We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Mayfair

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Mayfair to your Saves list
First Hotel Mayfair
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Helgolandsgade 3, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The staff there has no knowlodge about their service at all. The lady at reception was poorly experienced. The booking system is stupid as well. I booked the hotel from their official website which breakfast is not included!

Location sucks too, 5 meters away from a strip club!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    483
    169
    41
    31
See reviews for
120
610
79
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed four nights with DH and two teenagers (in two rooms). Staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. Breakfast was excellent and were able to start our long days of sightseeing with full stomachs. Rooms were a little bit small but well-furnished with a couch, desk, wall-mounted television, and closet. Bathrooms have showers (no tub) and are a little tight but perfectly fine for one person at a time. Wonderful to have 24-hr coffee and tea service and brownies or pastries. Room was super quiet (top floor) and has windows that open to get fresh air. Four blocks from central train station so no need for taxi to and from airport or attractions. Four blocks from tourist office and hop-on buses and tour pickup site. Blocks from Tivoli and Stroget so it's an ideal location close to everything but tucked away down a side street so it's not in the main hustle-bustle of town.

The only drawback is right across the street from the entrance is the depressing "Lady Love" bar/club that stares you in the face as you exit the hotel. Didn't see a soul go in or out of the place despite it's advert of "exceptional atmosphere" so hopefully it will close down one day soon.

All in all with breakfast included and free coffee and cake it is a great value for Copenhagen. Would definitely recommend or stay there again.

Room Tip: Stayed on fifth floor and it was quiet with no problems with the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Not as nice as I thought it would be... or as nice as it SHOULD have been. Room was pretty small (and we paid for a superior) and not all that clean. Stains in everything. In general, staff was not too helpful and we came back at night to find NO REPLACEMENT of the instant coffee we drank that morning and THE SAME DIRTY COFFEE CUPS WE USED THAT MORNING just put back in thier places, instead of being changed. Might seem like a small thing, bit really quite unprofessional. When we called the reception to ask for more coffee and CLEAN mugs they said "call back at 7:30". Not as bad as sleeping in the streets, but would NOT come back here. From what I've heard, new (lazy) ownership had ruined this once nice hotel. A real shame.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The best familyroom deal in Copenhagen?
Small suites serve as family rooms. Very nice bathroom!
Nice calm atmosphere. Tasteful interior. Close to a boutique hotel.
Not too big. Just over 100 rooms. Friendly staff and good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Nice quiet location close to sites and central station. Warm staff and cozy common spaces. Breakfast, buffet, 15:00 cake snack were all fabulous. Having coffee and tea 24 hours was great on the cold days of March.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Arrived at 6:00am and they had our room waiting - superb :) very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast and evening meal incl in price. terrific location in the middle of everything. Only downside would be small room size and tiny bathrooms. No bath if you want to soak after a hard days of sightseeing :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I just loved the room I stayed in. It was in the mansard and had such a taste in decor. I was enjoying all the little details - tassel (except for the regular "do not disturb" sign), note from the hotel and so on! I enjoyed sitting in the arm chair near the window and the bed was so comfortable to sleep.
The hotel is very well located - my plain arrived at 8 PM and at 8:50 PM I already checked in (the hotel is 5 minutes by feet from railway station). It is also comfortable to reach all Kopenhagen attractions (I love to walk).
Breakfasts are very well (good selection and quality of musli and dried fruits) and the cafe where they serve food is nice to enjoy the morning.
The only thing - it was very cold in the room, so you might want to take warm pyjama if plan a trip at cold season. I used 2 blankets and it was fine.
So, my overall impression was very positive and I hope to come back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Mayfair

Address: Helgolandsgade 3, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#17 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Mayfair 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Mayfair is a Boutique Hotel, with an individual style and personal attitude. The Hotel sets new standard for design, personal service and unique hotel experience. Located in the heart of Copenhagen's Soho city center and just a few meters from Tivoli, Stroget and the Town Hall Square, First Hotel Mayfair is an ideal place for a visit to Copenhagen, whether for business or pleasure. The hotel also has a boardroom and meeting facilities for a maximum of 16 people, so book your next meeting at First Hotel Mayfair. We are pleased to welcome you to First Hotel Mayfair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Mayfair
Clarion Collection Copenhagen
Clarion Copenhagen
Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Mayfair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.