We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great budget accommodation in copenhagen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Generator Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Generator Copenhagen to your Saves list
Generator Copenhagen
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Adelgade 5-7, Copenhagen 1304, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great budget accommodation in copenhagen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

was in copenhagen for just one night and decided to book a family room (4 ppl). proved to be a good decision. room was spacious enough for the 4 of us. very comfortable beds. no fuss clean hotel. very helpful staff. extremely well located...very short walk to nyhavn. only one issue...there was no soap at the washbasin which was in the room..separate from the toilet and the bath area. very hassling going into the bath area to fetch soap every time.
would definitely recommend this for people looking for clean and good budget accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator C, General Manager at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Neha_Neha_Neha,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write us about your experience at our hostel. We a pleased to learn that you had a great stay with us. We hope to see you again at Generator Hostels!

All the best
Team Generator Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    537
    133
    28
    23
See reviews for
79
247
298
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a dirty hostel with pillows filled with BLACK DOTS. Me and my brother tried to get some sleep at midnight but couldn't because of LOUD, cheap dance music from the in-house bar. So I went to talk to the receptionist and he very coldly told me to DEAL WITH IT, so I went to ask the bar woman to turn it down. She did, for 2 MINS ONLY and I didn't get any sleep until after 1am when the bar closes.

This place is run by young staff and they are the MOST IMPOLITE hotel staff I've seen. Miserable people who don't smile and didn't even say thanks and good-bye when we left.

If you have more money than sense I'd recommend you to stay here. Absolutely OVERRATED.

Room Tip: If you are unfortunate enough to end up in this place, I'd recommend staying as high up as possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator C, General Manager at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Gabriel,

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor, it shows us your experience and give us the opportunity to change and improve services.

We appologize for your overal experience in our hostel and what you describe is certainly not what we aim to offer. We aim to offer you a clean and sercure hostel where you can relax and enjoy in a trendy and comfortable atmosphere.

I would like to get in touch with you to have a further conversation and to see if there is anything we can do for you. Please contact me on: dave.storm@generatorhostels.com and I will contact you for further enquiries.

With best regards,

Dave Storm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here in a double room with en-suite and have no complaints. For a hostel yes it is expensive, more so than some really nice hotels we've stayed in in other European cities, but that's Copenhagen. Location is fantastic and hostel itself is clean, friendly and feels very safe. The bar area downstairs is great and although the double rooms are very small that doesn't really matter because that's not what you go to a hostel for. If you want a cool place to stay in Copenhagen that won't bankrupt you, I recommend Generator. Free wifi is also good and unlike other reviews on here we had no issues with connectivity!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter, we were on 6th and on 1 night it was pretty noisy on the street...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator C, General Manager at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Idngal3,

Thank you for posting this fantastic review on Tripadvisor! It is good to hear that you had a great time with us at Generator Copenhagen and we are happy to have been able to succeed in exceeding your expectations. We do hope to see you again in the future here in Copenhagen or perhaps our colleagues at our sister hostels across Europe will have the pleasure of welcoming you to their establishment.

All the best
Team Generator Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

When going on a low budget I've usually stayed at the hotels near the railway station. This is a great alternative at the other end of "Strøget". Small but clean and efficient rooms, perfect if your not planning to spend time in your room apart from sleeping.
The location is good, close to for instance charming Nyhavn. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator C, General Manager at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Mortenbk,

Thank you for writing you review on tripadvisor! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We do hope to see you again in the future here in Copenhagen or perhaps our colleagues at our sister hostels across Europe will have the pleasure of welcoming you to their establishment.

All the best
Team Generator Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in a dorm (6 beds). Everything is clean (beds, lockers, bathroom, shower...). The location is good, esay to go on a touristy walk. It is closed to a metro stop which is good if you come from the airport. There is shops around, restaurants, fast food, all you need. You can have you breakfast (super expensive for a hostel, but it is said to be normal for Copenhagen...). There is a bar, pool, terrasse... so even if you stay for a quick stay; you can have a nice evening.
The only dark point is the price for me, but if you don't mind and just want a clean and nice hostel, go ahead. I forgot the staff, they are nice...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

A great hostel with some great people!! The beds were cool with the electric hook up which gave a sense of security with expensive belongings!! The common room made a great community within and it was easy to find new and interesting people!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator C, General Manager at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Emmanuel,

Thank you for your response on Tripadvisor.
It is good to read you had a great stay and that you had the opportunitiy to meet new and interesting friends.

We hope to meet you again soon at Generator Hostels!

With best regards,
Team Generator Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed in a double room en-suite for 2 nights. Check in was 30 mins late as the rooms were not available yet. But when we checked out a little late, they were not fussy.

The room is modern, very clean and beds are comfortable, offering good support to the back. There is a soap dispenser in the shower so we didn't have to use our soap. All towels and linens were provided.

The size of the room is not big but good enough for luggage. No tv in the room and wifi is not stable. However, we still managed to watch some videos online.

The room is facing construction so it was a bit noisy in the morning. People talking loudly downstairs could be heard too.

No own food and alcohol in the hostel is too strict. Even though we can't have our own food in the room, we still didn't use the bar/restaurant downstairs. Suggest that the hostel be more open as we don't see anything wrong with eating our own food in the room.

Service is OK. The guy at the counter was quite apologetic that the room was not ready at check-in. But the queues were long for check-in.

The location of the hostel is quite good, about 15 min walk from the metro station/bus stop (to/fro airport) and is central to attractions. We walked everywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Generator Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Copenhagen

Address: Adelgade 5-7, Copenhagen 1304, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Copenhagen 2*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Copenhagen just off Kongens Nytorv, the largest square in the city. Centrally located and an ideal location for anyone wanting to be a hop, skip and a jump from everything that is a must see in this great city. The best way to see and do it all is by foot, and when you need to rest your tired feet Generator is the perfect place of refuge, with great beds for sleepy heads, a bar and lounge that serves the best drinks and entertainment for miles around, and of course you’ll be enjoying Copenhagen life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Private en-suites Twins, Double & Quads with innovative mod cons like individual power points and your own LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. This really is a city worth discovering. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Generator Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Generator Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.