We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andersen Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Andersen Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Andersen Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Helgolandsgade | Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Selandia Hotel) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Wine Hour
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is spot on for a weekend break in Copenhagen.It's very handy for the central station, and there are some cool restaurants nearby in the meat-packing district. Our room was on the first floor and it was pretty small but had everything required for a short break - comfortable bed, good shower (small towels though). Breakfast was great and everyone was super friendly. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your valuable comments and compliments.

We have just upgraded the towels and they are now both larger and softer.

Look forward to welcome you back and we truly appreciate the recommendation

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    304
    92
    22
    5
See reviews for
106
442
45
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We found this hotel excellent. Our room on the fifth floor was comfortable, reasonably spacious, clean and stylish and our request for a courtyard room had been met and we had no noise issues at all. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist who gave us a complimentary glass of fizz and there was complimentary fruit and chocolates in our room. We found breakfast excellent although there were no hot dishes available but this was not a problem for us. The hotel hired us bikes (100dkk for the day) which were a good way of getting around the city. The hotel is situated conveniently close to the station and Tivoli gardens. The hotel may be in a red light district but unless you are particularly sensitive to this sort of activity I certainly wouldn't let this deter you.

Room Tip: Overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive and informative review.

I agree that the rooms facing the court yard are very quiet. As all the windows are soundproof the larger rooms facing the street are quite attractive in the colder season.

All our bikes have lights, which makes it perfect for a winter ride in the dark - just wear your gloves and make a few coffee breaks to keep warm.

Nice to hear that you also enjoyed our complimentary breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

A very clean and friendly hotel. The area wasn't an issue- although on the edge of the red light district it did not impact at all, and the station just a few minutes walk away was a bonus. Our room was much smaller than the one our friends were in on the fifth floor ( we were on 4). The breakfast was very good and all hotel staff we came in contact with were friendly. A special mention for Sean, who was so welcoming and hospitable when we returned to collect the cases on our last day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We have different room types and "Cool" is the smallest room, whereas "Brilliant" is larger and our Jr. Sutes are the largest we have. You are always able to upgrade to the next category for a small charge.

As always, I proudly share compliments and kind words with my great staff:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Ansersen Hotel is a very clean, hip hotel near the central train station. Service was excellent, both receptionist were very helpful, they were able to supply us with phone chargers and free wifi. Rooms were small, but from my understanding all rooms are this size in Scandanavia. The breakfast, which is included in the price of the hotel was exellent; many varieties of juces, cerials, cheese, cold cuts and local pastries. The location of Andersen Hotel is close to all major attractions, My wife and I were out from late morning till midnight all weekend and never felt unsafe coming home at late hours. The only down side is this is sort of a red light area and we have seen few prostitutes on street corners.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for the comforting compliments on our service, choice of breakfast and the location.

We hope to welcome you back to Andersen Hotel and Copenhagen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Lived up to expectations, after reading many reviews: A perfect, boutique hotel in 'downtown' Copenhagen. Modern, clean, simple, excellently serviced by helpful, warm staff. High value as a base for a short visit to a city well known for its prices. Minutes from Kodbyens Fiskebar (for culinary biased hipsters), an easy stroll to the main shopping area, and almost on the doorstep of the station. The only warning would be that the area is clearly the red light district of Vesterbro. There are a few conspicuous porn shops and a couple of forlorn, let's be disingenuous and call them 'courtesans', on the corner. Although not essentially threatening, we were glad our young kids weren't there. Certainly doesn't distract from the excellent quality and value of the hotel, and our room on the top floor was startlingly quiet at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your very excellent review.

I could not have put it better myself. Your compliments on the hotel are spot on, as well as the advice on the Vesterbro neighbourhood.

The rooms on the 5th floor are very cozy as it is under the roof and some have a nice roof top city view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in the Andersen last month. It's a really funky hotel, has a really good vibe and is very close to Central station. The room was a tad small but was spotless. The bathroom was exceptionally clean also. The great thing about the hotel is the staff. As mentioned on other reviews Sean is fantastic and is a real asset to the hotel. I'd also like to mention Rikke - we found her extremely helpful and charming. She went out of her way to help us. The only downside, if you can call it that, is that there are some 'ladies of the night' nearby. They didn't bother us and we felt extremely safe there but once you're aware of this. I'd definitely stay in the Andersen again!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, General Manager at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for the great description and the nice compliments to Rikke and Sean.

It is always pleasant to hear that our guests have had a wonderful time and are ready to return to Andersen Boutique Hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back to expolore more of Wonderful Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights with friends as as per reviews on here we were concerned. However, the hotel is 5 mins max from the central train station and in a great location for exploring the city. The protitutes would not have even been noticed unless we had read about it on here. There a literally a couple of girls stading on the corner in passing you would think they were meeting people. They really were not a problem at all. Service at the hotel was excellent, we had a pre-agreed rate and requested a partcular room (courtyard side so as quiet) and everything was perfect. The included breakfast was lovely cereals nuts fresh fruit salad tea coffee cheese freah bread boiled eggs etc it was very nice and we enjoyed it. The beds were comfortable and warm, the room clean and lovely. I asked for a second pillow and it was sent to my room straight away, 10 out of 10

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, the wonderful posting and the compliments

It is reassuring that you felt safe and enjoyed Andersen Hotel and Vesterbro
.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Address: 12 Helgolandsgade | Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Selandia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Daily free Wine-Hour. Free Wi-Fi. Hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen. Decorated in Designers Guild modern bright colors.Rooms feature: Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar and safe. Bathrooms with Molton Brown amenities, most with bathtub and Philippe Starck design.Free Continental Breakfast Bikes for rent.CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andersen Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.