We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historical palace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christiansborg Palace

Christiansborg Palace
Christiansborg Slotsplads, Copenhagen, Denmark
33-92-64-92
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$51*
and up
Small-Group Copenhagen City Walking Tour
Ranked #11 of 190 Attractions in Copenhagen
Type: Castles, Government Buildings, Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful historical palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I purchased combined ticket, which included a guided tour to Christiansburg Palace, Royal stable and ruins of the foundation. Christiansburg is a royal palace and house of Danish parliament. Our guide told us family histories of many royals. We saw Royal Reception Rooms, the Prime Minister's Office, library, crockery room and many other impressive places. Camera was not allowed inside so could not capture the beauty.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    303
    69
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
505 reviews 505 reviews
275 attraction reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
“100 years old and as beautiful as ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This palace was beautiful! It was beautifully furnished with lovely wall hangings, statues etc. Very bright and welcoming compared to some of the older and drabber palaces. This one was made from stones gathered in every parish in the country. The statue in the square is King Frederick VII. The palace is still used today and holds the House of Parliament, the royal Reception chambers and the stable . If you purchase a City Card you can enter all of the castles and sites in the city and save some monies.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa, ontario, canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Modern and elegant palace.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Actually an old palace, but maintained in elegant splendor for parties and receptions nowadays. Be sure to visit the stables to see the collection of fabulous royal coaches.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We liked all of the palaces/castles in the city, but this stood out in that the rooms we visited are still used today for special occasions. Rosenborg shows how it was back when, and though Amalienborg is still used today, I don't think the rooms we visited are used by the royals.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortson, GA
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
156 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Well-done guided tour of the spectacular rooms still used today”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife & I joined a guided tour the afternoon of Monday 8/12 through the Royal Reception Rooms & the remarkable Queen Tapestries. We had booked tickets online in advance of our trip, which I would highly recommend. (Unfortunately, because of a lack of time, we had to cut short our visit to the fascinating Royal Stables, which we would also highly recommend.)

Our guide through the Reception Rooms was outstanding: energetic, informative, funny! Lots of stories that brightened our tour. Well worth the extra cost.

The rooms were stunning, quite interesting (especially how they are still used today), & the many unusual tapestries were spectacular. Try to leave some time to peruse the carefully numbered loose-leaf binders that explain the tapestries.

This was a wonderful tour!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christiansborg Palace also viewed

 

Been to Christiansborg Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christiansborg Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.