We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 71 Nyhavn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added 71 Nyhavn Hotel to your Saves list
71 Nyhavn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nyhavn 71, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a great hotel in a great location. I stay here every time I come to Copenhagen. The bathroom is small, you could stand in the middle and touch all four walls. I guess if there were any complaints is after a shower, the entire bathroom is wet. But other than that, the location can not get any better. On Fridays evening just walk out and you grab something to drink, beer in my case and sit along the curb side with hundreds if not thousands of others just relaxing people watching.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    236
    201
    92
    40
See reviews for
77
307
37
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights during a trip to Denmark. Nice converted warehouse in a superb location, see other reviews.
Our room on first floor overlooked the canal, not too noisy considering the nightlife along here.
Food excellent in restaurant, breakfast good too.
Quite expensive though even considering the location. It cost £8 stirling for a pot of tea!

Room Tip: get a room on the higher floors for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Yes, it is a very scenic location (or will be when they finish building the bridge next door).
But you pay for the view.
Nyhavn 71 is expensive, but on a "pound per square foot" basis it is extortionate! All the comments about the small rooms are true. We booked 'de luxe' double rooms to get more space but there was still little room to swing the cat.
Also, the reception, bar and dining rooms are small, dark and gloomy; the latter two effectively being in the basement.
There are several hotels very close by which offer better value. Remember, you don't spend that much time looking out the bedroom window.
(Two more criticism: I kept being woken up by the guy snoring in the next room. Small rooms, thin walls! Bathrooms small, smelly and tired.)

Room Tip: Allegedly the rooms are bigger in the new part of the buiding - i.e. not the traditional warehouse b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

For ambiance in the rooms, this place is hard to beat. Wooden beams, comfy beds, good bathroom. I have stayed here twice and will be returning. Very limited parking though. But best location for wandering out to the bars and restaurants of Nyhavn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was very happy with our accommodations at the 71 Nyhavn Hotel. The front desk was very helpful with every request. Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the canal. Very comfortable beds and the bathroom offered all the amenities necessary. If I were to return to Copenhagen, this is definitely where I would stay. We toured all over and having the cafes and the Hop on Hop off bus nearby made our stay that much more enjoyable. I recommend the 71 Nyhavn Hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: 5th floor rear had wonderful view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The location of the hotel is good. We had a superior canal view room - it wasn't to the standard expected though at £220 per night (rm 116). The canal view was limited (I think because we were on the 1st floor and therefore almost at street level). The staff were very friendly. The reception area is nice. Breakfast was good but people often had to queue for a table. Our room had a few faults. The worst one being that the toilet flush broke twice. Some lights were out and also the bathroom flooded heavily after the shower was used. The room was quiet. Beds were comfy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is a lovely old warehouse conversion in a brilliant location close to all the sights and restaurants. The rooms are small (we had a suite) which had a separate upstairs - but downstairs was compact but appealing and clean. We had a few minor issues with the room, light bulbs not working and a fitting fell out the ceiling in the bathroom! The breakfast was buffet style and superb - both hot and cold, plentiful and varied. Service was also good - they helped us change restaurant bookings. There could be some more attention to detail e.g. we had an empty champagne bottle and glasses left in our room until the next day (after the morning clean) - we placed in the corridor but it was still there the next day. But for location, style and ease you couldn't do much better!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 71 Nyhavn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 71 Nyhavn Hotel

Address: Nyhavn 71, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 71 Nyhavn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Waterfront Hotel with rustic atmosphere, housed in converted early 19th-century warehouse situated on canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your 71 Nyhavn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Nyhavn Copenhagen
Hotel 71 Nyhavn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 71 Nyhavn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.