiania from here. Excellent service, great breakfast (healthy options if you want and they do have boiled eggs), great tea that come with honey if you want, and impeccable beds! Both me and my company will stay at this hotel again when we go back to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for a vey nice review.

We love the compliments on both being a chick and a cozy hotel. The warm and fresh colors makes the ambiance friendly and welcoming and the size of the rooms makes it cozy. Remember Amazing Jr. Suites are the largest rooms.

Comforting to read that you liked everything including our cold buffet breakfast (and the hard boiled eggs). The buffet is complimentary and specialty coffee will be charged. The tea selection is from Østerlandsk Teahouse which is the oldest tea trading company in Denmark.

We look welcome to welcome you back next time you are in Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived yesterday to very hot weather & as no air conditioning we have had to sleep with windows open. The revellers kept us awake until around 2 with their drunken arguments & yelling. The street walkers were abundant & as I wasn't sleeping I watched & counted them - 7 right below us who seem to spend most of their time calling out to each other - they were still working at 5am (daylight by then). The rubbish trucks followed & then the jack hammers . I am not over stating this when i say how noisey it was. Hotel room tiny - I guess we are in a standard room but I can hardly fit round the side of the bed. Bathroom also tiny with basic facilities. Room very clean

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing you experience from a warm, humid and restless Vesterbro night.

I can only apologize for your frustration of not being able to get a good nights sleep. I understand that you experienced street activity far above average.

After reading a few reviews on the noise in the early mornings, we explained to all our suppliers the importance of a quiet delivery, but unfortunately what happens on the street is beyond our control. Jack-hammers are randomly used to build the Copenhagen Metro. Luckily we seldom get the building noise in our direction.

We appreciate your compliments on the impeccable cleaning and will forward review to our Executive Housekeeper

Hopefully, the metro will be finished, the temperature back to normal and the street life quiet the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Pretty well everything about this hotel is perfect. It's very clean, comfortable, quiet, trendily-furnished, well-decorated, well-located for exploring Copenhagen (it's just a few minutes walk from the station), and the staff are very friendly, helpful and professional. The buffet breakfast is amazing, with a huge choice of things to eat, with a strong emphasis on healthy eating - lots of fresh and dried fruit, fruit juices, and loads of different breads, croissants and of course Danish pastries, along with cereals and seeds. The breakfast room staff are extraordinary - they manage to keep all the supplies topped up and the tables cleared and yet make no sound at all - unlike some hotels where they bang dishes as they clear away. The bedrooms are not huge, but are very well equipped, and the beds are very comfortable. A word of warning here though - if you have a restless partner and you're in a double bed, the beds are a bit springy, and my partner and I kept one another awake on the first two nights as we're both fairly restless sleepers. We switched rooms to twin beds pushed together, and then slept so well it was more like unconsciousness or coma than sleep. Fantastic.
There are some good eateries about five minutes away, with quite sophisticated albeit limited menus. We found the Carlton to be the best. If you're going to Copenhagen for leisure, this is one of the best places you could stay. It's not cheap, but you could probably a lot more and not get half the value. This is certainly one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the most excellent rating of Andersen Hotel: Top-notch Boutique Hotel

Your review is just like a Christmas present, it does not get better - Thanks a million

I am pleased to hear you asked to change room, as we have rooms with double beds, twin beds, double duvet and single duvets (Danes prefer single duvets, we must be restless sleepers)

The cafes on the nearby square “Halmtorvet” offers outside seating and they are an easy choice for lunch or Ice coffee at Carlton Cafe.

Frk. Barnes Kælder is our next door neighbor restaurant and another good choice for a convenient local Danish lunch/dinner.

We hope to welcome you back as our regular guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May 2013 and enjoyed the experience. The hotel staff were fantastic and we were made to feel extremely welcome. Hotel well located if arriving into Copenhagen by train. Plenty of good restaurants close by and easy walking to catch hop on, hop off tour bus, go shopping etc.
Enjoyed wonderful breakfast at hotel.
Would be very happy to return.

Room Tip: We had a Brillant double room. Noise was not a problem for us as we stayed on a Mon and Tues night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for a very nice review.

It is comforting to hear that our staff, service and experince lived up to your expectations. We are especially pleased to hear that you would like to return to Andersen Hotel

Our guests recommendations are worth more than thousand words and we are thankful for all the fantastic reviews we receive.

Please come back to see us in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Andersen Hotel sparkles. It has only been open a year, and sparkles like crystal. The decor is modern and still welcoming; the furnishings maintain the style with comfort. Staff are extremely efficient and helpful, with a flawless command of English. Elke and Karen were both outstanding. The rooms are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. It is within walking distance of the major tourist sights and the nyhavn; it is also just on the edge of a slightly seedier area of town, but if you turn left when exiting you will never know that.
The breakfast room is a match for the rest of the hotel, and the breakfast buffet the best we've had anywhere.
Our courtyard-facing room was big enough for an ordinary-sized couple to move around in, to relax on the sofa with a glass of wine, to traverse to and from the bathroom, and there was NO excessive noise.
There may be cheaper hotels, but not many; there can't be any that are nicer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review and your personal regards which I look forward to share with my colleagues.

It is always a pleasant to read when our guests finds Andersen Hotel sparkling and in a good state, For us a boutique hotel is a small individually owned hotel with focus on the personal service, the nice design and a welcoming ambiance.

The cold continental breakfast is complimentary and we are thrilled to read your positive review.

Our courtyard has a few chairs for our guests to relax and maybe enjoy a local beer or cup of coffee. It is a shame how the voices are sometimes carried to the rooms, we will search for a solution in order to meet the needs and wishes from all our guests

We look forward to welcome you back to the friendliest hotel in Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the Andersen Hotel in early June 2013, the night before we boarded a cruise ship. I selected this hotel based on reviews here on TripAdvisor. Overall, I felt this hotel was a good value.

The good things: first of all, be sure to print out the voucher for the free bottle of wine on the Tripadvisor site. It was a very nice touch and much appreciated. Rooms are small but clean. Free Wifi worked fine. The breakfast was great. Staff very friendly, although not very helpful for concierge-type questions. For instance, we wanted a restaurant recommendation for the Nyhavn area. The response: oh, there're all good.

Based on comments here, I requested a quiet room, not facing the main street. We were given a room facing the back courtyard. As another reviewer recently noted, these rooms are not necessarily more quiet. Sounds from conversations taking place in the courtyard echo up through the rooms. Despite the fact we wanted the windows open for ventilation, we had to close them to minimize the noise from the courtyard.

This hotel is in a hip, transitional area. There are trendy restaurants, as well as a handful of erotic-type establishments which are apparently holdovers from the area's more shady past. Walking back to the hotel at night, we were greeted by a prostitute standing at the corner of the hotel. Having said this, the area really did not bother us at all. It seemed perfectly safe. It is a quick 2 block walk from the central train station.

This hotel is a good value compared to other hotels in Copenhagen, and despite the couple of dings I mentioned, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Be aware that courtyard rooms may not necessarily be more quiet than those facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a helpful review.

I am certain future guests will appreciate the reminder to print the Trip Advisor voucher for a bottle of wine.

As previously written there are pros and cons on the rooms in regards to the outside noise level. Fortunately, not all days are as warm as this June.

The Vesterbro neighborhood offers a bit of everything that is found in a cosmopolitan city. Although you experienced the working women and adult establishment we liked that you always felt perfectly safe.

We often receive praise on our service and individual advice on non touristic restaurants and places to visit. In my personal opinion Nyhavn is a fun place to visit on a sunny day, eat an ice cream or have a drink. But I never recommend the restaurants, as I do not know any local foodies dining in Nyhavn. The service level is often below average and so is the food, as I have a feeling the establishments are mainly geared towards tourist visiting once.

Copenhagen has a variety of restaurants with a high service level and chefs who take pride in their job. Check out Andersen Hotel on Pinterest for Restaurant suggestions.

We look forward to welcome you back and promise to update our restaurant recommendation list beforehand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Address: 12 Helgolandsgade | Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Selandia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Daily free Wine-Hour. Free Wi-Fi. Hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen. Decorated in Designers Guild modern bright colors.Rooms feature: Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar and safe. Bathrooms with Molton Brown amenities, most with bathtub and Philippe Starck design.Free Continental Breakfast Bikes for rent.CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andersen Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.