We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Amazing Staff, hmmm Dirty courtyard, poor disgusting food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Twentyseven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Twentyseven to your Saves list
First Hotel Twentyseven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Longangstraede 27, Copenhagen 1468, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Amazing Staff, hmmm Dirty courtyard, poor disgusting food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed in this hotle last year and it was fabulous, this is the reason we returned. Unfortunatley this year a huge let down. The food was recycled over 3 days YUK... The courtyard had dirty glasses from 2 previous nights and there cigarette ends all over the place. We had to request housekeeping on 2 separate occassions for new clean towels and new bedding.........very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DortheEkelin, General Manager at First Hotel Twentyseven, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts about your stay here at Hotel Twentyseven on March 25th to March 28th. We want happy guests and we always give the best service possible. It is through our guests we can improve our product and services and I have shared your complaint with every head of department in the hotel and I regret that your stay at Hotel Twentyseven did not meet your expectations.

Complementary Light dinner buffet.
The executive chef at Hotel Twentyseven has been here for the past three years. He spend most of his time in the kitchen. In every restaurant kitchen things are being re-used, but never beyond common kitchen regulations. Items that has been served on the buffet does not come out again the night after. Same type of dish possible, but in that case made out of properly handled foods, following the guidelines of HACCP, witch contains rules for procedures of cooling, reheating, storage and so forth.
Hotel Twentyseven have a fairly wide and varied selections of items being served on the hotels complementary light evening buffet. It is unluckily that You didn’t find anything else in Your likings despite the fairly wide and varied selections of items being served.

Courtyard
We are in the end process of changing windows and some of the old windows are stowed in Courtyard. At the same time we are preparing for “pimping” Courtyard before the summer season starts. Therefore we have a sign on the door into Courtyard, were we apologize for the mess and inconvenience this may cause. Courtyard will be up running again in the early beginning of April with a fabulous new design and great furniture for chill out and fun. Courtyard will be cool, nice and cozy! I once again regret the inconvenience this mess has caused you.

Housekeeping
With 200 rooms we cannot make up all rooms at 12 AM but we clean the rooms as fast as we can every day and always before 2 PM. Housekeeping also cleaned your room and it was personally checked by our supervisor. At Hotel Twentyseven we are very concern about the environment and want to limit the washing of towels, lined e.g. This means that towels which are thrown on the floor will be changed. This is a common procedure in hotels around the world. Sunday you asked for clean towels which you got. Maybe you noticed the black sign placed on the towels were we explain the procedure? Bed lined is changed every 4th day or upon request.

The reception staff has not been notified about the disappointments you have experienced during your stay and therefore they did not have a chance to help or make up for the problems which had accurried. During the weekend the reception was only approached by you once.

It would have been helpful if you had express your opinion during your stay and not after check-out. Then we would have explained the current situation for you – we want satisfied happy guests and we always do our outmost to solve any problems or misunderstandings.
I wish you a wonderful spring - full of joy and happiness!
Truly love,
Dorthe Fryd Ekelin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    352
    251
    132
    69
See reviews for
81
418
82
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead Hertfordshire UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

10 min walk from station, Stroget, National Museum, 15 mins froms Nyhavn. Sightseeing bus 5 mins walk away.

Staff cannot do enough for you.

This is such a cool hotel, minamalistic, funky, trendy. Great dj playing sounds between 10-2 on Friday/Saturday. Was given complimentary cocktails on Saturday night - champagne, licorice, organic vodka and apricot liquer!

Buffet breakfast and evening meal, which makes Copenhagen affordable. Avoid alcohol it is incredibly expensive - stock up in the duty free and bring it out with you.

Happy to answer any questions you may have - dbartdodo@aol.com

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Hotel Twentyseven was the perfect hotel for me and my husband during our trip to Copenhagen. We like to be relatively "thrifty" travelers and so prices in Copenhagen were somewhat of a shock. Therefore we were a bit nervous based on some other reviews whether the "light" buffet for dinner was going to be enough to hold us over. Let's just say "light" is not the right word the hotel should be using. The dinner buffet was more than enough for us - and we're pretty big eaters. They had salads, soup, cold dishes, vegetarian dishes, hot dishes, and a full spread of breads, crackers, and cheeses. Even though it was quite busy, every item of food was replenished quickly and completely. The breakfast buffet was just as plentiful and the access to coffee all the time was great as well (especially since we saw signs for $13 lattes!). The rooms were a bit small, but typical of most European city hotels.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korsør
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Hotel27 is a modern hotel with a great bar. Its perfect for youngsters, the Staff is very helpfull and the complimentary dinner is beyond words. I truly enjoyed my stay. If you decide to visit the icebar during your stay, the Hotel will give you a free drink. Its an experience and a group of friends can have a lot of fun in the icy surroundings.

The hotel is placed in central Copenhagen but in a quite area, and can be a bit tricky to find for tourists. Strøget is only 10 minutes walk away wich makes shopping convinient

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

I had an excellent stay at the Hotel Twentyseven during my visit to Copenhagen. I cannot fully express how friendly and helpful the entire staff was during our entire stay. From an early check-in with no problems, to their outstanding assistance in solving unique travel plans, the whole staff (from front-desk, maintenance, cleaning and dinning area) was one of the best I have experienced in my extensive travels.

The hotel was conviently located in the heart of Copenhagen, only blocks from many restaurants, bars, mueseums and shopping. Only a slightly longer walk to the main train station.

Food was great at both the free breakfast and dinner. A great selection of foods, and great coffee machine available 24/7. Everything was clean and enjoyable.

I would most certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

I stayed with a friend in this hotel and loved it. The only thing I could find fault was that it says it was boutique but our room was very minimalistic. Other than that our twin bed room was a very good size, the shower was absolutely fabulous, the bathroom was extremely clean and as we stayed on the fifth floor (going on recommendations from other posters here) we didn't have any problems at all. I'm not sure we would have even if we had stayed on another floor.
The service was grand and when we arrived late on our first night they had a free snack for us as we had missed the evening buffet, which was really great.
The food buffet for the breakfast and the evening were what made it for me. Our room cost €70 ppn which is expensive for me but with such great buffets it was well worth it and we saved money by having the option of not eating out every night. The standard of the food was excellent and we slept through on our last morning and were gutted at having missed the breakfast.
The hotel was really clean throughout and they had lovely design books for you to peruse in the lounge, where you were free to grab a coffee if you wished and some fruit. The location was perfect, very near the central station, bus city tours and shopping and tourist areas.
Initially I thought this was an expensive stay but it was definitely worth it compared to other hotels I've seen advertised here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

The hotel itself is very nice with modern room design. Some nice extras I was not used to: dinner buffet (included), possibility to order early bird breakfast if you have to leave extra early for the airport. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Twentyseven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Twentyseven

Address: Longangstraede 27, Copenhagen 1468, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Twentyseven 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel Twentyseven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Twentyseven
Clarion Collection Copenhagen
Clarion Collection Twentyseven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Twentyseven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.