We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beware of the noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Generator Copenhagen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Generator Copenhagen to your Saves list
Generator Copenhagen
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Adelgade 5-7, Copenhagen 1304, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beersel, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, beware of the noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This luxury hostel or basic hotel is perfectly located in the city center. And they even have a discount with the Qpark parking garage under the hostel.
The rooms are spacy and clean.
However some points of attention:
- as hostel they attract youngsters who want to party. In summer these can be noisy until 5 in the morning on the terrace of the hostel.
- some people want to smoke in the rooms and cover the smoke detectors with a plastic foil. The cleaning staff did not notice.
- the WiFi is free but crashes permanently when the hostel is busy.

Room Tip: Difficult decision: risk for noise on both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    537
    133
    28
    23
See reviews for
79
247
298
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Went there for 4 days it was great! Excellent location, walking distance from the main attractions (Nyhavn, Stroget, and more) and shops as well (pharmacy, supermarket and more). En-suite and cozy rooms they have just what u need with big case where u can store you beggages, no hangers or wardrobe though!! Bathroom are not the biggest but still okay. The wifi is pretty hard to get in your room but if u go at the ground floor it goes wonderfully. The ground floor is full of sofas, computers, Tv and a bar where u can chill out, meet people and play pool. Quite wide choice for breakfast on morning (it is worth for 75DKK. The only think i didn't like was the noise we could hear on night since we had our room at the first floor and with the window open because of the worm temperature (it was summer) it was a bit annoying...no drama though it didn't last till late so if you go don't worry ab that! probably the best u can get for that price!!!! Highly recommended!!!! We got a free gift (t-shirt) from the hostel! Keep up guys!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

My three friends and I Stayed at generator over the weekend. I couldn't imagine better place to stay while being in copenhagen because the location is perfect and the price was really reasonable! There was not a single bad thing during our staying (except no ac- but I was not even expecting it- in the lounge they had a nice air conditioner!) Ome thing that you should remember to bring is a lock, because they have boxes under the beds that you can lock! And try Joe and The Juice as an breakfast place!!:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of June Thursday - Sunday; it was a lovely place visually but a little soulless unless you're there to party it's hard to get talking to other guests everyone is too preoccupied in the common areas using the wifi which only works in the common areas I understand it can be hard to run wifi in a building as big as this but if you could have it on all floors it would be super!!

I was in a female only dorm on the 5th floor it was adequate apart from the pillows they were terrible! spend a little more on your pillows please!!

the bar was very expensive; the food didn't look great so i ate out.

overall i did enjoy my experience but i think it would be so much better with a couple of tweaks.

location is amazing easy to walk everywhere.

you should be able to just rent a lock for your locker & return it i've not got a bulky lock i don't need same can be said for towels i brought my own but as a weekend only traveller to not have this in my luggage would have been great.

a kitchen would just be the icing on the cake as copenhagen isn't too pocket friendly to eat out 3 times a day even being able to make you're own breakfast would be a bonus.

Room Tip: ask to be on the higher floors as the music is quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator C, General Manager at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Alicia,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the female dorm and the city centre location.

Next to the positive words, we would like to thank you for your feedback as well. Feedback helps us to improve the little 'tweaks'!

We hope to welcome you again at Generator Copenhagen!

With best regards,

Dave Storm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is very organized and clean, the staff is really friendly. The rooms are quite small and without aircodition so it's quite warm in the summer time. The location is great..right in the center of action. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

More expensive than a Travelodge or Premier Inn in London (fir a twin room at least), this hostel is more like a hotel than a hostel. Copenhagen is a very expensive city for accommodating, food and drink, so the Generator hostel provides a cheaper alternative to staying in a hotel.. It is not a traditional hostel - no kitchen to make yourself dinner. But breakfast can be purchased for DKK 75 (that's about £9 today) and you get cereals, bread rolls, salami, cheese, jam. you help yoursekf and there is a drinks machine for tea, coffee and fruit juice. It's pretty good, filling, but the same every day.
Excellent large bar and area (roof terrace) outside. Fantastic location - walkable distance to practically everything worth doing in Copenhagen. Plus the Free Walking Tours pick up from reception every day - well worth doing.
Where the Generator is like a hostel is that rooms don't get cleaned (at least our twin room did not get cleaned) during your stay. No emptying of the dustbin, no change of linen, and no cleaning f the bathroom. This is fine for a short stay, but a more usual hostel would provide a few cleaning products so that you could keep the room clean yourself. Had it been available we would have used some bleach in the bathroom drains, as they smelt bad.
Building site outside and lots of drunk people in the street in the early hours, so take earplugs and enjoy.

Room Tip: The private twin room was perfect for us as we wanted some privacy, only really wanted a place to la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was my first time to stay in a hostel, so I was a little uncomfortable about it. However, once I arrived at the hostel I was pleasantly surprised. It was very vibrant, update and super clean. The receptionists were very welcoming and ready to help. The hostel is popular with students and also adults and has a community feel straight away as you step in. It has a cool chill out area for playing pool, watching TV, hanging out at the bar and even a computer station should you forget your lap top. It also has a great outdoor terrace!

I booked a double private room all to myself. It has a shower and a small desk. The room was very clean, big windows to view the surrounding area and a clothes hanger in the absence of a closet. The room was better than some of the hotel rooms I have booked in the past, which were triple the price. The hotel offers free wifi, which works better if you are at the chill out zone or rooms that are not so high up. My room was on the upper floor so the wifi cut out at times in my room.

I also purchased a breakfast coupon, which allows you to access the breakfast bar in the morning. Breakfast consists of bread, hams and juices. I would not recommend the breakfast as it does not taste so nice (the cold meats seem heavily processed and the bread tastes artificial). Plus you have to stand in a very long line as everyone seems to come down for breakfast at the same time. Better to just buy breakfast from a café or sandwich bar nearby.

The hostel is in a great location as it is only a 10 minute walk from the nearest metro station which is Kongens Nytorv. It is also just 10 minutes walk from the main shopping area and all the cool must see sites.

I would definitely stay at Generator Hostel again as the prices are very reasonable and it has a great vibe!

Room Tip: I would recommend a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Generator Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Copenhagen

Address: Adelgade 5-7, Copenhagen 1304, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Copenhagen 2*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Copenhagen just off Kongens Nytorv, the largest square in the city. Centrally located and an ideal location for anyone wanting to be a hop, skip and a jump from everything that is a must see in this great city. The best way to see and do it all is by foot, and when you need to rest your tired feet Generator is the perfect place of refuge, with great beds for sleepy heads, a bar and lounge that serves the best drinks and entertainment for miles around, and of course you’ll be enjoying Copenhagen life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Private en-suites Twins, Double & Quads with innovative mod cons like individual power points and your own LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. This really is a city worth discovering. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Generator Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Generator Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.