We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Mayfair

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Mayfair to your Saves list
First Hotel Mayfair
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Helgolandsgade 3, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Boston, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average hotel, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I feel very mixed about this hotel. Rooms are very small but this is true in much of Europe so that was fine. Beds and pillows were very comfortable and I'm picky! Bathroom was absolutely terrible! Huge ledge and step down into bathroom I tripped over several times and it hurt. Shower had glass doors which looks pretty but there is a space between so water leaks out. Free breakfast was not bad and dinner buffet wasn't either but not worth staying here for that. It's a weird hotel overall but looks pretty. Free wifi was nice. Best feature is location in city center. Strip club is across the street but otherwise area is nice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMayfair, Manager at First Hotel Mayfair, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your response regarding your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we didn´t keep up with your expectations.
We have 5 different categories of rooms that are in different sizes. Single, double, double superior, deluxe and suites.
Glad to hear that you were happy for our breakfast. The evening buffet we serve every night from 18,00-21,00 is free of charge. If you do not like to eat the buffet we love to recommend a restaurant I Copenhagen for you.
We hope to see you here next time you are in Copenhagen
Best regard
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    478
    168
    39
    31
See reviews for
120
603
77
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I was staying three nights in this place. The room was in the first flor facing the strip-bar on the other side of the street. Rommel was ok, bathroom ok, but could have been cleaner. Breakfast not impressive, all self service, limited choices. Dinner ok, but no reason to book this hotel. Would rather prefer no dinner but some cheaper price. Free Internet very welcome.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMayfair, Manager at First Hotel Mayfair, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your response regarding your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we didn´t keep up with your expectations. We have 6 different floors you can live on and the rooms are either to the street or to our backyard.
We serve a continental breakfast buffet where you serve your self with that kind of food you like. The dishes will be taken away by the staff. If you have any wishes of some food that we didn´t have we gladly take your suggestions.
The evening buffet is free of charge and the room rate is not higher because of the buffet. The buffet is served between 18, 00-21, 00.
We hope to see you here next time you are in Copenhagen
Best regard
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was our first trip to Copenhagen, and we enjoyed this hotel. The room was small, but the service was very good. We were close to the main train station, had a good breakfast, and light buffet supper. The food was excellent. We also used the free wifi. We had a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. On one hand, it's convenient to the train station, Tivoli, and the city centre, and the staff were very friendly. On the other, we had a "superior" room which, while perfectly clean and quiet, was as small a room as we have ever had, with an ensuite so small it was barely useable (about 18 inches between the loo and the sink directly in front of it). Be prepared to bruise yourself banging into shower door, walls, and sink, while changing or towelling.
One other advantage is worth mentioning, though: the included buffet (mainly bread, fruit, salad) and afternoon coffees are a very nice touch, and help take the sting out of Copenhagen's costly restaurants. (And there is an adult club just across the street, but it's really not an issue: the street is very quiet and perfectly pleasant and safe.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Good deal for the price I paid ....excellent buffet breakfast, coffee all day long including my favorite latte; cake in the afternoon. The included light buffet dinner also saved me a lot of money considering how expensive Copenhagen is.
We got the superior double room; still small but i got everything I needed and was clean and airy.
The hotel is close to the railway station, Tivoli and a lot of interesting places and restaurants. Will definitely book this hotel again when in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located very close to the main train station, Kobenhavn H, which was handy as we were only in town for a night. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. There was enough room for two nice chairs, and a small table, which made relaxing more comfortable. The price included both breakfast as well as a light supper buffet. The quality of both was good - a diverse assortment of yogurts, breads, cereal, meats, etc for breakfast, and for dinner, there was a tasty chicken curry with rice, along with several small salad options, bread & cheese, along with dessert. It made for a good way to save some money. Free wifi worked well - no problems there. All in all, a nice spot to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Chose the Mayfair following good reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. Reception and service staff all friendly and efficient. Room while small was very clean and comfortable. With full buffet breakfast and light evening buffet (which was more than enough for us) we found our stay to be excellent value for money. One tip - buy a bottle of wine, not 2 or 3 glasses. While this is supposedly in the "red light" district -yes, there is a strip joint across the road - there were. absolutely no problems.

Room Tip: Rooms at back quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Mayfair

Address: Helgolandsgade 3, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Mayfair 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Mayfair is a Boutique Hotel, with an individual style and personal attitude. The Hotel sets new standard for design, personal service and unique hotel experience. Located in the heart of Copenhagen's Soho city center and just a few meters from Tivoli, Stroget and the Town Hall Square, First Hotel Mayfair is an ideal place for a visit to Copenhagen, whether for business or pleasure. The hotel also has a boardroom and meeting facilities for a maximum of 16 people, so book your next meeting at First Hotel Mayfair. We are pleased to welcome you to First Hotel Mayfair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Mayfair
Clarion Collection Copenhagen
Clarion Copenhagen
Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Mayfair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.