We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Mayfair

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Mayfair to your Saves list
First Hotel Mayfair
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Helgolandsgade 3, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is situated just around the corner from the train station, which is great to get to and from the airport. The hotel is also situated in the red light district, which was not a problem. The room I booked sounded so much grander than what we got! The room was small and dark and in order to watch a movie you had to pick a DVD downstairs and bring it back to the room to watch. There are plenty of shops to get drinks and food, which is just as well seeing as though everything was so expensive. All in all a very nice city, but can be quite expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    483
    169
    41
    31
See reviews for
120
610
79
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This small hotel is located very close to CPH central station. However, if you like to explore the city by foot, you will have to walk a little bit to reach the main attractions. The rooms are small, with an old decoration, but very clean. The bathroom is very very small...The staff is very friendly and the hotel offers a nice small dinner buffet.

For the room rate , it was a nice choice

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great hotel centrally located just 2 min walk from the train station. The rooms are quite small but functional, spotless and very nicely decorated. There are cosy, quiet relaxing areas close to reception in the ground floor as well.
The staff at the hotel was really helpful and friendly. Included in the rate is a buffet breakfast with a decent choice for a small hotel and a light evening buffet. It was really cold at the time we visited Copenhagen so this came in handy to avoid having to go outside at night after a busy day.
Would highly recommend for short stays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for three nights in standard room at front of hotel.
Check in was effortless. All staff are very friendly and helpful. First impressions of room was disappointment at how small it was. Bathroom area is even smaller. If I were an estate agent it would be described as compact. Good luck trying to dry yourself in bathroom after a shower. Walls are paper thin and you can hear loud neighbours. During our stay we had people either side that liked to "party" Hotel did not appear to be full so no idea why they insisted on bunching guests together. Room was cramped and on this occasion less furniture would have been better. 2 small wardrobes in room with one door you cannot open properly as there is a small bedside cabinet beside it. Bathroom is the same as shower screen does not open fully on both sides either in or out the way. Facilities in room are limited no tea/coffee machine (noted that facilities available in dining area though hot water from machine is only luke warm. Might have been a fault as by third day pots of hot water had appeared at breakfast time) no safe no additional toiletries no a/c. Can't fault the heating though if anything possibly too warm or was that because the area required to be heated was so small.
Noise from outside kept us awake on first night but we did not hear anything other nights. Breakfast was good and normally kept well stocked - I say normally as on third morning this did not happen but looked like staff were working with one less. Dining area got busier an hour or so into sitting but always table space available. Light meal in the evening was good as an extra and never really busy when we were there. Drinks (beer, wine, juice) are not included in meal and are provided separately. They are expensive but staff do not force you to take any. Tea and coffee is still available instead . Location of hotel is close to red light area but on a street full of other hotels. From the entrance to the hotel red light area is down to your left and you will see what appeared to be ladies standing on the corners waiting. To avoid just turn right and go that way to town centre. 5/10 min walk will get you to start of centre. View from dining windows of gentlemans club across the street will be a good talking point over the cornflakes. The left luggage area is a bit strange as well. Staff give you the key to store your own luggage and advise you to not leave any valuables in your bags with a big disclaimer sign on doors as back up. Easy solution to this is make area more secure with personal key or hotel staff attend to it instead.
The staff and meal situation is what makes this hotel stand out but I suppose this is required to make up for other shortcomings. Yes there are bigger rooms available and if you can afford it go for one of these preferable facing to the inside and yes different neighbour guests will affect the stay positively.
Headline to review sums this hotel up for me as another time and another stay could have been different. Would I recommend this hotel based of stay - yes for staff and downstairs but a big no for room experience. Would I go back to this hotel. Not sure but lack of adequate soundproofing is the possible deal breaker. Pondered given this a three but when reading back thought it only merited a two.

Room Tip: Go for he biggest room your budget allows and try and get a room to the rear. Take ear plugs as insu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Cosy atmosphere for a city centre hotel. The evening buffet a definite plus given cost of eating out in this city. Easy walk from station - don't be put off by the strip club right opposite as they appear to operate discreetly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

we were pleased with the hotel and the inclusion of a light supper ( a buffet so you could have as much as you wanted) was welcome. We found Copenhagen to be surprisingly lacking in welcoming bars and coffee shops and I am not sure I would have wanted to be wandering around at night. Lovely room- slightly spoiled by finding previous occupants' biscuits under the bed. Great welcome from Alex- and a very friendly waitress Sappora (?) in the dining room. I would recommend.

Room Tip: we had a room at the back- overlooking the inner part of the building- very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Me and my husband spend 3 night in this hotel in February. First thing we loved about this hotel was the service.

++++ The staff were really friendly,helpful and very polite! We arrived at the hotel around 9 pm and we were still able to enjoy the evening light dinner. I would just go back to this hotel just dor the staff.

The location was not bad at all. It was close to the metro station and the center so it was really handy to do sightseeing.

- point
The room is quite small and the bed was not really comfortable and the bathroom could be more updated.

But overall i was worth it for the price . Recommended for peoples who want to save some money on food . Also the coffee machine is always open !

Room Tip: 5th floor of the hotel has really small room so if you are with more then one person . Ask to stay i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Mayfair

Address: Helgolandsgade 3, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#17 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Mayfair 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Mayfair is a Boutique Hotel, with an individual style and personal attitude. The Hotel sets new standard for design, personal service and unique hotel experience. Located in the heart of Copenhagen's Soho city center and just a few meters from Tivoli, Stroget and the Town Hall Square, First Hotel Mayfair is an ideal place for a visit to Copenhagen, whether for business or pleasure. The hotel also has a boardroom and meeting facilities for a maximum of 16 people, so book your next meeting at First Hotel Mayfair. We are pleased to welcome you to First Hotel Mayfair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Mayfair
Clarion Collection Copenhagen
Clarion Copenhagen
Clarion Collection Hotel Mayfair

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Mayfair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.