We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel City to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20-30%
Ranked #16 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed for three days, and it was very good indeed. Nice room, very comfortable bed and well situated in the middle of the city. You can walk to most places easily and they have bikes to borrow.

One downside was that the room was very, very hot and only had a fan (which was quite loud) but no a/c. It was during a heatwave so maybe this is an unusual situation.

Breakfast was a really nice buffet with just about everything you could think of.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    332
    149
    21
    6
See reviews for
79
331
65
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We booked this hotel as we are Best Western loyalty card holders and on past experience their level of satisfaction has always been high.
Well located in Ny Haven almost on the waterfront, it was an excellent staring point for our cruise which started two days later. Restaurants abound along the canal side but, be warned, they are not cheap. The cost of the hotel was OK for the central capital city location, but generally speaking Copenhagen rivals the rest of Europe for being the most expensive. Half litre of lager £7. and a pleasant but not stunning meal cost over £100 for two.
The hotel itself was great with very attentive staff and I would imagine benefitting from a recent upgrade as everywhere was spotless and comfortable. Whilst it had no restaurant it had a small but very smart bar and an excellent breakfast buffet with all you needed. Why do so many people spirit away rolls and fruit for their lunch?
The acid test is would I stay there again/recommend it ---yes.
Also worthy of not is that the hotel has negotiated fixed taxi fares to the airport and cruise terminals cheaper than other taxis meters..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed a three day stay at a comfortable hotel in a good location near all the tourist sights in Nyhavn, Copenhagen. Easy walk to the best restaurants on the waterfront. Very friendly staff and good breakfast. Comfortable bed and room amenities in a "superior" room. Will stay there again if returning to Copenhagen. Internet access a problem, however.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Though tight bY US standards this hotel was perfectly comfortable with an exceptional breakfast. Just the right location for tourist travel. Staff very helpful. Recommended Tony's restaurant around the corner and we were not disappointed. Cozy and eclectic environment with delicious fare, not your typical Italian, but delightful. We both had cold potato soup with smoked fish, light and airy followed by the linguine with mussels dressed with herbs and wine, wonderful. Price was typical of a good restaurant in Europe.
Highly recommend it.


we were not disappointed

Room Tip: No a/c on second fl. So find something higher in the middle of the summer if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for a 3 night break in Copenhagen. I picked it due to the location - which was fantastic. In fact overall the hotel was excellent for the price: great breakfast, location, and very friendly and helpful staff.

The only reason why I didn't give this a 5 star is that the rooms are very hot and bed very soft, so we didn't actually sleep very well. The bed is obviously a personal thing (others may have found them very comfortable) but the rooms were very hot - which isn't helped by the fact that they are small. At night we had both the windows open and the fan on, but this didn't make much difference. However I doubt there are many hotels with air conditioning in Copenhagen, so this isn't a problem just for this hotel.

A couple of things to mention:
You can hire bikes from the hotel for the day (about 125 kroner). Highly recommend this - we decided to use them and it was a great way to explore the city. Copenhagen is very bike friendly, with most roads having separate cycle lanes. Also it was really good fun!

The reception can order a taxi for the airport, which is a fixed price - about 220 kroner I think. We had to get a taxi at 530am, it arrived really quickly and at that time of day only took 20mins to get to the airport.

I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Everything was perfect, the location is excellent, we could walk to almost every main attractions. The service is really kind and engish spoken by evry one, and even a little french, wich is our maternal language.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel is rated 3 star but I have given it a 4 star because of its excellent breakfast which is included in the room rate. The breakfast includes both hot and cold items and is displayed very attractively. The hot items are the usual English breakfast (bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, beans) while cold boiled eggs, deli meats, yogurts, cheeses, fresh fruits, and cold cereal are also available. The bread selection features hearty breads, buns, and Danish pastries. We looked forward to this breakfast each day which was available in a clean, spacious room with 3 American and Danish newspapers should one wish to catch up on the headlines. This area also had 2 computer stations (free Wifi) with a printer, handy for printing out boarding passes.

We stayed 2 nights after our cruise. Our room was ready when we arrived at 9 am and check in was very fast. The hotel has some steps from the sidewalk, but a good elevator to the bedroom floors above. The rooms are spacious for a small hotel with room to walk around after luggage is placed on the floor. The beds are comfortable enough and have duvets. There is a large work table with coffee kettle and a large screen wall TV. Lots of table space for a computer; free in room Wifi too. Comfy wheeled computer chair at the desk and 2 other lounge type chairs for sitting in. The bathroom seemed to be even tighter than the one in our cruise ship, but sparkling clean with granite tile floors, shelf, and shower. The sink is especially small - like that in a railway train car. I don't think one could even wash a pair of socks or undies in it. The toiletries are those common to the Best Western chain. We had 2 windows in our room which opened for wonderful fresh air at night. I noticed a fan in the closet for use on warmer nights. I liked that the hallway had a niche where the iron and ironing board were kept so one didn't have to phone housekeeping for one. Unfortunately there is no room safe, but one could leave valuables at the front desk.

We chose this hotel for its reasonable rates with breakfast and proximity to sights. All the sights we wanted to see were within a 10-15 minute walking distance (like canal boats, Rosenberg Castle, Slotshaven, Stroget for shopping, National Museum). Best to eat dinner in the city center (I highly recommend the restaurant called, Tight, close to the Stroget). Area around the hotel is quiet. Front desk will phone for a taxi to take you to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel City

Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel City 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.