We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Beautiful Copenhagen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Mayfair

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Mayfair to your Saves list
First Hotel Mayfair
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Helgolandsgade 3, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Santa Clarita, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Beautiful Copenhagen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

After some research (friends and TripAdvisor), we booked the Hotel Mayfair for 3 nights prior to a Baltic cruise. We enjoyed a speedy check-in and were able to get into our room at least 3 hours before the designated check-in time--a huge plus when you are exhausted from a very long trip! The room was very clean, well-maintained, and featured a comfortable bed and bedding. But the best offerings were the complimentary buffet breakfast and supper. Even though the website describes the supper as a light buffet, it was completely satisfying for my husband and myself. And the bread: Oh My! The hotel is in a good location, across the street from hop-on-hop-off buses and just a block from Tivoli Gardens. Also, the "walking street" can be reached with a 20-30 minute walk at a leisurely pace. The only downside to the location: If you are an American family traveling with young children, the hotel is located across the street from a strip club, albeit a high-class one (nice building, no one loitering in front). The only attention-getters are the huge posters of "lovely ladies" on the facade. But, all in all, we were extremely pleased with our stay, and the hotel compares very favorable to properties with much higher rates.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    482
    168
    41
    31
See reviews for
120
610
78
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a one night stay after our Baltic cruise. Our room overlooked the strip club, but we didn't have any noise and didn't feel uncomfortable in the area.
We found the room a little small, as European hotels are, but clean and well furnished and the buffet breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meal were good and a nice bonus in a very expensive city. The free wifi was also useful. We found the staff very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is very convenient to the train station and Tivoli Gardens and we found we could walk to most of the tourist attractions.
We travelled with a group of friends and we would all quite happily stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our group were all on the first floor with no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for three nights prior to a Baltic cruise and we highly recommend it. We were greeted by a friendly, courteous desk clerk who spoke excellent English (as did all the staff). Our room, while somewhat small in keeping with European standards, was clean, had a very comfy bed and was very quiet. We had a deluxe room, which I tend to think means it faced onto the inside courtyard. However, I think a room on the street would be equally quiet, as the hotel is on a quiet side street. The bathroom was a good size, with a large tub shower (we've stayed in hotels in other Scandinavian countries where if you dropped your soap, you couldn't bend over to pick it up, but would have to squat straight down to retrieve it!).

This hotel offers a very satisfying breakfast buffet, coffee and cake in the afternoon, and a "light" dinner in the evening...all included in the cost of the room, which is amazing! The dinner offering featured a fairly small entrée, but along with soups, salads, breads and dessert, was more than adequate. This feature is perfect for folks like ourselves who are in town for a short stay prior to going off on a cruise. Besides, it's a real cost saver. Denmark prices are close to twice those in the States...a $100 dinner for two in the U.S. is close to $200 there (liquor is more than double...a $10 martini here cost us $25 there). So, a freeby dinner from the hotel is, as I said, amazing!

I read some reviews before the trip expressing concerns about the neighborhood being sketchy and about the "strip joint" across the street. This is nonsense. The area surrounding the hotel looked like any other in Copenhagen and seemed perfectly safe to us... and the "strip joint" is more of a high end "gentlemen's club" that in our three nights there we never saw open. If it weren't for the large photo of a scantily clad model on the façade, you'd never know it was there. If that is too offensive for your tastes, I suggest you stay at home!

In fact, the hotel is perfectly located a few blocks from Tivoli and the entrance to the Stroget pedestrian shopping street. It's also 2 blocks from the starting location for the Hop-On, Hop-Off bus (a great way to see all the sights in 2 days).

My only suggestion to the hotel is this: like most hotels, the bathrooms have a small sign encouraging guests to use their bath towels more than once for environmental purposes. We always do and would have at the Hotel Mayfair, except for the fact that there was not a single towel rack or even hook in our bathroom on which to hang a towel. In addition, there was no bath mat, so the tendency is to dry off in the shower and then use the towel as a mat. We'd also suggest the hotel provide a bar of soap and a small bottle of shampoo...the bath gel dispenser approach doesn't appeal to everyone (e.g. us).

Other than those minor idiosyncracies, this was a great find in Copenhagen!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turin
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

small and quasi-charming hotel, well positioned close (200 mt) to central station.
along the road there are some other hotels.
the building is a nice old small palace and the interior is elegant.
my room was a bit small, clean silent and comfortable.
very essential small bathroom, with no body cream, little soaps and conditioners.
good breakfast and attentive staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great location, free breakfast, free light dinner. It is a little closer to some more marginal areas, just stay walking on the main street. we had a suite and it was a very large room and very large bathroom, very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I am a travel agent and had clients stay here in a 1 bed suite with 2 adults and 1 child age 9. All three were on the reservaiton and pre-paid in full. The hotel said that child was expected to sleep in a DOUBLE bed with her parents and if she wanted to sleep on the sofa bed they charged equivalant to $50USD per night to make up that bed! They should not sell that room as a triple. Bad business in my book!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMayfair, Manager at First Hotel Mayfair, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your response. I am sorry if there have been any misunderstandings regarding your booking for your clients. The suite is a room that you can book for 3 persons. The price that comes up shall then be for 3 persons if you type it in the system. If you only write in comments that you are bringing one more person to the room the charge will be 250 DKK extra per night. This is for the breakfast and also for the cleaning and so on.
Please contact us if you have any questions regarding your booking for more then 2 persons.
We hope that you will book your clients with us in the future.
Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Mayfair after my cruise. I was with a small group of 13 people. We were all accommodated very quickly and efficiently as we rushed in to check our luggage before continuing on with our transfer/tour of the city with our excellent guide Paul Hartvigson! The hotel is well kept, clean and comfy. Staff works very hard to keep up with the needs and requirements of the guests - the staff is friendly and accommodating. There is also a good level of staff to guests. The rooms are very nice - serviceable but not luxurious. Bathroom is functional although very small. The water does leak under the shower door but a towel does the job nicely of sopping it up. Be advised - there is NO air conditioning in any of the room our group got. Luckily - the weather wascool and comfortable and the windows opened nicely to give a nice breeze. TV has lots of selections in many languages. Free internet great!

Breakfast was really good - mostly hot and refilled as quickly as possible - the breads were excellent and the preserves outstanding. Eggs, bacon, beans (cold) with cheese, sliced meats and veggies. yogurt, granola and breakfast cereals. All in all a wonderful repast! Dinner is great too - light but plenty ---- we would stop in for some soup... hearty bread and cheeses - herrings, pate, and small bowl of a casserole was good. Then out for an ice cream or a hot dog to fill up after evening walkabout!

The courtyard is lovely - the lobby welcoming and comfortable....

Do not hestitate to book this property - not luxury but extremely good for the price!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Mayfair

Address: Helgolandsgade 3, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#17 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Mayfair 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Mayfair is a Boutique Hotel, with an individual style and personal attitude. The Hotel sets new standard for design, personal service and unique hotel experience. Located in the heart of Copenhagen's Soho city center and just a few meters from Tivoli, Stroget and the Town Hall Square, First Hotel Mayfair is an ideal place for a visit to Copenhagen, whether for business or pleasure. The hotel also has a boardroom and meeting facilities for a maximum of 16 people, so book your next meeting at First Hotel Mayfair. We are pleased to welcome you to First Hotel Mayfair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Mayfair
Clarion Collection Copenhagen
Clarion Copenhagen
Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Mayfair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.