We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a solo traveller: location, friendly staff, great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Mayfair

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Mayfair to your Saves list
First Hotel Mayfair
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Helgolandsgade 3, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hotel for a solo traveller: location, friendly staff, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Clarion Collection. I was so impressed from the moment I arrived. It's all the little things that this hotel does to ensure you are comfortable - lighting tea lights, providing tea and coffee and plenty of amazing food, even giving you personal note from the person who cleans your room. I booked a single room, and it fit me and my two massive bags easily, and everything I needed was there and the perfect place. I walked here from the central station, and found it easily and quickly without using a map. The room was quiet and very clean. The bed was very comfortable, and when I couldn't sleep from jetlag, the really fast free wi fi kept me busy. I actually don't want to leave it's so nice! Not a 5 star hotel, but 5 star for effort, comfort and it was perfect for me!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    507
    183
    44
    33
See reviews for
124
647
83
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peachland, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

I stayed at the Mayfair for three nights in May 2010. The room was fine -- standard size (ie, small by North American standards but not cramped). The wi-fi worked as did the LCD TV. Warning: the bed was the softest bed I have ever had in a hotel. My wife loved it and still raves about it. I prefer a hard bed and if you do too, be aware.

The public spaces were very nice and much used by the guests. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

Breakfasts were good, and quite interesting. The afternoon tea was a nice touch. The evening meal was clearly designed as a snack, but it could be used instead of eating out, if you don't mind the same menu each night. So if you're looking to save money on meals, or if you're too tired to go out to eat, this is an excellent feature. It's not really a true half-board setup, nor do they advertise it as such. Think of it as a B&B with a really excellent evening snack. They provide no free drinks with supper, but beer prices in the hotel were not overly high for Copenhagen. Note: Copenhagen is not a cheap city in which to eat and drink.

The location is 500 metres from the train station, which links you right to the ariport. It's not super close to the prime tourist strolling areas. I used city buses to get to and from the hotel to downtown. In my younger, fitter, days I would not have found the walk to be too far.

The neighbourhood seemed safe enough. There is a strip club directly across the street but I certainly wouldn't describe the area as seedy.

Copenhagen is expensive, and this was my first time there, so I cannot comment on the value-for-money aspect. There are many lovely hotels in cities I visit frequently that I no longer use because I've found an almost-as-good place that is better value. But if I was stopping over in Copenhagen again for a few days I'd have no compunction about going back to the Mayfair.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

The Clarion Mayfair is ideally located five minutes walk from the central train station, the link to Copenhagen’s airport. The young and friendly staff who greeted us provided excellent service throughout our stay.

Our room on the 5th floor was spacious and comfortable with an en suite bathroom and a sofa. We slept soundly on the bed, and I’ve even bought the ‘low-rise’ pillows since getting home!

On the ground floor there are several communal areas. For once this space was somewhere you could relax comfortably. The decor is contemporary and colourful, and the log fire makes it very cosy, especially on snowing winter evenings. With free and secure Wi-fi it was a great place to sit and read or browse the web, especially as complementary tea and coffee is served all day.

But the best and most surprising thing about the Clarion Mayfair was the food. On top of bed & breakfast, the price also includes afternoon tea and a buffet dinner. From 3-6pm they serve delicious cake (alongside the tea and coffee). And from 6-9pm there are an excellent variety of quality dishes available. Both nights of our stay we ended up enjoying six or seven course meals in the lovely dining area, and considering restaurant prices in Copenhagen, this made the Clarion Mayfair superb value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Stayed at this hotel recently and had to put a review on here about it!

The rooms were so posh! - I was in a double room, just the right size and really nicely decorated. It felt quite posh as the theme of the room was in very classy turquoise and green theme. The bed head was posh leather and the bed was so sumptuous!

There was a nice chair to lounge in and relax and there was also a desk to work at.

My parents were also in a double but theirs was larger than mine and had a chez lounge and more space to move around.

The bathroom was also very posh, marble, with a glass shower.

The staff were amazing! Really helpful couldn't do enough to help, gave advice on everything and spoke amazing english.

Food was good, we had breakfast and dinner and it was a nice buffet very filling and always good quality. Throughout the day there was free tea and coffee available downstairs in a reception area, really nice area with sofas and books and dvds to look at.

I really can't recommend this hotel enough, I have uploaded some pictures of mine and my parents room.

If you have any questions let me know!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

The staff at the hotel were very welcoming and helpful. We had an attic room that was spacious and very clean. The beds were very comfortable and large. The buffet breakfast was ample with a good variety of choice. The free buffet evening meal was limited but very nice. There is free tea, coffee and fruit available in the lounge all day. The hotel also provides free coffee & cake in the restaurant mid afternoon. The hotel is a short 5 minute walk from the central train station and close to Tivoli. I will certainly stay at this hotel again when in Copenhagen and feel that it offers good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

With a free buffet in the evening, its a very clever way to attract clients. The thing is it was uneatable so we had to rush off out for dinner anyway. We booked a superier room that was as big as a small standard room with gahstly colours in turquise and lime green. Thermostat did not work, tv mounted on the left side of bed which made our necks hurt from watching in the evening. Bathroom large but not very clean and with no bar soap, cottonbuds, sticks etc which sent me off in the december weather at 6,30 in the morning check-out day with wet ears and an empty tummy. No breakfast available before 6,30...
Staff is very friendly and interiour downstairs is lovely and cozy and very popular with guests..I think this is a good hotel, but it is nothing like it is painted up to be on the description on the home page with pictures. Tripadvisors private pictures says it all... Personally I would return to the hotel down the same street, axel guldsmed instead next time, as it held a higher quality feel to every single detail..

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and were not at all disappointed. Though it was a little more expensive than other larger hotels, the whole experience is the far superior to any other.
Location: It is walking distance from the central station, but can be difficult to find if we dont take the right exit. So check with the hotel in advance. Tivoli gardens, shopping and many attractions are within a comfortable walking distance. This hotel is bang opposite a nightclub , but there is nothing seedy about the area.
Rooms: Rooms are tiny but very comfortable
Services: This is where the hotel really scores. There is always hot coffee and fruits available in the lobby area to refresh and welcome guests. Internet is free and available both in the room and the lobby. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is good, but the topper is the light supper with a soup and bread. We were really grateful for the hot vegetarian soup when we got back from our sightseeing.

These little gestures go a long way in making a person feel good about their stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Mayfair

Address: Helgolandsgade 3, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Mayfair is a Boutique Hotel, with an individual style and personal attitude. The Hotel sets new standard for design, personal service and unique hotel experience. Located in the heart of Copenhagen's Soho city center and just a few meters from Tivoli, Stroget and the Town Hall Square, First Hotel Mayfair is an ideal place for a visit to Copenhagen, whether for business or pleasure. The hotel also has a boardroom and meeting facilities for a maximum of 16 people, so book your next meeting at First Hotel Mayfair. We are pleased to welcome you to First Hotel Mayfair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your First Hotel Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Mayfair
Clarion Collection Copenhagen
Clarion Copenhagen
Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Mayfair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.