We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Mayfair

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Mayfair to your Saves list
First Hotel Mayfair
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Helgolandsgade 3, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Shalimar, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is reasonably priced and perfectly located for walking tours to downtown Copenhagen. From the airport we took the train (about $6.50 fares) to Central Station downtown. The hotel was a 10 minute walk from the station and is centrally located to visit all one wants to see in Copenhagen for a short visit. Hotel bicycles are available for loan and the included breakfast was the best we have ever received in a hotel - awesome buffet spread. We reserved the Segway Tour of Copenhagen (walk from hotel) for a marvelous tour of the city. This tour was the highlight of our two week vacation to Scandinavia, Russia and Estonia..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    483
    169
    41
    31
See reviews for
120
610
80
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cape cod
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Never having been in Copenhagen before, we chose this hotel based on location and price. I would rate it a 2 ½. The front desk staff was very helpful could not have been nicer. They gave great directions and recommendations for restaurants etc. in the area. The location is great, close to the start of the Hop on Hop off Bus, Tivoli Gardens, City Hall and Central Station. Breakfast, which was included in our rate, was wonderful. They had everything that you would possibly want on the buffet. No need for lunch after that breakfast. The Turkish Restaurant on the corner was great. Delicious food, very simple atmosphere good for families.
Now the room – first of all if you are over 5 feet don’t get a room on the top floor. Our room had slanted ceilings on the wall by the bed. Even knowing it was there I hit my head 3 times in 4 days-OW!! There is NO AIRCONDITIONING in the hotel. You would not think it would be needed in May but, we were there during a spring heat wave and the room was warm! Of course being on the top floor did not help with heat either. Can’t imagine what it must be like in the summer. Free WIFI worked great. Plan on packing your own amenities soap, shampoo etc. not replaced during your stay. On a scale of 1 to 5, I would give cleanliness a 3. Don’t plan on sheets being changed not part of the package.
It really depends what is important to you when you book this hotel. It has recently changed owners so maybe improvements will be coming.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor if you are tall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Maifair is a small secret. Eventhough it is a 3 Star hotel. I all ways Think it is more. I highly recommend it. Its staff are very helpfull and professional. Rooms a clean and nice. I personally Think this is one of the best hotels in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the first hotel Mayfair. The hotel is centrally located to the central train station. In fact we were able to walk to the hotel from the station with our luggage. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. Before or room was ready on the day of check in, we were able to leave our luggage without a problem. The room was just fine and very clean with a comfortable bed.

A full breakfast buffet is provided and was well worth it! The hotel almost has the charm of a large bed and breakfast.

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very clean. Great staff and an excellent location.
Highly recommend this Hotel.
Great stay in London with a great hotel.
Close to both the Tube and Bus's and walking distance to the Museum.
Great value with Great Pubs very close with Great food.

Room Tip: Very quiet street so any room is great. Close to Bus and Tube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Scotland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This small hotel is within walking distance of the railway station and is well located for seeing the sights. The rooms are very small and we had difficulty knowing where to put our 2 suitcases but it is perfectly OK for a night or two. The breakfast was adequate but they do not serve an evening meal, however there are lots of restaurants within walking distance. The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. We had a room to the back of the hotel and it was very quiet. The bed was very comfortable and good shower but no bath.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

A decent hotel well located for Tivoli Gardens. Breakfast not memorable but ok - nice decor, rooms are a touch small. Pleasant reception staff and comfortable beds. Slightly seedy area bit of a trek for shopping and Nyehaven.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Mayfair

Address: Helgolandsgade 3, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#17 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Mayfair 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Mayfair is a Boutique Hotel, with an individual style and personal attitude. The Hotel sets new standard for design, personal service and unique hotel experience. Located in the heart of Copenhagen's Soho city center and just a few meters from Tivoli, Stroget and the Town Hall Square, First Hotel Mayfair is an ideal place for a visit to Copenhagen, whether for business or pleasure. The hotel also has a boardroom and meeting facilities for a maximum of 16 people, so book your next meeting at First Hotel Mayfair. We are pleased to welcome you to First Hotel Mayfair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Mayfair
Clarion Collection Copenhagen
Clarion Copenhagen
Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Mayfair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.