We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andersen Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Andersen Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Andersen Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Helgolandsgade | Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Selandia Hotel) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Wine Hour
Ranked #5 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Top-notch boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Pretty well everything about this hotel is perfect. It's very clean, comfortable, quiet, trendily-furnished, well-decorated, well-located for exploring Copenhagen (it's just a few minutes walk from the station), and the staff are very friendly, helpful and professional. The buffet breakfast is amazing, with a huge choice of things to eat, with a strong emphasis on healthy eating - lots of fresh and dried fruit, fruit juices, and loads of different breads, croissants and of course Danish pastries, along with cereals and seeds. The breakfast room staff are extraordinary - they manage to keep all the supplies topped up and the tables cleared and yet make no sound at all - unlike some hotels where they bang dishes as they clear away. The bedrooms are not huge, but are very well equipped, and the beds are very comfortable. A word of warning here though - if you have a restless partner and you're in a double bed, the beds are a bit springy, and my partner and I kept one another awake on the first two nights as we're both fairly restless sleepers. We switched rooms to twin beds pushed together, and then slept so well it was more like unconsciousness or coma than sleep. Fantastic.
There are some good eateries about five minutes away, with quite sophisticated albeit limited menus. We found the Carlton to be the best. If you're going to Copenhagen for leisure, this is one of the best places you could stay. It's not cheap, but you could probably a lot more and not get half the value. This is certainly one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the most excellent rating of Andersen Hotel: Top-notch Boutique Hotel

Your review is just like a Christmas present, it does not get better - Thanks a million

I am pleased to hear you asked to change room, as we have rooms with double beds, twin beds, double duvet and single duvets (Danes prefer single duvets, we must be restless sleepers)

The cafes on the nearby square “Halmtorvet” offers outside seating and they are an easy choice for lunch or Ice coffee at Carlton Cafe.

Frk. Barnes Kælder is our next door neighbor restaurant and another good choice for a convenient local Danish lunch/dinner.

We hope to welcome you back as our regular guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    358
    105
    26
    5
See reviews for
116
522
59
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May 2013 and enjoyed the experience. The hotel staff were fantastic and we were made to feel extremely welcome. Hotel well located if arriving into Copenhagen by train. Plenty of good restaurants close by and easy walking to catch hop on, hop off tour bus, go shopping etc.
Enjoyed wonderful breakfast at hotel.
Would be very happy to return.

Room Tip: We had a Brillant double room. Noise was not a problem for us as we stayed on a Mon and Tues night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for a very nice review.

It is comforting to hear that our staff, service and experince lived up to your expectations. We are especially pleased to hear that you would like to return to Andersen Hotel

Our guests recommendations are worth more than thousand words and we are thankful for all the fantastic reviews we receive.

Please come back to see us in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Andersen Hotel sparkles. It has only been open a year, and sparkles like crystal. The decor is modern and still welcoming; the furnishings maintain the style with comfort. Staff are extremely efficient and helpful, with a flawless command of English. Elke and Karen were both outstanding. The rooms are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. It is within walking distance of the major tourist sights and the nyhavn; it is also just on the edge of a slightly seedier area of town, but if you turn left when exiting you will never know that.
The breakfast room is a match for the rest of the hotel, and the breakfast buffet the best we've had anywhere.
Our courtyard-facing room was big enough for an ordinary-sized couple to move around in, to relax on the sofa with a glass of wine, to traverse to and from the bathroom, and there was NO excessive noise.
There may be cheaper hotels, but not many; there can't be any that are nicer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review and your personal regards which I look forward to share with my colleagues.

It is always a pleasant to read when our guests finds Andersen Hotel sparkling and in a good state, For us a boutique hotel is a small individually owned hotel with focus on the personal service, the nice design and a welcoming ambiance.

The cold continental breakfast is complimentary and we are thrilled to read your positive review.

Our courtyard has a few chairs for our guests to relax and maybe enjoy a local beer or cup of coffee. It is a shame how the voices are sometimes carried to the rooms, we will search for a solution in order to meet the needs and wishes from all our guests

We look forward to welcome you back to the friendliest hotel in Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the Andersen Hotel in early June 2013, the night before we boarded a cruise ship. I selected this hotel based on reviews here on TripAdvisor. Overall, I felt this hotel was a good value.

The good things: first of all, be sure to print out the voucher for the free bottle of wine on the Tripadvisor site. It was a very nice touch and much appreciated. Rooms are small but clean. Free Wifi worked fine. The breakfast was great. Staff very friendly, although not very helpful for concierge-type questions. For instance, we wanted a restaurant recommendation for the Nyhavn area. The response: oh, there're all good.

Based on comments here, I requested a quiet room, not facing the main street. We were given a room facing the back courtyard. As another reviewer recently noted, these rooms are not necessarily more quiet. Sounds from conversations taking place in the courtyard echo up through the rooms. Despite the fact we wanted the windows open for ventilation, we had to close them to minimize the noise from the courtyard.

This hotel is in a hip, transitional area. There are trendy restaurants, as well as a handful of erotic-type establishments which are apparently holdovers from the area's more shady past. Walking back to the hotel at night, we were greeted by a prostitute standing at the corner of the hotel. Having said this, the area really did not bother us at all. It seemed perfectly safe. It is a quick 2 block walk from the central train station.

This hotel is a good value compared to other hotels in Copenhagen, and despite the couple of dings I mentioned, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Be aware that courtyard rooms may not necessarily be more quiet than those facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a helpful review.

I am certain future guests will appreciate the reminder to print the Trip Advisor voucher for a bottle of wine.

As previously written there are pros and cons on the rooms in regards to the outside noise level. Fortunately, not all days are as warm as this June.

The Vesterbro neighborhood offers a bit of everything that is found in a cosmopolitan city. Although you experienced the working women and adult establishment we liked that you always felt perfectly safe.

We often receive praise on our service and individual advice on non touristic restaurants and places to visit. In my personal opinion Nyhavn is a fun place to visit on a sunny day, eat an ice cream or have a drink. But I never recommend the restaurants, as I do not know any local foodies dining in Nyhavn. The service level is often below average and so is the food, as I have a feeling the establishments are mainly geared towards tourist visiting once.

Copenhagen has a variety of restaurants with a high service level and chefs who take pride in their job. Check out Andersen Hotel on Pinterest for Restaurant suggestions.

We look forward to welcome you back and promise to update our restaurant recommendation list beforehand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile


Pros
-great breakfast, muesli, weaties, dried fruit,fresh cut fruit salad, yoghurt, juice, cheese, hams, delicious rye bread, boiled eggs, toast
-great location
--super convenient 5 min walk to central train station (direct train to airport in 12 mins approx $6usd per person (beats $50usd taxi fare)
--5-10min walk to meatpacking district--awesome restaurant called pâté pâté & others such as mother & fiskebar
-friendly, attentive staff
-spacious room with 3 windows (room #98, 5th floor)
-great shower & tub
-bike rentals available
-5 min walk to Tivoli
-small fan in room
-comfortable large bed

Cons
-no air conditioning
-30 min walk to pedestrianized shopping area
-25 min walk to torvehallerne (great gourmet market place with excellent espresso coffee -coffee collective- & un mercato (great roastery for dinner)

Overall we really liked Andersen hotel & were very happy there. We don't mind walking so for us it was ok. There's a beautiful park on the way to Torvelhallerne which was gorgeous to walk through...it would have been perfect to have a picnic in.

I'm a really light sleeper & I didn't experience any noise issues even with earplugs in & we also had a room facing the courtyard. The blackout blinds were great for the windows...except the skylight in the ceiling didnt have a blind.

We highly recommend the Andersen & would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for an easy to read review.

Your pros are fantastic and your cons easy to live with. I agree Torvehallerne (food stalls by Nørreport) are a bit far away as it takes ca. 30 minutes to walk. On a bike it is about 10 minutes away.

If you enjoy food Torvehallerne is a fun to place to stroll through. They serve a specialty sandwich called: Flæskestegs sandwich (pork) with a a taste of Christmas.

The perception of the outside noise level is quite individual and will differ depending on the weather and the outside activities. Unfortunately, this is beyond our control. We have earplugs at the Front Desk for all our light sleepers not used to city noise. The ceiling window has a built in curtain that pulls down. I believe it is a Danish invention and apologize for not telling you.

Your recommendations is much appreciated and we look forward to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Where to start. Yes, the staff is nice but has no power to help with all the issues. The drapery in the rooms are ill fitted and do not block out light, which is a real problem in a city where in summer the sun sets (sort of) at midnight and rises at 3am. The noise is very irritating. Having read the reviews, I requested a quiet location and was told by the nice staff I had one. I had a room in the back with a courtyard adjacent to 3 apartment buildings where an acoustic cyclone exists. If some neighbor is talking or God forbid playing music with an open window, it sounds like they are right outside your room. Add to this engine roars from the street and barking dogs. The room itself requires double jointed acts of advanced yoga to turn around and the bathroom is just silly, with an open shower/wet room the size of a phone booth. On the bed were tiny half pillows - one per person...I requested another two and was told housekeeping left at three and as soon as they could find one they'd bring it to me.they did after about 30 minutes. If you're looking for a comfortable room in which to rest at the end of a long day of touring around, do not stay here.

Room Tip: There are none
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for a very detailed and helpful review.

It is always pleasant to be able to take action on guests comments, suggestions and good ideas.

We apologize for the curtains being too short and hence letting Nordic Summer Light in. We have contacted the company and they are in the process of loosing the lines to lengthen the curtains.

Your comments on the noise are more difficult to do something about. I am sincerely sorry to hear you had an above average disturbing night. We share the courtyard with local residences and they have so far not caused complaints. We keep our fingers crossed and hope this was a single incident. I wonder if you stayed during Distortion (Electronic Musical)

We do not offer a full pillow menu. There are Scandinavian pillows in all rooms. We also have long international pillows and non allergic pillows, which you are more than welcome to request at all times. The four small pillows with fabric are mainly for decoration.

Thank you for your compliments on our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hotel Room: Grade - A
We stayed for 1 night post-cruise. Room was very clean, spacious with a very comfortable bed.

Food: Grade - B+
Breakfast buffet was quite good.

Hotel Facilities: Grade - B+
Free internet access is available near the lounge.
Free WIFI is available through out.

Staff: Grade - A
Friendly and courteous.

Location: Grade A
10 min. walk from Tivoli and National museum (a free hidden gem).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review.

It sounds like you enjoyed everything about Andersen Hotel and It is especially nice to hear you found the hotel to offer value for money.

It is easy to spend a lot of money in Copenhagen but it is also possible to visit on a budget. The City has a variety of free activities and we try to post free and interesting events on our Facebook The National Museum has lots to offer for young and old alike (and the lunch restaurant is popular) and the Botanical Garden is a peaceful and romantic place to stroll through.

We look forward to welcome you back to Wonderful Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Address: 12 Helgolandsgade | Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Selandia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Daily complimntary Wine-Hour. Free Wi-Fi. Hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen. Decorated in Designers Guild modern bright colors.Rooms feature: Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar and safe. Bathrooms with Molton Brown amenities, most with bathtub and Philippe Starck design.Free Continental Breakfast Bikes for rent.CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andersen Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.