We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Twentyseven

Save Saved
You added First Hotel Twentyseven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
First Hotel Twentyseven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Longangstraede 27, Copenhagen 1468, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 118 hotels in Copenhagen
Newcastle
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Having just come back from a 3 night stay at Hotel 27 I was a bit surprised to read some of the negative reviews, as I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. My room was spacious (though I did have a twin to myself) with two large beds and new modern furniture and fittings. It faced the back of the hotel and I wasn't at all troubled by noise (although the town hall clock bells are audible if you're a light sleeper).
The bathroom was also spacious, clean and well finished with a slate effect floor and glass shower cubicle.
Bed linen and towels were fresh and luxurious.
I had breakfast included and this was a buffet of good quality and plentiful, though the breakfast room (which doubles as a wine bar in the evenings) could get crowded at peak times. Furnishings there are a modern Scandinavian mix of rustic and Ikea-style that I found pleasant (though I could have lived without the ubiquitous photo of the woman with her dress over her head)
Wifi is free throughout the hotel, with the login routinely provided with the key card. I had no problems getting connected.
On the slightly negative side I did find the room (and the breakfast room) a bit overheated, but this did seem to be true of indoors Copenhagen generally. Heating is from radiators and I didn't find any means of turning them down.
I'd certainly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you think you might be troubled by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    414
    250
    132
    64
See reviews for
71
360
74
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed at First Hotel Twentyseven in late October. When I arrived, there was no one at reception and I had to go to the bar to ask for someone. A receptionist casually came over to book me in, and although it was probably not their intention, it felt like I was being an inconvenience to them. The lounge/bar/restaurant areas were nice, and the room was basic, which I don't mind, but what bothered me was the soiled armchair next to the bed that I had to face while sleeping. The curtains and wall corners were chipped and blackened. When I stay at a hotel, I expect the furnishing standards to be acceptable, but I felt like this time I would rather be in my own home. However, the hotel was very closely located to the main shopping area and restaurants. I'm giving it three stars because it wasn't an entirely bad experience, but I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree, Essex
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was one night on a business trip to Copenhagen. The room - albeit a single - was very compact and I struggled to get into the shower area. The breakfast area may be classed as "funky" or "trendy" but for me felt like a boarding school food hall or a student halls. The food though was very good and fresh.
Location was good for the centre area.
Overall though I would have preferred a more traditional hotel with room service etc.
sorry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Decent hotel with a great location. Would recommend it. Good breakfast. Close to Stroget and other tourist areas. Nice service at the front desk. Quite small rooms but ok standard. Decent bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Ice Bar, Wine Room and Honey Ryder Cocktail bar was what drew me to this hotel and I wasn't disappointed. The Ice Bar was a great novelty on a holiday and very accommodating even though it wasn't much cooler than outside! The train station is a short walk away and a 15 min journey to the airport. Tivoli Gardens is just at the end of the road and we were spoilt for choice for bars and restaurants in the vicinity...we actually went to a few on the same road. The hotel rooms are clean and comfortable but quite small however, I'm finding this to be a standard these days. The only downside was that were seemed to be a lot of noise in the area. The town hall bells going every hour etc so if you're a light sleeper then you might struggle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I have read many reviews about this hotel some bad and some good. The truth is that the hotel is centrally located, it is completely reniewed, fancy, breakfast is excellent! And in general I was satisfied about the quality/cost ratio. If I will come back I will certally look at this hotel. Reccommended!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What do you need for a City Centre break? A hotel that is a short walk from the station. A warm welcome from reception. A room that is comfortable and reasonably equipped. A hltel that is in the heart of the City but in a reasonably quiet side street. An excellent breakfast. Friendly staff.
Secure luggage retention. This hotel provides all of these things and is sufficiently different to remind yourself that you are in Denmark and not the anonymous space that could be in any City. I have to say that, having read previous reviews, I tried to be disturbed at night, insulted by the staff, confused by the luggage system and overall disappointed but the hotel failed to deliver on any of these points. Copenhagen during Advent is an enchanting City and this hotel is an excellent base from which to experience it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at First Hotel Twentyseven, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review!

On behalf of First Hotel 27 and all our employees - I thank you for taking time to send this nice feedback.

Indeed I am happy you did try all aspects of the service, and got a good service and experience in all corners of the house :-)

We hope to be able to welcome you back some time again soon!!!

Very best

Martin P. Kraunsøe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to First Hotel Twentyseven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Twentyseven

Address: Longangstraede 27, Copenhagen 1468, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Twentyseven 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your First Hotel Twentyseven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Twentyseven
Clarion Collection Copenhagen
Clarion Collection Twentyseven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Twentyseven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.