We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good urban hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibsens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibsens Hotel to your Saves list
Ibsens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen 1363, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Greendale, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good urban hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This is a solid hotel with excellent service. We were glad to have booked an extra-large room to have a little more space than even a large room provided. It is situated on a quiet street two blocks from the Metro and there's a terrific cafe kitty-corner from the hotel. We walked all over from here. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    170
    67
    27
    12
See reviews for
39
161
16
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vejle, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Love the atmosphere and the location - this is one of these hotels that feels a little like home away from home - and the service and staff is great!

ROOMS: Modern vintage urbanism is probably what describes the rooms the best - a style I very much like! The rooms are quite small - from "Large" it equals a normal hotel rom size. The bathrooms are VERY small - so be prepared for that. Some of the rooms needs a caring hand (smaller issues, lamp broken, loose wires on the floor) but it is very clean - and again - I love the atmosphere of the room (not the boring standard hotel look).

BREAKFAST: Very good things on the table - and great service. But the selection is fairly small... so of you are not into bread - there is not much to choose from. WEould have been great if there was some fruit or similar.

AREA: Very nice local area - and the La Rocca restaurant next door is a very good Italian restaurant with a great atmosphere (true italian) - and the Ni'mat spa next door (where guests at the hotel has free entrance) is fantastic. Some street noise - but that is to be expected in the middle of the city. And the location is great

Room Tip: Go for Large or X-large room - and ask for room facing courtyard if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we really enjoyed our stay in hotel. it is not far from the centre in a very pleasant neighbourhood. the room was ok even if some parts of the bathroom were not 100% clean. however the breakfast and the daily happy hour with a free glass of wine made the stay very enjoyable

Room Tip: not the top floor sinc it is not possible to completely darken the rooms under the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had an extraordinarily pleasant stay here with my two young children. Even though I wouldn't call it a "family hotel", the staff were very accommodating, which I appreciated immensely. The location was ideal with an easy walking distance to Torvehallerne, Norrebro, Round Tower, Rosenborg Castle, Botanical Garden... I would love to return some day.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel was booked on our behalf, and before we arrived we contacted them directly to extend the original booking by an extra night. There was some confusion with this which ended up with the reservation being made for the wrong dates. Fortunately we found out by chance before we arrived as we had to book alternative accommodation for the extra night in the end. Just as well as we did not have a great night here. The room was small, the bathroom was tiny and the towels were almost threadbare. It classes itself as an ecohotel, but it has a very dated feel to it. The room was over the road and the blind only came down to cover two thirds of the window. In the early hours of the morning a maintenance truck with orange flashing lights parked outside and illuminated the room for the rest of the night. The included breakfast was a small basic selection. On the basis of this stay I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Koala-Whale

Thank you very much for your honest words! I can tell you we have large rooms as well as small rooms. Our rooms come in 6 categories: Junior Suites, X-large, Large, Medium, Small and Tiny.

We are sorry about the blind. We will check the blinds immediately.

We are also sorry that you get a dated feel. The building is from the late 1900 century, but the hotel was thorough renovated in 2012. The style is Copenhagen Urban, which encompasses new as well as vintage furniture.

Our breakfast is organic and local produce. This means the ingredients are of high quality, and of Nordic origin. It is composed after the principle ‘less is more’. I hope you still enjoyed your time in Copenhagen.

All the best
Marie Thyssen /Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Perfect hotel: prefectly located, breakfast with quite a lot of organic food items, comfortable beds, clean and well maintained by caring and friendly emplyoyes. The bicycles for rent was perfect in this bicycle friendly beautiful town. The only BAD thing is that there is no saftyboxes in the room.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear LadyredOrlando

We were so pleased to read your review. We are really happy about you appreciation of our breakfast. Sorry about the safeboxes. We do have safeboxes (free to use), but only by reception.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Marie Thyssen /Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Incredible location, clean, incredibly friendly staff (who offered us an upgrade for free and without us even asking) and the organic buffet breakfast was divine. Plenty of information about what to see and do in Copenhagen and they even offer bike hire, which you simply have to do in the city of cyclist. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Only downside was the tiny bathroom/shower/toilet with absolutely no ventilation, made the room very muggy.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to a larger room as the rooms are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Simone

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to learn that you liked it here with us and we love your description of Ibsens Hotel. We are also really glad that you appreciated our New Nordic breakfast buffet. Regarding the bathrooms we admit they are not that large, but they are of the standard size of Copenhagen 2 rooms apartments. We hope to be welcoming you back again sometime!

All the best
Marie Thyssen /Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibsens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibsens Hotel

Address: Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen 1363, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibsens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibsens Hotel is an oasis in the heart of the city. It overlooks the Nansensgade area, bustling with café life and small shops. Just a 5-minute walk away, you will find the city lakes in the one direction and Nørreport train and metro station in the other.The lobby area offers a café, a library room and a cozy livingroom area with a fireplace. The minute you step inside, you will sense the Nansensgade atmosphere: ”Mingle” tables, magazine holders, an old record player and beautiful textiles adorning the lobby. All design pieces are made by neighbouring artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Ibsens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibsens Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibsens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.