We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Mayfair

Save Saved
You added First Hotel Mayfair to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
First Hotel Mayfair
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Helgolandsgade 3, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 118 hotels in Copenhagen
alicante, spain
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A different hotel experience: normally you expect hotels to charge you for everything and get their hands on all the money they can. Not the case here. Checking in at just before 9 in the evening the receptionist told us that the complementary buffet dinner would end soon (what?), that breakfast was included in the cost (ok) and that free (free?) tea and cakes are served between 3 and 5 (how entirely civilised). Amazing. We didn't take advantage of anything but breakfast, but still, an incredible way of giving the customer something they actually want (no chocolates on your pillow, but I would trade that for the offer of a free dinner any time).

Rooms are very clean and comfortable (I dropped the place a star as the single rooms can be very small indeed- no complaint, just a little too much on the cosy side). Breakfast is good (maybe lacking a little in sweet things), and the public areas frankly excellent. Also the staff are great- recommendations for places to eat were excellent, nothing was too much trouble.

Would stay again- without looking much further. Good place.

Room Tip: Single rooms on the fifth floor are small and have limited wi-fi. They are not at all bad, though- n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    432
    458
    150
    35
    30
See reviews for
112
553
70
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotels are expensive in Copenhagen - this hotel is not cheap - it is just much more reasonably priced then many other hotels in Copenhagen. It is a couple blocks from the main train station and Tivoli Gardens as well as the main walking area (Storget) and City Hall. They served a nice breakfast and "light supper" which are included in the price and really add to the value. However the light supper only has a single choice of main dish - so if it something you don't like you either eat salad or go out. The food was good, although not gourmet (but would you really expect anything different). You did need to buy drinks at dinner. (At breakfast coffee, tea and juice are included). Location was very quiet. Go a block in the wrong direction and things get a little sketchy (not too bad, we felt safe enough to jog in the afternoons, but I don't think you want to be walking around with little kids). People comment on the potential for seeing "working girls" around, we didn't see any although there is a "gentleman's club" club across the street. It was quiet enough that my mother-in-law whose room faced that direction slept with her window open and didn't notice anything until early in the morning when the garbage truck came down the street. Only downsides - no air conditioning and no room safe. Otherwise clean & comfortable. We stayed for 3 nights. We would stay here again if we return to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived by train from Stockholm and the hotel was 5 minutes walk from the station with our luggage (once we found out which entrance to exit the station) . The staff on the front desk were friendly and helpful. The room allocated was quite small and as we were going to be there for 3 nights, we asked for a larger room. We were given a slightly larger room and could have had an even larger room for an upgrade premium.
Room amenities were scarce (lotions, shampoo, etc) and there was no fridge, kettle or tea making facilities. The hotel has 24 hour tea/coffee availablity in the lounge but sometimes it would be nice to relax in your own room.
The half-board idea is excellent. Breakfast was quite good with a varied choice. The "light" supper was a 5-course dinner. Small portions, but certainly more than adequate for an evening meal. Wine/beer was the only extra cost and those prices were reasonable by Denmark standards. A full afternoon tea/coffee was available for those in the hotel at that time.
The hotel is centrally located for Central Station, Tivoli Gardens, City Hall, Hop On/Hop Off sightseeing buses, etc. The area around the Mayfair has a number of similar hotels. By chance, "The Best Strip Club in Copenhage" (their claim) is across the road and next to the Best Western Hotel.
Would have no hestitation staying here again or recommending it to others.

Room Tip: If you are allocated a small room, ask for a larger one if there is one available. Level 5 is under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

What a letdown! I don't know how anyone can rate this as a good hotel. Management is very unaccommodating. There was no bellman. Three of us came off a cruise and had to drag our luggage to the fifth floor to a room under the eaves with no A.C. The weather was extremely hot and they didn't bother to find a fan for us until the last day. The W.C. was disgusting (I won't describe it). I was told that housekeeping had gone for the day and left me to clean the toilet! I could go on..the lobby had threadbare furniture and was very dirty. I would never give a good rating to this hotel.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMayfair, Manager at First Hotel Mayfair, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your comment on your stay in our hotel. We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your visit and that we didn´t lived up to your expectations.
We do not have a bellboy we have never had it and we do not type any were that we do.
We do not have an air condition on the rooms but you can change the temperature plus minus 3 degrees from the hotel standard temperature.
We hope that you will come back to us next time you are in Copenhagen so we can really show you how good we are.
Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I were booked at this hotel for September 2013 but we had to cancel a month in advance because of medical conditions. The hotel not only refused any cancellation, they cashed in the full amount for a three day stay one month before the due date. We will go to Copenhagen in the spring 2014 and we will make sure to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMayfair, Manager at First Hotel Mayfair, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for input on Tripadvisor.
Our cancellation policies are different depending in what kind off bookings you choose to book. If you book directly with the hotel or our standard prices on the third party channels you will be able to cancel you’re booking on the arrival day at 4 o´clock. But if you choose to book a non refundable price that is cheaper then the standard price you are not able to cancel the booking. So when you choose the non refundable price please make sure that you are really sure that you are going to the hotel and that you can not cancel the booking. We are sorry to hear that you are not coming to our hotel in September.
Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel, the location is very convenient, just 5 minutes walk from the Central Station, the breakfast and dinner buffet was very pleasant. Tea and coffee is offered throughout the day. As to the rooms, the standard room we got was kind of small, and the toilet facilities were not too good as water would splash out of the shower onto the floors outside, space was very cramped. The staff, however, were smart, friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Small quiet clean room with super comfortable bed. Staff was extremely helpful. Free wifi, breakfast and snacks were a plus. Hotel has bikes available for rent, which was very convenient. Was a bit warm one afternoon, and there was no AC :(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to First Hotel Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Mayfair

Address: Helgolandsgade 3, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Mayfair 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Hotel located in heart of town, a few minutes walk from Tivoli Gardens, Radhuspladsen, Central station & air terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your First Hotel Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Mayfair
Clarion Collection Copenhagen
Clarion Copenhagen
Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Mayfair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.