We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, would stay there again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel City to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20-30%
Ranked #16 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Westminster, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, would stay there again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I always book hotels city center. This is on a very quiet street, 1/2 block from the main waterway promenade and 2 blocks from the side canal where all the restaurants are for people watching. Small rooms, great bathrooms and good breakfast. Would stay there again. Staff was extremely helpful with directions.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    333
    149
    21
    6
See reviews for
79
331
65
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I realize hotel rates in Europe are sky high but that doesn't mean they should be. I don't pay this much in the U.S. for a decent hotel room. $279.61 per night including taxes and breakfast.
We received a Superior room and I guess that referred to the coffee pot in our room. The beds were very uncomfortable. They were low to the ground and a three inch (maybe) thick "mattress" sat on a box spring. I had to fold the comforter in half and lay on that in order to sleep. Rather than a flat-screen TV I would have liked a thicker mattress.
The shower floor was on the same level as the rest of the tiny bathroom. The shower curtain did not keep the water in the shower area.
The hotel provided table fans since the weather got pretty warm and there wasn't much breeze. Of course leaving the windows open meant waking at 4:00 a.m. when the sun came up. Windows in Europe do not have screens but for some reason we didn't have a problem with bugs flying in.
Location was great if you want to walk around the city, which we did, both days. We only took a taxi to the airport. Cheapest eating is on the canal before 4:00 p.m..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix,AZ
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at The Best Western Hotel City on August 29, 2010. We started a Princess Baltic cruise the next day.
We were able to check in almost right away(9am or so), we had an early arrival flight.
The hotel had no hot water when we checked in, but by the next morning there was hot water to take a shower.
The hotel has 2 elevators,in room free Wi-Fi 9if you have a laptop or equiv.and an area in lobby with 2 computers for guest use.
The hotel has 81 rooms on 5 floors. We had a superior room which has a coffee/hot pot.
It is approximately a 5 min. walk to the Metro. Easy walk to the Round Tower and Nyhavn canal area which has the colorful buildings and boats.
Our room rate came with a breakfast buffet,which is served off the lobby area in a room. It was a very good breakfast.
There is a small bar which we had a snack. The prices are Carlsberg beer 25,00 DKK,soft drink 20,00DKK,sandwich 32,00DKK, and chips 10,00DKK.
We enjoyed our stay despite the hot water issue.
It was about a 10 min. cab ride on a Sunday around 11:30am to get to our Princess ship dock.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Great little hotel for the price. The location is great - 10 minutes walk to the metro (direct line to the airport) and shopping area and 5 minutes walk to Nyhaven with its great bars and restarants.
The hotel itself was clean and functional. Staff were very helpful. The room was small but it was fine. Rather hot and no air con. I noticed that the hotel opposite had small fans whcih might have been a good idea here. There was some noise one night but it was the week-end after the end of exams for Danish students. The breakfast buffet was good for the money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed here for business. It is conveniently located, in a quite area. The value for money is alright in view of the very high hotel prices prevailing in Copenhagen. The room was tiny but clean and functional. Internet access worked fine. Breakfast was good. Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in a superior room. The room was of a generous size with a desk and chair and plenty of space for two suitaces. The opening windows unfortunately looked into the rooms adjacent so we had to be careful with the placement of the curtains to ensure privacy. The bathroom was a bit on the small side but hey that's Europe.

The included breakfast was very good with plenty of choices and was replenished regularly. There were two free internet terminals however only one was in working order for our entire stay. The female reception staff were very helpful and went out of their way to be polite. However the same could not be said for a male member of staff who was on reception. He had a bad attitude and almost seemed put out if anyone asked him a question or needed help.

The hotel is well located and is a short walk from the Metro and lots of tourist attractions that Copenhagen has to offer. Overall a good place to stay and I would recommend it to others as an affordable option in very expensive Copenhagen.

Room Tip: opt for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, MA USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

The rooms were small, as were most of the moderately priced hotels in Scandinavia we stayed at, but clean and comfortable. We paid half the price ($200) per night of the Radisson Blu the night before. The staff was helpful, the lobby inviting. There was a small bar, but there never seemed to be anyone in it. The breakfast (included in room price) was one of the best we had on our whole trip - great variety, salad items, fresh fruits, as well as the usual breads, cheese and meats. We were just a couple of blocks from the beautiful Nyhavn harbor area, where we had a wonderful lunch at Told and Snaps, with a lot of local businessmen, and a delicious dinner at Cap Horn sitting outside along the water while watching boats go by and listening to street musicians.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel City

Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel City 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.