We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a fantastic city - tak!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel City to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20-30%
Ranked #16 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great hotel in a fantastic city - tak!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Just got back from 5 days in Copenhagen. i'd never been to scandinavia before and now I can't wait to go back!
I booked the hotel through Thomas Cook online after reading reviews here and we weren't disappointed. The superior room was lovely and all the staff very friendly.
Jorgen ... great coffee ;) All reception staff were great and very helpful.
Copenhagen itself was lovely and having such a good base made it so much fun to go and explore each day, knowing we had a nice room, comfy beds and funky danish chairs to come back to.
Very central location, right near the very pretty Nyhavn. An ample breakfast with lovely selection. Good clean rooms and 24hr reception. We felt very comfortable here and would go back given the chance.
tak !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    330
    148
    21
    6
See reviews for
79
329
65
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, Kent
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Location? - perfect. 10 minutes to Nyhavn or the metro or the stroget shopping street.
Room ? - being larger people we paid a little extra for a larger room and were not dissapointed at all. Nicely decorated throughout with good sized bathroom including walk in wet floor shower. In fact the bed was better than our own.
Value? - European city hotels are never cheap, but for the price this one is extremely good value. The "continental breakfast" was the best we've ever seen - a buffet of cheeses and cooked meats, 2 or 3 different types of bread and the same for bread rolls, yoghurts, juices, endless choice of tea bags or coffee, cereals and...of course...Danish pastries! They even had hot bacon, sausage and scrambled egg.
Staff?- Reception staff were excellent as were the folk ensuring tables were cleared and the wonderful breakfast buffet was well stocked. The cleaning ladies were thorough and respectful.
All in all this is an example of the highest standard for other Best Western hotels to follow. I will have to write a review for the one we stay in NY when we visit my in-laws as they could learn a lot from a visit to Denmark!.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Stayed with my husband for a long weekend in superior room:
Postives:
-Great service from the hotell staff (both front desk, housekeeping and breakfast)
-Breakfast included in roomrate. Pelnty of choice. Always refilled. Best coffee ever!
-Great location. 5 min walk from Nyhavn. 10 min from Strøget. 10 min to metro.
-Spacious room, clean and fresh.
-Free WIFI in room
-Nette at the front desk is a star! :-)

Negatives:
-Rooms towards the atrium feel a bit gloomy since very little light gets in. Ask for a room on a high floor towards the street.
-Duvets/covers for the bed were of very poor quality. OK for summertemeratures, but you will freeze in winter. All the stuffing had bundled up to one ball.
-No room service
-Very small bathroom. Shower was the smallest I have ever seen.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

The hotel was easy to find, I took the Metro from the Kastrup Airport and got off at Kongens Nytorv . The price was about $5.00 US and 34.50 DKK. Its about 5 stops from the airport, Kogens Nytorv is in the heart of the city in front of the Magasin du Nord dept store and a couple steps from Stroget pedestrian shopping street. The pavements in the area have a combination of cement & cobblestones, do not take a lot of luggage if you use the metro. The hotel is a block & half (5 min walk) from the metro station in a center city residential area a few steps from the Harbor. The hotel is small but has all your needs, it has 2 elevators but no restaurant (they sell sandwiches and salads) at the bar, but there are many restaurants within walking distance. The single rooms are a bit small but very clean, and functional, flat screen HD TV with modern decor pristine tile bathrooms. The double rooms are much larger, but with the same decor. A buffet breakfast is complimentary` with a wide selection of delicious breakfast foods. The staff was very friendly and most efficient with taxis service (a 2 min wait ) and directions on how to get around. Most of the tourist sites were within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

This hotel is ideally located. The metro is just a block away, hence getting to and from the airport is easy. Many good cafes, restaurants, sight seeing attractions, and shops are all within easy walking distance. The rest of the city is equally easily accessible by public transport.
The breakfast buffet (which was included in the price) was excellent - generous and of good quality - which makes for a great start to the day.
Despite being a Best Western hotel it does not feel like a chain hotel, it's not too big and has a pleasant easy going atmosphere.
Of the four reception staff we encountered two were really friendly and helpful, one was reserved but helpful, and one seemed as though he would rather be somewhere else. Pretty good for a hotel.
The breakfast / kitchen staff were all without exception really friendly and helpful.
Our standard room was clean and comfortable, and while not huge was perfectly adequate. Even though it fronted on to the main street the room was quiet at night.
The bottom line: we would very happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

We came here for a short break but were caught by the volcanic ash cloud and stayed a week longer than planned. We couldn't have wished for a better place. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating, letting us re-book bit by bit as required, and at the end honouring our deal prices for the whole stay. They also let us keep the same room. The free wi-fi was such a help as we tried to rearrange work commitments, long-distance. The hotel itself is very central - with walks in all directions. Its lobby and breakfast room are spacious and calming; and it was wonderful to be able to migrate with a breakfast pot of coffee to sit in easy chairs and plan our tactics. The buffet at breakfast was kept topped up, and there was plenty for vegetarians - including lots of fresh fruit. Although we were only in a standard room, we were given a kettle and tea and coffee, so we could access British comforts! Everything was clean and sparkling; lovely duvets and very comfortable beds. Top marks!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

The superior double rooms are comfortable, well-appointed and fairly spacious (except for the shower which is pretty small).
The breakfast buffet (the only meal they serve) was of good quality with plenty of choice. There is a small bar.
The hotel is in a quiet location near the waterfront. Kongens Nytorv metro station is a few minutes walk away, with trains to the airport.
For Copenhagen, where everything is fiercely expensive, Hotel City provides pleasant and comfortable accommodation at relatively reasonable cost. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel City

Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#17 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel City 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.