We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay stay :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Generator Copenhagen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Generator Copenhagen to your Saves list
Generator Copenhagen
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Adelgade 5-7, Copenhagen 1304, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Shanghai, China
1 review
“okay stay :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Likes:

Clean

En suite bathrooms with enough space to also dress up in privacy after shower

Lots of entertainment going on

Free internet terminals & free wifi

XXL Veranda, Sofas and plenty of space to hang around..

Relaxed atmosphere all over the place

Hostel has staff of various language ability including Chinese

Dislikes:

Beds don't have a curtain so do not allow for minimal privacy

Internet Terminals save all your data (even if you change Firefox settings upon refresh the machine will again save all your passwords, track your entire internet session including search criteria, entered search or account info, passwords etc.)

Vending machines do not provide change and do not hold a warning

Padlocks must be purchased for 5 Euro a lock (no name brand)

Rooms do not offer air-conditioner and heat up during the day to an extreme.. usually most guests had their windows completely open during the day..

Room Tip: choose a room that does not face the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison D, Receptionschef at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Volasia,
Thanks for your review and feedback. Happy that you enjoyed the clean rooms, facilities, events, atmosphere, free wifi and staff. Our beds have privacy walls at each end, powerpoints plus reading lamps and underbeds lockers. Our internet is free :) :) and your privacy is key so no internet sessions get tracked but as with any other public computers, please be safe. As for the padlocks, you are welcome to use your own, but if needed, you can also buy one at reception for 4 Euro which is good value for Copenhagen.
Thanks and hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    465
    107
    26
    22
See reviews for
68
213
249
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed here with a friend for two nights and we regretted not spending a bit extra to stay elsewhere. The place is fine, but it's basically like the Applebee's of hostels -- lots of perky decor and staff, but scratch just a little bit and you'll get to its corporate core. It felt like being in the Lego movie.

As you'll see on many of the other reviews (besides the great ones, of which I'm a bit suspicious considering how carefully they clearly monitor these reviews), the staff are hit or miss -- some are friendly and helpful, but many others seem secretly miserable and hate dealing with anything that deviates from the norm. They often seem more interested in being patronizing than helpful. I think you can get a sense of this if you look at all the comments they put on the poor and terrible reviews -- this is more or less the tone you ought to expect at the front desk. And they are (or at least claim to be) completely bound by whatever the computer will allow them to do for anything, so don't expect any kind of flexibility.

To be fair, the place is relatively clean, centrally located, and seems safe -- so if that's all you're looking for, you'll probably be satisfied. If this is your first time in Copenhagen, I think you'll be much happier somewhere else. I can't speak to the value of staying in one of the dorm rooms, but I definitely don't think it's worth the price for the private double room. If you get a deal online, you can go down the street or stay in a different part of town for the same price or even less. And even if you were to just walk in somewhere else, you'd only end up paying a bit more. I booked this place in a bit of a panic when I realized how much hotels were, but we stayed on the other side of town our third night there and had a much better experience (for 20 Krone more, plus that place had free coffee and pastries so it probably came out close to even -- you won't find anything for free at the Generator). I'll certainly never go back here and would discourage anyone I know, but I guess it just depends what you're looking for and what your budget is.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison D, Receptionschef at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Luke W,
Thanks for your feedback. Our staff try their very best to give you a great experience here, that is our main aim, and it's a shame that you feel otherwise. Expect great service and happy vibes here. We will take your comments on board and hope you choose to check us out again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I feel I need to start this by saying that I don't often stay in youth hostels. However most accommodation standards are fairly universal, this is what I have aimed to list below:
Positives:
- very clean
- modern in both the bedroom and public areas
- great location, close walk to many nearby attractions
- overall staff are friendly and helpful
- great vibe, public areas are always busy and inviting
Negatives:
- be prepared to be in party Central (take earplugs.) we were on the second floor and the noise from the in house DJ and nearby street made sleep somewhat of a challenge
- we were lucky that the weather was quite warm whilst we were there. However the room had no fan or aircon so we had to rely on windows. With the previously mentioned street noise we were unable to sleep with the widows open and it felt like a sauna in the morning
- breakfast is 75k, whilst convenient it was nothing to rave about, we much preferred to head to a local cafe
Overall the stay ticked a lot of boxes, however there is still room for some improvement..

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison D, Receptionschef at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Alice W,
Thanks for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the very clean rooms, design, location, helpful staff and great vibes allround. We very rarely experience days where aircon is needed, but will of course take your feedback on board. Your comfort is our priority! Thanks again, and look foward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grunau im Almtal, Austria
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I stayed in a lot of hostels allready so I know a bit what I'm talking about and I can only say that your one is great! It's clean, huge but still cosy, friendly, bar included and so on. Yes, it's not the cheapest hostel, but I would say I spend this ~5€ more for a dorm bed, because it's worth it ;)
The beer could be a bit cheaper :p
Thanks for your hospitality and your daily activities are really a nice idea. Stay like that and I'll come back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison D, Receptionschef at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi PeterOrkus
Thanks for your great review! We are happy to hear that you had a good time here, enjoyed the atmpshere, bar, friendly staff, and all the events. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very trendy and loud [at night]. Lounging area is nice. PC's to use. Photobooth. You can rent bikes from them as well. There is a car park if you drove there. Live DJ's on the weekends. I stayed in a 6 bedroom bunker style with dedicated restroom for us. They had breakfast and dinner service but I didn't get a chance to try it. Close to the train station. Close to the Nyhavn. Close to city center with all the bars and clubs. Close to Strøget (Europe's longest pedestrian shopping area). Prices are reasonable considering how busy they were. The only thing that was slightly annoying was that the WiFi was cutting in and out in the room. From my experience, food and drinks can be pricey so be prepared.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison D, Receptionschef at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear atjig,
Thanks for your great review. Happy you enjoyed yourselves here and enjoyed the rooms and atmopshere. The free wifi is usually very strong, so if you are experiencing any issues, please do come see us in reception. Thanks for staying and hope to welcome you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We arrived at 2 am in the night, the receptionist people were so friendly and kind, just forced us to wake up at 10 and join to the freewalk tour. We and my friend stayed in a 8 person mixed dorm, everything was fine. I would definetely recommend for the futures visitors to obey whatever receptionist people say..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison D, Receptionschef at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Kerim Ufuk D
Thanks for the top marks! Happy to hear our night team gave you a big warm welcome and recommended our free walking tour. It is absolutely worth it! A big thanks from the team here and hope to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I was excited to book the Generator as our first accommodation on our month-long journey through Europe, but apprehensive as well. Generator did a great job as a hostel! My daughter and I had a private double room which was microscopic but clean, very functional, and very groovy. Breakfast (optional upcharge for each meal) was plentiful if basic, and tasty. Get there early to avoid big crowds. The breakfast/common area gets pretty lively and loud in the evening, so if you want a quiet evening, ask for a room on a high floor (we received one high just from pure luck). Great location, and a fabulous start for our journey---good neighborhood, and easy to walk anywhere.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison D, Receptionschef at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear mcgonagallmon,
Thanks for staying with us. Happy to hear that we lived up to your expectations and more. We look forward to welcoming you back and wish you a great trip through the rest of Europe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Generator Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Copenhagen

Address: Adelgade 5-7, Copenhagen 1304, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Copenhagen 2*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Copenhagen just off Kongens Nytorv, the largest square in the city. Centrally located and an ideal location for anyone wanting to be a hop, skip and a jump from everything that is a must see in this great city. The best way to see and do it all is by foot, and when you need to rest your tired feet Generator is the perfect place of refuge, with great beds for sleepy heads, a bar and lounge that serves the best drinks and entertainment for miles around, and of course you’ll be enjoying Copenhagen life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Private en-suites Twins, Double & Quads with innovative mod cons like individual power points and your own LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. This really is a city worth discovering. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Generator Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Generator Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.